ALARM CLOCK DAWN (An Original Novel - Episode 43)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

In the previous episode Ikeda and Adam meditated together for the first time and Adam experienced a distinct change within himself.

In some unexplainable way Adam found he was starting to spontaneously know the answers to a myriad of questions that he held inside him for what seemed like an eternity. He wasn’t sure of the mechanics of how it was happening but it was.

For the first time in Adam’s entire existence he felt complete, he felt immensely powerful and calm. It was as though he had a thick blanket of security surrounding him that made him impenetrable. What Adam wasn’t yet aware of was for the rest of his journey he would need every ounce of this confidence and power if he wished to even have a slight chance of overcoming the challenges that he would soon find in his path.

Welcome to today’s edition of Alarm Clock Dawn!

A Personal Note: We are about seventy-five percent of the way through the story at this point. I really want to thank those of you who’ve been with me since the beginning. You have made this indie author's dream come true. I’ve enjoyed this so much and will be sad to see it end (as all good things must) BUT soon I’ll be hard at work wrapping up the sequel, Truth Is Stranger. If all goes as planned novel #2 will be ready by March or April of 2017.


Did you miss Episode 42 of Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to catch up.

Are you new to Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to start at the beginning.



CHAPTER 14

“Really? You're absolutely positive the director said one hundred years?” Dr. Neiman asked Seth, looking up from his controls as an army of technicians in white lab coats scurried past them.

“I know. And, yes, I'm positive. One century.” Seth nervously dabbed his forehead with a paisley silk handkerchief.

“May I have a moment with you in private?” Dr. Neiman asked, leading Seth just out of earshot from the hustle and bustle of the white coats in the control room. Neiman put his hand on Seth's shoulder.

“Please listen to me,” he pleaded as though speaking with a friend and not a superior.

“I strongly advise against jumping this far into the future. The concerns I have are two-fold. First is the obvious environmental impact of flipping that switch again. Furthermore, we don't exactly understand yet how time travel works. I have studied theory enough to tell you that traveling this far into the future would likely have detrimental implications. We've seen how far advanced we've become in thirty years since integrating the Ahplan technology into our society. Fast forward a century and this technology would've evolved exponentially in ways we can't even begin to understand. Bringing it back and reintroducing it into our time could be disastrous. What exactly does the director wish to accomplish with this?”

“I get it, Neiman. I understand. You are one of the few people here I trust. What I'm about to tell you is not to travel beyond this moment. I'm afraid Mr. Pfizer is not thinking clearly. He was already focused on getting more and more technology at whatever the cost. He's now become completely consumed with building his legacy. Neiman, dial this jump back from one hundred years to fifty years.”

A look of concern flashed in Dr. Neiman's eyes. “To make it clear, I take my orders from you. Are you sure you want to do this without discussing it with the Director?”

Dr. Neiman knew the consequences of going against the Director's wishes. Those on the inside had heard many rumors of his sociopathic tendencies and explosive anger. Neiman knew that Seth Busby would take the brunt of what was sure to be a horrific punishment if this breach in the director's trust was ever discovered.

“He wants me to start behaving like a CEO, and, dammit, this is where it all begins. This decision is in the best interest of all parties involved.” Seth was startled as a loud buzz came from the breast pocket of his beige blazer. He pulled out his Holo and read the incoming text message from Johann.

I'm en route to the collider. Don't go through with the jump until I arrive.

Yes, sir, Seth typed as a flood of adrenaline amped him up.

“God, he'll be here in no time, Neiman! Quickly, make the necessary calibrations now and do not utter a word of this change in plans to anyone, most importantly the director. Are we clear?”

Dr. Neiman gave his head a quick nod and smiled, his eyes nearly disappearing behind the distortion of his thick glasses.

“Clear, sir. Year 2098 it is!” he declared as he disappeared behind the control panels.

No fewer than ten seconds later the doors of the lab swung open and Johann strutted in.

“Ladies and gentlemen,” he said, clapping his hands and then rubbing them together, “let's see what treasures the next century has in store for XenTek!”

The army of white coats were so busy fiddling with an array of holographic buttons and knobs that they barely took the time to acknowledge Johann's arrival. Only a few of them looked up from their last-minute preparations. The mood in the control room was somber. There wasn't a person there who didn't understand how dangerous this jump could be.

“Well, is it too much to ask for a little enthusiasm?” Johann asked Seth.

“No, sir!” Seth cleared his throat and began to slowly clap his hands. It only took a moment for the team of scientists to pick up on Seth's cue, and then a thunderous cheering erupted from the team.

“Now that is more like it!” Johann bit his lower lip and shook his fist in the air, and then he walked up the ramp and into the metallic disk-shaped craft. “Are we ready?”

“Nearly, sir,” Seth assured him as he tried to keep his hands steady. “The team is just making a few final preparations.”

“This will be the most exciting thing I’ve ever done,” Johann admitted with childlike enthusiasm.

Seth's eyes widened. “I’m sorry, sir. What will be the most exciting thing you’ve ever done?”

“I have decided to take part in this jump. We are short a team member with the disappearance of Harkin, correct?”

Seth raised his hand to his forehead in frustration. “But sir, this is just too dangerous for someone in your position.”

“It is a risk I am now prepared to take,” the director persisted as if he was a spoiled eight year old, plopping himself down into the same form fitting chair Adam Harkin had sat in when he made history in on the first mission.

“I really wish you'd reconsider this.”

“I am not changing my mind, Busby.” Johann put up his hand to silence Seth and then began to buckle himself in.

(All gifs sourced from Giphy.com)


Tune in every Sunday, Tuesday, and Friday for new episodes of Alarm Clock Dawn! The final episode including a ENORMOUS plot twist will be read by yours truly live at the first annual SteemFest in Amsterdam on Saturday, November 12th.


Alarm Clock Dawn is the first novel of a trilogy. The sequel entitled, Truth Is Stranger, will be published in the Spring of 2017.

Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter. My newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates on the release of the sequel and other special offers.

If you’re enjoying this serialized version of my debut novel the best compliment you can give is to share this story with others, either face-to-face or online. I appreciate all of your continued support! After over twenty years of work, you’ve made this indie author’s dream finally come true.

Sort:  

thanks friends for sharing knowledge and experience

I know what I'd do with Director Johann. Looking forward to reading the next chapter.

Yes, he's the worst of the worst. I like to think that karma takes care of these kinds of people but sometimes it just doesn't seem like it happens quickly enough.

Great read, once again, and thank you for your dedicated quality work as well. Namaste :)

ok I'm joining late but I just wanted to dip my toe in and see if I'm interested in the story. So far so good! I'll need to go back to the beginning and catch up.

I'm glad you're enjoying it so far! Thanks!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00