[Original Novel] Mistress of Magic: Morgan's Apprentice - Chapter 6

in #story8 years ago

  A story of magic, love and loyalty.

Previously: Morgan uses her magic to show Lilith her birth home and family, and Lilith gets her first taste of power with Mason.
Note: Sorry for the delay in posting this chapter! It includes no smut, so feel free to read it in the office. :)

Previous Chapters: 

Chapter 6 - A Birdseye View

I still felt dizzied with the power swirling and stirring inside me, like a primal force looking to get out, when Morgan and I chatted and dressed in her bedroom. She brushed my hair in front of her candle-lit vanity and we spoke of magic, power and pleasure. I glared at my reflection in the mirror. I looked different. Prettier, perhaps. My hair seemed to rest better, my lips appeared redder, my skin looked smoother and the light behind my eyes made me look mysteriously and dangerously hot.

Morgan told me about her first time at the mistresses palace as an initiate, and her religiously zealous testing mistress, Paya.

"She actually made her apprentices watch everything, and made me recite prayers to the goddesses of magic and goddess of passion while I had my first sexual experiences," she told me while we walked down the stairs to the salon. A light dinner awaited us, the smell of freshly cooked food sneaking on me as I descended into the salon. I was hungry for food, even though I felt sufficiently fed on power. I could see outside the balcony doors that it was late afternoon and the sun was slowly crawling down the sky, throwing long shadows across the room. Candles were already lit, expecting nightfall, set there by Morgan's knowing personal knights.

"That sounds terribly awkward," I admitted. "How could you focus?"

"I couldn't. So it took hours and my groin was sore and the knight frustrated. I cried," she said and grimaced, biting into some roasted chicken. "But still came, eventually."

"I am so sorry," I said for no reason in particular. I was in no way to blame for the traditions and religious practices of the sisterhood, but I still felt the need to express my sympathy.

"It's been a long time and I look back at it as an anecdote and funny story to share with initiates," Morgan said between bites. "Ladies in the sisterhood vary in their degrees of piety and traditionalism. Some dedicate themselves to service of the goddesses in the name of faith while others perform the rituals for ceremonial purposes only, avoiding what they can."

"Somehow you seem more like the later," I observed.

"For the most part I am, but this is a topic we will discuss in great depth at another time," she said. "Don't eat too much. I can sense the power in you. It wants to be unleashed. And I can assure you that you will not sleep tonight if you do not release some of the pressure."

I was about to reach for another serving of cheese but I stopped and raised my eyebrows at Morgan.

"What do you have in mind?" I asked carefully.

"Oh I just think you need to spread your wings a little, so to speak," Morgan said and slowly rose from her seat.

"My wings?" I echoed inquisitively. Morgan smiled so widely I mentally noted how white and perfect her teeth were. I got up just in time to follow her to the balcony overlooking the citadel of ladies and the mountains that surrounded the valley of ladies.

The cool evening air blew through my hair and the scent of the valley and the mountain frost welcomed me out. I inhaled deeply.

"Some mistresses think I am risking initiate lives by doing this with the ladies in my care. But I believe it is the ultimate test," Morgan said as she slowly walked toward the banister. I watched her intently. "Are you ready to fly, Lilith?" she asked, looking back at me, the sunset giving the power in her eyes a golden tint.

"Am I?" I retorted and walked closer. I stood beside Morgan and leaned over just enough to see the palace courtyard and vegetable gardens far below me.

In a single motion, Morgan sat up on the marble bar of the balcony railing and flung her legs over the edge. It was wide enough for her to sit comfortably and balance herself, but the gushes of wind flinging her skirt about made me swallow hard. This was a steep fall.

"You have the power," Morgan said. "All you need is will and focus. Flying is not different from swimming. Just remember to breathe."

I hesitated, but followed Morgan's example and sat on the railing, slowly moving each of my legs over the edge. I was scared.

"I can't swim," I noted, looking down. I think I sounded terrified. Morgan laughed.

"Don't worry. I won't let you drown. Or fall," she said as her hands and body slowly detached from the banister and floated up. She gave herself a little push, floated forward and faced me. A soft glow of magic around her and the light of the sunset on her face made her look majestic as she floated in the air. "Just will yourself to float. Believe that you can. Trust your power."

I remember dreaming of flight. Sometimes in my childhood and in the college I dreamt I floated through the air but it always felt like I was heavy, out of control and moving forward was mentally hard. I knew mage ladies could fly, but I never gave too much thought to the possibility of attempting it myself.

Morgan raised her arms to reach for me but she was just out of the range of my fingertips. I took a deep breath and focused, as I was instructed when performing small magic, on channeling my will through my power to bring my ability to fly into being. I felt myself become lighter and lift off the marble railing, floating toward Morgan. When I put my hands in hers, her eyes were smiling.

