Where were you when... a perspective from inside an American classroom as the heroes of September 11, 2001 did what they could. (featuring @hanshotfirst)

in #life8 years ago

A hero is a man who does what he can. (Romain Rolland)



Photographed by Thomas E. Franklin

This is the third and final part of my series on my experiences during and after September 11, 2001. If you would like to read the other pieces first, you can find them here: Part One and Part Two

...Then I saw something I will never forget as long as live. Reporters were interviewing people who were rushing into the burning buildings.

Of course these people were the first responders who answered their call to duty that day. These heroes had families. These heroes could have turned and run to their own loved ones. Instead, they turned toward the danger. They ran into the threat in order to save other peoples' loved ones... like they do every day.

I have pretty vivid memories of the early morning of September, 11, 2001... until I saw one imagine on the television that broke me. It was just too much. Everything after seeing this image was a blur. I know Bill and I continued to calm and support the students. I know that we continued to teach them how to be an intelligent viewer as reporters shared incomplete and sometimes erroneous information as quickly as it reached their earpieces. (But of course they had to. This was real time. Everyone was trying to wrap their heads around this as it unfolded.) I know the 3:00 bell eventually sounded and we all somberly made our ways home. But if you asked me to share specific details, I would be at a loss.

What image "broke" me?

As the students and I watched the television, the room was silent as a reporter interviewed a firefighter who was on his way into the building. In the background of the shot, countless other first responders filed into the twin towers. I only remember one question that the reporter asked, "You're going in there?" The firefighter didn't have time to talk, so he simply said, "It's my job". He ran into the building. A few seconds later, the building he had just rushed into collapsed. He, and all the other brave people who ran towards danger while other fled, were gone.



New York Financial District 9/11 Firefighter Memorial

"It's my job."

I'm honestly not sure if it was that exact moment or some other time in the following hours or days, but I decided that my job would be to educate my students about the heroes from this tragic day. It is ridiculously insignificant in comparison to what others did... but it's what I can do.

I teach World History In America. This usually means our content covers from 4.5 million B.C. to around 1970 A.D. But in my class, we make it to October, 2001 (that isn't a typo, the weeks after are very significant as well).

During the final nine weeks of the school year, I must educate my students about some of the most horrible and depressing topics imaginable (WWI, WWII, The Holocaust, Six other genocides, and 9/11). These lessons center around many human beings at their worst. In order to avoid my students and I leaving class depressed every day, I also highlight the heroes who stood up and exemplified human beings at their best. The first responders of 9/11 are a prime example.



Eagle Rock 9/11 Police Memorial

Every year, before I teach my 9/11 lesson, I scour the internet for the exact video of the firefighter entering the building after simply stating, "It's my job". I have never found it. But the annual search assures me that I won't forget it. It also ensures the fact that when I tell my students the story, I will be able to do it with the proper amount of passion.

As part of my lesson, I show the documentary "9/11". It begins as a story about a rookie firefighter. It continues by showing footage of the first plane crashing into a twin tower and the entire firehouse rushing to the scene of the "accident". Next, the film crew follows some of the firefighters into the building as it burns. The footage from inside the tower as chaos rains down is breathtaking. It ends with photographs of every first responder who sacrificed his or her life to try and save other peoples' loved ones that day. I can't describe it. Just watch it. 9/11



Columbia Broadcasting System

But I don't leave the students there. This is my last lesson before finals. So I make sure to show them that it's not just first responders who are heroes. On September 11, 2001, thousands of New Yorkers (and other regular people) stepped up and tried to "do what they can". One seemingly unlikely group were boat owners.

The Twin Towers were located on Manhattan Island. An island that was filled with millions of people. No one knew if the morning's events were just the beginning of a series of attacks. More devestation could come at any second... and millions of people were trapped on an island.

Airlifts were impossible. The bridges were dangerously overcrowded. The navy and coast guard could not get enough ships there fast enough. So a call went out. And hundreds of regular people answered it. They jumped in their boats and headed toward a burning island... just to try and "do what they can".

