My 1st DUI

in #drinking8 years ago (edited)

I quit driving drunk about 15 years ago, I quit drinking period about 5 years ago, (some problems with my liver, what a surprise). But before that, I must have driven drunk at least 3,000 times,(a conservative estimate) I'm so lucky I never hurt anyone in an accident. actually, this was the only accident I've ever been in when I was drunk, like I said, I've been very lucky.

This first DUI happened on St. Patrick's Day, somewhere around 1980. I was a fireman in Forest Park then, a suburb of Chicago, I was a big drinker back then and could hold my own drinking with just about anyone. There was this other heavy drinking fireman I worked with, he was a big guy, about 6'4" and maybe 250lbs, we all called him "Big Boy, Whooo!" So we met up at a bar in downtown Chicago and decided to have a drinking contest, we each drank 13 shots of Jamison's Irish Whiskey and chased them with 5 Miller Lites each.

At one point, I looked down at my watch to discover is was 7:30, I had to pick up my girlfriend Dawn at 8:00 or I was in trouble, she was a stickler for punctuality! I found an old picture of us here, we must have just finished a doobie.

We called the drinking contest a draw and I bolted out the door. Now it gets nasty in Chicago in March sometimes and this was one of those times, it was about 25 degrees Fahrenheit and a fucking blizzard, I was so cold walking to my car that I had to stop at a Liquor Store by my car and buy a fifth of peppermint schnapps for the ride to Dawn's.

Now I'm not a good driver when I'm sober, and I'm worse when I'm drunk, but I REALLY drive bad when I'm asleep. I fell asleep at a red light, let my foot off the brake and (as luck would have it) rear-ended a Chicago Police car. I woke up when this big cop was tapping on my window, his name was Booker Gator, for some reason I never forgot that name.I rolled down my window.

"Been drinking son?" Booker asked me.

"Oh no sir!" I slurred.

"What's that empty bottle of Schnapps doing next to you?" he inquired calmly.

"Oh, I spilled most of that sir." I explained.

"Get out of the car, son." I got out. "I want you to walk straight on this white line in the road." he told me.

"Not unless you put a net under it sir!" I demanded.

"I'm afraid you're going to jail now son."

"Yes sir, I figured." Well, I spent the night in jail, my girlfriend Dawn called me the next day, she was furious.

"You stood me up on St. Patrick's Day, you asshole, so I let a man make love to me!"

"That's okay," I replied. "I spent the night in jail, I let 6 men make love to me."

Sort:  

such a good story.

Thanks Steemitqa!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Congratulations @rockyromano! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rockyromano! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22