Chronicles of Alan: Army days (featuring @awgbibb as author)

in #military8 years ago (edited)

Just to set the tone on something, I see like a cat in the dark and could drive a car with the lights off, no problem, also, to this day I am an extremely light sleeper and get away with about 3-4 hours sleep a night. Also, I was extremely physically fit.

Called up for compulsory National Service when I was 17.

Sent to Bloemfontein 1 SSB Regiment for my first 3 months, very miserable about this, and was probably, very unfriendly.

Guy's in my Bungalow decided to play a trick on me and sneak up and turn my bed over while I was sleeping (I assume)

Saw them coming, with a Big Guy named Teens coming towards the foot of the bed, pulled back both legs and let him have it, he did a somersault. This pretty much stopped the invasion of my space. Problem, Teens was a boxer, of no small reputation, already lined up for Camp sports day. He thought I had hit him!

He announced to the Camp Commander, that he had never been hit harder than by me.

Despite animated protests (they thought I was modest, not something I suffer from) I was signed up to be on the boxing squad. This then required a lot of practice, which Teens assisted me with.

Any contravention of what the PF's (Permanent Force ) wanted you to do would result in Running to fetch a leaf from a Tree on a distant hill, or lots of Push-ups, something I did not find difficult.

I was soon given the nickname of Dr. No (as I pretty much didn't want to be in the army).

As I could already drive anything . I was recruited to assist with driving instruction on armored vehicles, namely The Saracen Personnel Carrier a 10 seater unit.

I was a minor hero one day I was sitting on top with one leg on either side of the flap where the driver looks through. An electrical Short caused a fire to start inside, the driver (Brett) started screaming, I slapped him in the face and told him to stop. " Everybody out the Back Door and close it" said I. I slid in through the flap, shut it, and beat out the flames with a seat cushion. (All flaps closed meant the fire wasn't getting much Oxygen) When it was out I opened the back doors, to be greeted by 2 fire extinguishers in my face.

Brett was very grateful and offered to steal me a motor bike when we got out of the army! (that was his profession)

One night , not sleeping, I ran around the Parade Ground, a Guard in the Watch Tower shouts Halt and points an R1 at me. I shout it's me, Alan, I heard a bang and dropped to the ground, I swear I heard the bullet go past. He shouts "It's not me, I just dropped my rifle"

At that precise moment, someone had set off a Thunderflash in the camp! Remarkable Timing!

I will leave my 2nd Armored Car Story for another post.

@gavvet features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author. You can find me on steemit chat but my queue is very long and I do take a while to respond at the moment

Sort:  

@awgbibb has not made any previous posts and you dont state that you are sharing any rewards with the author? I see a growing community of so called "featured authors" but when you go to their profile non of the articles are a similar layout or grammatically similar which i find very strange.

I see you edited this post to say you are sharing with the author which is good.

Sometimes I forget to put that in... but don't worry I have a whole host of conspiratorialists watching my every move....

Also good luck with your Steemit venture, i hope you find what your looking for

War is murder and I do not view soldiers as heroes.

This is a silly statement on multiple levels. First of all, the word "hero" in this story was not meant as "war hero". Second, there have been times in our history when war was necessary to defend our freedom or to initially attain it. Those who have fought for that cause, many losing their lives, are indeed heroes. You should not denigrate them with such blanket statements, especially while benefiting yourself from the fruits of their sacrifice.

Thanks for the reply @tombstone. I'm not denigrating; I have many friends who are former soldiers, and they're my friends because I enjoy their company and they bring richness to my life. I'm just not celebrating any of them for their "service." Cheers ✌️

Oh, some of em are.

Don't group people like that. It does no good for nobody.

What, to view a whole class of armed bureaucrats as welfare whores and to go on to say that they aren't heroes?

How could people say meanie things like that?! The troops are STUNNING & BRAVE!

That was enjoyable to read! Thanks for sharing

short story ...... in the next update make it long

Will do, Thank You

Nothing like a couple of fire extinquishers in your face.

Pretty Similar effect to Pepper Spray, Really Bloodshot!

Hey Gavvet! Would love to be a featured writer! How can we make this happen. :)

Not we such life such

Interesting point of view, well written!

Thank You ,for reading and the comment.

My boyfriend was sent to National Service in 1989, thank fully shortened. National Service defined a generation of South Africans. So much pain and so much nostalgia.I have two young boys. May they never have to expeience this.

Great to see stories from military service can get upvotes with some of the psychographics here on Steemit.

Maybe there's hope for mine yet! :)

I am sure there is!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44