THE KING IS HERE...FINALLY

in #theobabson6 years ago

There was a young man, a brilliant engineering graduate of a reputable technology-based institution. IMG_20150905_104134 (2).jpgDespite his achievements over the years, one fact remains, "he hasn't been but has been conditioned to be." Over the last three months, as a fresh graduate, he has been searching for a job, continuing the trend he's been following for years...continuing to be conditioned to be. I AM THAT MAN...or rather WAS, because NOT anymore.

Let me tell you a little about the years of being conditioned to be...

THE CLOSEST I came to making my first career decision was through a primary school essay, titled, “what I want to become in the future”. I claimed to want to be an Aeronautical Engineer. I came by that choice from a dialogue in our primary school English textbook and I knew if a mechanical engineer designs and maintains motorcycles and cars (primary school knowledge), this must be the engineer that builds airplanes. As a brilliant young lad, what grander choice is there! This thought stayed with me.

In secondary school, based on my limited exposure and experience, I learned from the mouth of friends and parents that pursuing such a course would be unrealistic and expensive. It never occurred to me to search the internet to be well-informed or to exploit scholarship opportunities. Later on, around SSS 2, I developed an interest in Electrical Engineering when I did a project related to electricity, and Mechanical Engineering when I saw a man showcase his well-equipped workshop on TV. But I studied neither of these things. I was “given” Mining Engineering.

In retrospect now, my interest through my school days was in creative writing and literature. If I had gone for this, because of my unique perception, I would be the best there is to be. But how can a brilliant science lad who is acing physics and mathematics settle for “petty” writing and literature? My inexperience and myopic view saw nothing worthwhile in a career as this. I am a victim of a society which applauds “vital” courses like Medicine and Engineering while seeing other courses as irrelevant. So, I convinced myself I would be an Engineer who takes writing and literature as a hobby. This is the grim tale of many Nigerian Students. We do not be, but are conditioned to be by the madness of our average society.

As writing is what I love, and there's STEEMIT, a platform to pay me for sharing my insights; no more will I be conditioned to be. People keep saying do what you love and here I am. STEEMIANS...The King is here. Finally. JOIN ME.

Hello dad, I did Engineering for you. I love writing and it's what I'm gonna do henceforth.
Stay tuned for insightful articles, poems, motivations, reviews, private work edits, etc. Yes I am that versatile.

Theophilus Adeyinka
2018.C360_2016-04-04-14-42-42-358.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @theobabson, upv0t3
This is a free service for new steemit users, to support them and motivate them to continue generating valuable content for the community.
<3 This is a heart, or an ice cream, you choose.

:)


R4ND0M:
2229 6269 5240 5633
6150 3411 4825 9913
1102 6928 7538 2389
9982 7116 4366 3197

Congratulations @theobabson! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @theobabson! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95