I can't do the story justice. But Tom Hanks can.



Boatlift: An Untold Tale of 9/11 Resilience
Eyepop Productions, Inc.

On that tragic day as well as the weeks and months following it, many selfless and couragous people stepped up to "do what they can". Thank you to all the heroes, both large and small, who inspire my students... and me.

Sort:  

Thank you very much gavvet for publishing this for me. I have never been on any social media before Steemit so this was the first time I could share this. Thank you for helping me reach a larger audience than I could have in my own.

Thought provoking, a day no one will ever forget; thank you for sharing.

Thank you for taking the time to read it. I will never forget those emotions.

Truly a touching story. Right in the feels.

Thank you for sharing these well expressed thoughts during such a trying time that have have experienced.

Thank you. This was good practice for when I speak to my own children.

My children were in NYC down in the financial district that day as they work there. Everyone was pitching in doing what they could not knowing at that time where the next blast might come from. A horrific event that all should remember with gratitude to many average people.

I'm so happy your children wee ok. Tell them thank you rising to the occasion.

I was actually teaching a class on American Government when this happened. It was a college class, but I was teaching it at a local high school for students taking college credits before graduation. We were watching the musical "1776" about the founding of our nation, when another student who had been at an assembly came into the room and said we needed to take out the video and turn on the TV. The first plane had already hit at that point, and newscasters were speculating on what was going on. We saw the second plane hit live on TV. At that point, there wasn't much question of what was going on.

After class, I had a lengthy break until I had to go to the next school, so I went home as usual, and called my husband on the way. He was already up, which was unusual for him at that time of day, and he described the first tower falling to me on the phone as I drove home. I saw the second tower fall live on TV once I got home.

I had to go teach another class after that, but not much went on. Other teachers who were on breaks came into my classroom, and, along with the students, we all just silently watched the news coverage of what was happening in NYC and Washington, D.C., and Pennsylvania.

About a year and a half later, I visited Ground Zero, which was still just a big hole in the ground. They were still cleaning up debris, even then, and you could clearly see all the levels of the underground parking garage, as well as the subway tunnel that led to it. Some nearby buildings were covered in black drape from top to bottom, as they were still too damaged to use, and hadn't been torn down or repaired yet. There was a makeshift memorial there with photos of those lost on that day, and messages written to them.

In the middle of the hole was a piece of metal from the wreckage that workers had fashioned into a cross.

It was all quite surreal.

Thanks for sharing your story. It was a strange day to be a teacher. Actually I bet you can fill in that blank with anything. It was a strange day to be a _________>

It was a strange day all around, that's for sure. They say the Baby Boomers always remember where they were when they heard JFK was shot. For my generation, we will always remember where we were when the Challenger exploded, and where we were when 9/11 happened. Some things are just permanently etched in great detail in your memory. This is one of them.

We must be around the same age. I was home "sick' from school the day the Challenger exploded. I was watching it live because they broke into the People's Court or Courtship of Eddie's Father or something. Was unreal.

I was in junior high. English class. The whole class went outside to watch the launch, since it could be seen easily from our location. I stayed inside to work on a short story I was submitting to a contest. I heard the news on the TV in a neighboring classroom reporting the shuttle had blown up, so I went outside to join my class. I saw the two trails of smoke up in the cloudless January sky. We were all pretty stunned and numb when we went back inside.

There's actually a picture of me somewhere taken during my visit to Ground Zero, and I'm smiling for the camera while there are two uniformed, armed National Guardsmen standing right behind me. The area was heavily patrolled and guarded at that time. I haven't been back there since they built the new tower. I wonder if it's still patrolled by the military?

Thx 4 Post

I wonder if the firemen realized the flag they were raising was the same flag that caused the 9/11 tragedies. Check out Architects & Engineers for 9/11 Truth to learn more about the THREE World Trade Center buildings that fell that day, inlcuding WTC7 which was never struck by any plane.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55