PUMPKIN PIE FRENCH TOAST WITH KAHLÚA VANILLA SYRUP (PUMPKIN RECIPE SERIES No. 6)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!  Here is No. 6 in my PUMPKIN series 



 How was your weekend?!  (Como fue fin de semana de ustedes?)



PUMPKIN RECIPE SERIES:

No. 1  GNOCCHI WITH BEER PUMPKIN CHEDDAR SAUCE AND PEAS

No. 2  PEANUT BUTTER PUMPKIN YELLOW CURRY PITA TACOS

No. 3  MALTED PUMPKIN CAKE LAMINGTONS DIPPED in CHOCOLATE 

No. 4   WHOLE WHEAT PUMPKIN PANCAKES WITH MAPLE CINNAMON BUTTER & HONEY 

No. 5    MINI PUMPKIN HONEY WALNUT PIE TASSIES 



Mine was pretty busy, but in a good way. Lots of cooking, obviously, because I don’t know what to do with myself otherwise. I also spent some time over this weekend doing some miscellaneous Spring cleaning things like organizing my spice cabinet. In previous posts, I’ve told you that here in Chile they sell the spices in these individual little pouches that are only enough to make you mad, right? It really kind of makes me crazy until I have the chance to organize like I just did. 



I have to admit that I’m a little bit sad, and even kind of surprised at myself for how much I seem to be losing my ability for accommodating for the opposite seasons here in Chile, the Southern Hemisphere. Big sad face.  I knew it was inevitable when we moved to the opposite hemisphere, that I’d end up eventually having to accept this unfortunate reality, but I thought it would take longer for me to feel this disconnected from the season that I’m used to being in right now. It’s mostly all the fresh distractions going in my life I guess that keep increasing. The past few years I had way more time to spend soaking up nostalgic scary movies and browsing the internet for every Fall flavored recipe I could find. Plus, there’s the fact that it’s not really autumn time here, hmmmm, that could have something to do with my lack of inspiration. Haha, yes it’s definitely getting harder to fake it. 



I’m not giving up yet though, because an October without pumpkin pie spice is something I refuse to do. No way. I mean, there is probably an endless amount of holidays and the traditional foods to go with them that I would have no problem skipping completely. Harvest time though, uh uh, it’s was my favorite growing up because of all its various traditions. Maybe I’m not feeling the nostalgia very much right now, but I’m strongly hoping it’s just being stored away for an epic reappearance later on. 



Oh hey, speaking of classic things and growing up, I have to tell you something that is still blowing my mind.  I had an earth-shattering realization the other day.  Diego (our house guest from Venezuela), he’s never heard of s’mores!!!!! And, AND, he’s among a few people that have given me Bambi stairs recently at the mention of campfire’s favorite dessert. I really just can’t even…. Clearly I’m aware that I’m a gringa but is my view of the world really that sheltered? Sorry, this tangent of irrelevant info is over. I was just preparing you all for the fact that some form of s’mores recipe will be coming your way soon. I’m now on a mission, no a crusade, to enlighten every corner of the world that’s still being deprived about the existence of the s’more! Oh, and possibly cookie dough because that seems to be seriously lacking too. 



Back to French toast though, which by the way is something else Diego had never tried and has been loving every time I’ve made it for him. It’s like sharing bits of sunshine. Anyway, this recipe is pretty incredible if I do say so myself. I’m not gonna lie, I never thought I’d find any other way to make French toast that competed with the classic, but I was wrong. My older sister and I used to have some pretty technical debates for our age about which was better, pancakes or French toast. Personally, I’ll always play for team French toast but she is a pancake girl so I sort of came to think of French toast as my thing. I like it the way my daddy made it for us the entire time I was growing up and that’s probably why I haven’t messed very much with fixing what isn’t broken. On occasion though, I have had the urge to test a new version and this was one of those times. 



Something else I was wrong about was how I feel about doing it. I thought I’d feel guilty as if I was cheating on my beloved, but instead it’s more like I’m just upgrading what is already amazing to something only slightly more amazing. I mean, you’ve still got all the cinnamon and toasty goodness going on, but you’ve also got the flavor of a festive pumpkin pie at the same time. Now that’s my idea of a perfect breakfast. Not to mention that it’s super fast and easy, every bit as much as the regular kind. Come on, you know you’re dying to taste so you’ve gotta do it! 



RECIPE

 

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 40 minutes

Yield: 3 - 4 servings

Ingredients

Pumpkin Pie French Toast:

  • 6 - 8 slices sandwich bread (gluten free is needed)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 - 3 tablespoons butter for skillet

Kahlúa Vanilla Syrup:

  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons Kahlúa (coffee liqueur)
  • Powdered sugar for serving if desired

Instructions

Pumpkin Pie French Toast:

  1. Combine the pumpkin, eggs and sugar in a medium mixing bowl and whisk together well. Add the cinnamon, pumpkin spices, vanilla, and salt and mix until combined.
  2. Heat a skillet over medium heat and add butter as needed. Dip bread one piece at a time into batter and place on skillet. Cook on each side for about 1 minute or until edges star to darken and toast. Remove from heat and repeat until all the toast is cooked.

Kahlúa Vanilla Syrup:

  1. Combine the honey, sugar, water, and salt in a small saucepan and place over medium low heat. Bring the mixture to a boil and cook, stirring constantly, for 4 to 5 minutes once boiling. Continue stirring until the mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon, then add the Kahlúa and remove pan from heat. Stir in the vanilla and allow the syrup to cool for about 5 minutes, then serve over hot french toast and sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired.


 

PUMPKIN RECIPE SERIES:

No. 1  GNOCCHI WITH BEER PUMPKIN CHEDDAR SAUCE AND PEAS

No. 2  PEANUT BUTTER PUMPKIN YELLOW CURRY PITA TACOS

No. 3  MALTED PUMPKIN CAKE LAMINGTONS DIPPED in CHOCOLATE 

No. 4   WHOLE WHEAT PUMPKIN PANCAKES WITH MAPLE CINNAMON BUTTER & HONEY 

No. 5    MINI PUMPKIN HONEY WALNUT PIE TASSIES 



 AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO @rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

 I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

FOLLOW ME

 

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER>

Sort:  

Who are those lovely people eating those yummy food? Am insanely envious :(

mi familia y amigos

my question: who cleans that up, after you spilled the sugar all over the place :P ?

that's a great question. And of course the answer is always ME. Day in the life, no problem. Thanks for commenting - Steem ON

Maybe a robotic cleaner will be available soon just so after cooking and eating, mommies can put their feet up?

My personal opinion, if you're going for all-out, deluxe, no-regrets breakfast, french toast vs pancakes, french toast will always win. If you're comparing 'healthy' versions though, pancakes might be easier/better.

great argument. I see your point and I cannot find a spot to disagree. As always, thank you for your continued support - Steem ON!

Excellent and delicious post, and great logo!

gracias @papa-pepper - thank you for your continued support

You can thank me when we stop over for dinner!

That looks good! I usually cover mine in powdered sugar to the point you can't even see the toast! :)

I understand and I can feel where you're coming from - LOL - Steem ON

You and your taste buds rule!

Gracias por tus palabras amables 😅

De nada amiga, fiesta comida!

OMG that sounds AMAZING!!!!

Ah, @gringalicious, you come up with the most creative, delectable treats on Steemit, and, probably, most of the Internet. I always look forward to seeing what you post next. Steem on!

Super kind words, thank you so much!! Steem ON!

I followed you too and I don't regret it! Good job!

awesome, super kind words. Thank you!

Incredible post! It looks delicious!

thank you for the kinds words, @the-future - Steem ON

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41