"See? The water's not that cold," she said. I smiled at her, proud of my ability to impress Morgan more than I was at the fact I was now floating through the air like an actual real-life mage lady. I reminded myself not to look down and just focus on maintaining the magic that kept me afloat.

"Let's soar higher," Morgan suggested. "You wouldn’t want strangers to peek up your skirt while you fly," she added as her hands pulled me up. She soared slowly at first, then faster. I tried to keep up but I never managed to fly in parallel, dragging slightly below, still gripping tightly at Morgan's hands. I started to feel dizzy when Morgan stopped, and I stopped with her. The air was cold and thin. I was breathing quickly and my heart was pounding even before I looked around, beyond the snowy mountaintops around the valley of ladies. The air was clear and in the distance, I could see the Broadwoods and where they curved on the horizon in the east I knew was the Sun-Kissed Valley where I was born. 

Morgan's hands were warm, but I was freezing. As soon as I realized it, it stopped and I was warm again. This happened before, in the baths, where I somehow managed to make myself cooler than I was. Morgan may have heard my thoughts or perhaps she guessed them.

"Willing is not always a conscious thing," she said and floated toward the west, toward the setting sun and released one of my hands so that we floated side by side. "Some things just happen naturally, but you have to pay attention to those. If you will away your hunger, you will starve. If you will away sleep, exhaustion will only hit you harder when your reserves drain." Was this why I looked prettier in the mirror? Was I unknowingly willing myself pretty? Did all ladies?

"If I use the power in me without sensing, how will I know when my reserves drain?" I asked, wondering what would happen if I suddenly ran out of power at this altitude. I think we passed the mountains as we floated and in the distance, I could see the sunset reflected on the face of the ocean. The ocean! I've never seen it before!

"Oh trust me, you will feel it. Same as you feel your energy run out if you race for a long distance. Same as your body signals you when it is time to rest or eat, your body will tell you when your reserves are draining," Morgan said, and flew faster, leaning forward into the wind. I could smell the sea as we neared the beach. We traveled a distance that would take at least a week on horseback and I looked down at the villages and roads between them, the hills and fields and trees. It was breathtaking to see the world from so high. Under me was the whole kingdom.

"Come on," Morgan said loudly as she released my hand. "Race me to the surface of the water," she added and flew forward and down toward the rocky beach ahead and below. I followed, keeping steady control of my direction and speed. The fast descent made my ears pop, but I just willed the distraction away. Morgan's drop was steeper. She was far more experienced. It seemed like a close race, with Morgan just a few feet ahead and below me when she reached her hand down, touched the surface and raised a jet of splashing salt water directly into my face as I came behind her.

"Ow!" I exclaimed and almost slammed into Morgan as I tried to keep my stinging eyes open. She caught me in her arms while laughing, just inches away from the waves. Instantly, I was dry and warm again. Did she will it or did I? The sun was half-hidden beyond the horizon and the surface of the ocean glittered in reds and golds.

"That wasn't nice!" I exclaimed.

"I never claimed to be nice," Morgan retorted with a mischievous smile and pulled me up higher as we began to make our way back to the citadel and Morgan's rooms in the castle. When we landed on the balcony a few minutes later, I began to feel the fatigue, both mental and physical. It was a long, crazy day. Morgan yawned as though echoing my sensations.

"Go dress for bed," she said and pointed at room. I finished changing into the nightgown I found in the closet when Morgan came in, carrying a clay cup with hot herbal tea. "This will help you sleep better," she said and gave me the sweetened herb infusion. I didn't think I needed help sleeping, but I sipped it anyway as Morgan stroked my hair, sitting beside me. No one has done that since my mother at my birth home.

She tucked me in, covering me with the soft blankets and kissed me on the forehead before blowing out the candles in the room and closing the door to as she left.

I let out a long, deep breath. What a day. My mind raced with questions and ideas for things I could say or do to make me sound impressive to Morgan. Eventually, whatever it was in that herbal tea, made my head quieter and I managed to fall asleep.

In my sleep, I dreamed of flying and fucking and then flying and fucking some more. In the distance, I heard Morgan's moans from the room above me. Seemed her night wasn't all wasted on sleep and at least one of her knights came to entertain his mistress in her bed.

-=-=-=-=-

Hungry for more? Follow me to read the next chapters!

 

Sort:  

All caught up with the chapters and craving more!

There are still a few before we reach the scary scary point of "techslut needs to write".

Interesting. Up voted and up voting my new blogs will be appreciated. Following

https://steemit.com/jokes/@hanamana/joke-of-the-night-we-need-laugh-at-nights-too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44