Liking yourself is an act of rebellion

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I read a beautiful post last night from @mammasittayou can read it here: 

And it had me thinking. Liking yourself is such a rebellious act in today’s climate. If you show even the slightest happiness in doing, liking or being something awesome then people shoot you down as egotistical, in it for the likes, me me me, conceited and/or arrogant.

Why is it so? 

Why can’t one take pride in what they do or feel? It’s not a bad thing. 

I’ll tell you why, 

Because in the same way positivity breeds positivity, negativity breeds negativity. 

Think of a time when you were hurting. You probably wanted to share your hurt, right? And sometimes when you see others succeeding at what you weren’t then the feelings of anger and jealousy would more than likely creep in. 

This is natural. 

So if it happens to you don’t feel bad.  

It happens, and no-one is perfect. 

I often feel bad when I see the excessive hatred on YouTube, I see it, I watch it unfold in front of my very eyes. 

Someone makes an excessively positive video about giving food and money to homeless people. I mean this is a humongous act of generosity and selflessness, don’t you think? 

And I see comments like, 

“They’ll only spend it on drugs” 

And I get sad. Not because of what is said but from the place that it comes from. To say such a thing, to judge so harshly without the proper details on such a beautiful act of kindness, is heart breaking. 

Because I know people judge life mainly through their own looking glass. And by saying that means they wouldn’t trust this person they don’t know, and through that, they don’t trust themselves. 

Don’t trust yourself? 

Then you don’t love yourself. 

I trust everyone I meet. Why shouldn’t I? They’ve done me no harm, yet. 

Until they prove my trust-o-meter wrong, then I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt. 

Because I give myself the benefit of the doubt. 

Because I know I’m human and I’m prone to mistakes. 

Hell I’m prone to mistakes lol.

So the next time you’re about to stir someone’s shit up, think to yourself, 

Why am I doing this? Is it to make the person feel bad? What purpose does this achieve? Only to make them feel bad? Or something else?

If the result is only to make the person feel bad, then ask yourself, 

What does this achieve? 

Nothing. 

Never do ANYTHING that achieves nothing. That’s a waste of damn time. 

Perhaps think more nice thoughts and leave them a welcoming comment or a little bit about your experiences. People can learn from that!

And perhaps things will start to change internally

Change starts with you my friend. 

Change starts with you.  

Sort:  

Thank you so so so much . I am grateful to inspire you and hopefully many others.

I am looking forward to a new adventure of a big change in my life right now and as so many gurus teach : LET GO and I will

as I wrote in "Simple Things Can Make Your Day" https://steemit.com/angermanagment/@mammasitta/simple-things-can-make-your-day
Sorry to plaster a link here but hope ok

Fine! Always up for reading new content that inspires. Will read it soon - have to go out and make nice with the world for now :)

I hope you do! You have already, you inspired me. See? That positivity gravy train is already working :)

I am making nice with my world as well sipping on an ice-cold lemon squash at the beach. Lets continue to ride that train!

Back now. I upvoted and commented. I would love to see a post from you about the struggles you are having with other's alcoholism right now.

I've done a lot of work on myself since I stopped drinking 10 years ago yet it's always interesting to me to hear the stories of those that get caught in the crossfire. We rarely hear those. Speak up! Shout your worth :D

Thank you for reading and your advice . I have this idea in my mind for quite some time but I am still too emotional about it . I need to distant myself first from the present situation. I got caught up badly and just realized the co-dependency wanting to change an alcoholic who was never ready to conquer an addiction and a horrible disease. I lost a fight , my sincere efforts of giving my love , thinking I could help . I am a strong woman but not strong enough to heal anybody but myself.

Do what you feel is right :)

Living with someone that has alcoholism is tough! So I can understand if you're not ready yet :)

@lifeisawesome Thank you for this post. It is so inspiring and heartedly attitude. I love it always share your blessings to others :) Keep it up.. May the Lord God bless you all the time.

Thank you - that's super nice of you. I appreciate it :)

Forgive yourself first. Love yourself first. For sure we live in a climate of excessive negativity. It has gone viral.

So true. Negativity is viral. We need to make more positive virality :)

Another great post from you ;D

Beautiful article, well put together...very meaningful...thank you for sharing with us.

Inspiring behaviour, you seems love to share you blessings to others, very generous character, God will shower you more blessings. keep it up !

Just the message I needed to hear today. Thank you! 💗

Glad you received it well, thank you :)

We should also show ourselves self compassion as well. Learn to forgive ouselves if we make a mistake. Treat ourselves like we treat our best friends. Lastly be kind to yourself too.
Cheers. Keep spreading the positivity

Thank you. I am trying :)

@lifeisawesome Thank you for this post. It is so inspiring and heartedly attitude. I love it always share your blessings to others :) Keep it up.. May the Lord God bless you all the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44