LITTLE GIRL BLUE… I Tried

in #life8 years ago (edited)

She lived in her room.., but she never slept in her bed. 

The refuge she sought, built of blankets and pillows, 

was behind that wooden door, 

where her pretty little dresses would hang.


She ran from the noise. She hid from the yelling. 

And when it would end, she would rise from her fort -- 

being always so charming but looking so blue.


Her friends, they all pointed 

and giggled for what they knew -- 

Her Mom was a drunk.., and her Dad was one, too. 

So sullen and frail, she never gave in.., 

for she knew, one day soon, her ship would come in.


And when it arrived, 

she jumped without thought… 

Never to realize, she caught the same boat. 

Though she tried her very best, 

it was doomed from the start… 

Little did she know, she'd sunk her own boat.


All grown and slightly bruised, 

she weathered the storm… 

She learned to survive, but could never fit in… 

She knew she smart, she knew she was pretty.

After all she'd been through, 

she held her head high.., 

cause at least she could say -- I tried.


Post Script: I was inspired to write this after reading a post titled "I Grew Up With Alcoholics -- I Tried" by @whatsupI hope she likes it!


Image Source: 1

Artist: Michelle Henninger


Sort:  

@macksby - This is amazing! I love it. And I am blown away you felt inspired by my story. Thank you for writing this. It's the best comment or response I have ever had.

It was my pleasure @whatsup... And, thank-you for the inspiration!

I was so happy to see how well this poem did! I wanted to thank you again for writing it. I remain deeply touched by your poem. :) I am going to print it and frame it. It symbolizes turning negatives into positives for me.

No doubt due to the success of your story... It's inspiring to read-on and see the whole woman. Thanks @whatsup And I look forward to more amazing content!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

@macksby, I felt like I was reading about me as a child. I have tears in my eyes from your beautiful words.

It amazes.., and saddens me, how common this experience is... And yet completely, unique -- to each one of us who can relate. But to see what wonderful women have risen from the ashes.., brightens my day!

BTW... Your heartfelt comment has put tears in mine. Thanks so much, @fairytalelife

@macksby is a great writer Johanna. I've been following his posts for a little while.

WOW... I could not be more flattered, coming from artists, such as yourselves. Thank you!

Well, you sure know how to make guy, feel damn good... Thanks @the-alien!

From the man, who's touching words I read every night... Im honored, by your compliment. Thanks @ericvancewalton!

I'm loving this one, mack! Keep 'em coming.

Thanks Bud... I always love seeing your comments!

You bet, man. This post was very emotional.
I'm a weird kind of person...I hate emotional movies, I don't see the point.
But emotional songs and writings? I love them so much. Haha

haha wow, has a published feel. is that the plan?

Didn't really have a plan @hyperbolicist... But sounds like a good idea!

you have great writing skills whatsup.

Great, I like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45