You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (What defines you?)

in #alldutchenglish6 years ago

Great topic @bengy, especially for those of us in limbo right now. You gave me a shiney moment. I was going through entries for this week and saw the topic for this contest and here I am LOL.

What defines me? Instinctually I want to say I don't have a clue. Ultimately though, I think it's my drive to help others. If I can help it I don't want anyone to suffer in the ways that I have. If I make someone laugh or smile , I make some comment to the point of 'My work is done' or 'Goals are accomplished for the day.'

We never know what anyone is going through so just to show a small kindness goes a long way. With so my hate and anger all around it takes a toll on all of us and we have to make the conscious decision to not let it take over.

As far as anything else, is my willingness to accept people as they are and to learn from them. Like with you, I took music in grade school and thoroughly enjoyed it, but I didn't realize how much I did learn. You've given me a new appreciation for all forms of music .

Sort:  

Happy that this was a little moment of Shininess!

I think it is pretty hard to define ourselves in words... we are so much more than the parts that we can describe. Also, the description of ourselves in words also necessarily leans heavily on shared stereotypes that might just not be representative. For instance, when people find out that I'm a technerd and a gamer, they tend to be surprised that I can speak normally to other humans and have somehow managed to find a wife and have children....

On the other hand, people that find out that I'm a musician, seem surprised as I'm not an outgoing "artistic" sort of person....

...but it is great that you find that such a large part of your identity is defined by the way that you can interact and affect other people's lives in a positive way,even if it is a small thing. I think that these little things, they can often mean much more to the person on the receiving end than the giver can ever realise!

I agree. I have to remind myself that sometimes I won't see a result and I really just need to take things on faith. Not to expect a result, to be content with my actions.

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Sleep...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/powerhousecreatives/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaysleep-pefi2puwny

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60994.68
ETH 2938.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46