Announcement: The Dollar Vigilante Witness Proposal (tdv.witness)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I am pleased to announce that I am submitting a Steem Witness proposal.

As many of you know, I became a massive fan of Steemit and STEEM within 24 hours of finding out about it. And, within a few more days I began to believe that Steemit and STEEM are not only amazing concepts but are truly genius.

Since, I’ve been focused on providing as much good content to Steemit as I can.

This includes posting my very popular TDV content first to Steemit (before even posting on dollarvigilante.com) and I market the Steemit content widely across the internet, rather than my own website’s now.

One of the development proposals I am currently working on is to make it so blogs anywhere can easily post their blog content to Steemit and host it on their own site via a WordPress plug-in. If we can get this done I believe that the great majority of blogs on the internet would all post to Steem first and host Steem’s content on their site. This could change everything.

As a user of Steemit I am currently, by a wide margin, the most followed on the site with over 3,000 followers as I continue to promote Steemit via all my channels. I also have one of the highest reputations on Steem, currently 69.6 (#22 of all Steem users).

And, I am also one of the top speakers at the upcoming Steemfest in Amsterdam in November.

My background includes starting two multi million dollar internet media sites. The first, Stockhouse.com, Canada’s largest financial website was started by me in 1994 and grew to a value of $240 million by 2000 with over 250 staff in eight countries.

My second venture is The Dollar Vigilante, which is now one of the top financial channels in the world and the fastest growing financial newsletter in the world.

In other words, I have decades of expertise in taking a media site from very small to very big, very quickly. And, I intend to contribute as a witness to helping Steemit and STEEM become household words in the next few years.

I also have a very storied background in the cryptocurrency community, having been one of the first financial people to recommend buying bitcoin at $3 in 2011. I’ve since been on CNBC, Fox Business, RT, Bloomberg and dozens of other channels promoting cryptocurrencies.

I also host Anarchapulco, which is heavily involved in cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology with speakers such as Roger Ver, Trace Mayer, Tone Vays and many others, including Dan Larimer, who will be speaking at our event in 2017.

Technically, I have partnered with Rick Miller, @instructor2121, a Network Architect with Python and Linux experience. Rick will be responsible for maintaining and upgrading our witness as well as monitoring each primary and backup node.

Our witness and seed nodes are located in the USA and Europe. Backup nodes are in place.

These are our current technical specs:

Witness
Xeon E5-2670 quad core
16GB RAM
160GB SSD harddrive
CPU's are clocked at 2.6ghz

Seed
Xeon E5-2670 quad core
8GB RAM
80GB SSD harddrive
CPU's are clocked at 2.6ghz

Seed node can be reached at 45.55.54.83:2001

Witness and Seed nodes will scale on demand.

The price feed is currently running every 60 minutes. This can be viewed at https://steemd.com/@tdv.witness.

If you believe that I can be of help to growing Steemit, you can vote for our witness here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you do not see “tdv.witness” in the top 50 you can enter it at the bottom of the page (without the quotation marks). If you see it in the top 50 you can just click the up arrow beside “tdv.witness”.

You can also go here to see the full thread: https://steemd.com/@tdv.witness

I appreciate your support in this endeavor and look forward to working closely with the Steem community to make it a massive success.

Sort:  

Charlie you were the first witness I voted for and was proud of that, voted for Jeff as I recall on his main account awhile ago and will support him here too. @dollarvigilante

You told everybody that DB would go down like titanic, and yet it is GOING TO THE MOON!

Deutsche Bank AG - It is going to the MOON

Are you some kind of misinformed fortune-teller or something @dollarvigilante? If people take trading-advice from you they would be REKT! Do you realize that?

look at the chart for the last 4 years, it shows a very different perspective, A 14% up day is big sure, but its from an all time low

As a Wordpress and Steemit contributor I would welcome this as well as support it.

It would als be of great benefit to enable the feed to Steemit and back to be "category" specific.

This would allow better control of market target of content.

Looking forward to seeing more and will explore uplinks mentioned.

Are you a developer? We can use all the help we can get to get it live ASAP. Once anyone can incorporate Steem into their site and pull their own content onto their site I believe we will get millions of sites doing it quite quickly.

If they dont care about SEO and duplicate content .. :) this is something to consider in this project

About wordpress you should contact @jesta and @picokernel (natebrune)/ they started this kind of project for a while now

I finished my project. I am waiting for a php library to come out to implement it better, but for now it works just fine. You can publish articles from WordPress directly into steemit. I didn't announce it yet because it can be done better but it does work.

Jeff, it takes members with high reputation and influence to make things happen, and I think you can! I am also wondering, once bloggers can post between Wordpress and Steemit, do you have any interest in the concept of individuals being able to create a site that uses the steemit engine for any number of topics? Example would be a golfer who creates a golf site where bloggers can create a blog in this site and write articles for the golf site,which is all powered by Steemit.

Hell fucking yeah!

Look forward to chatting with you at some point and seeing what you're proposals end up looking like in the wordpress space!

There's huge potential here - and I'm so glad you see that. Giving the world a tool to create a blockchain based blog on their own terms is going to fundamentally change part of the internet. There are thousands of opportunities here for businesses and projects to get off the ground around this ideal.

I'm hoping we start seeing a few of these potential applications here in 2016 still :)

Thank you for doing this.

Also thank for voting on my article. I try to write good stuff and i would be honored if you check out what i write every once in a while.

I will vote for your witness and his article.

I love that you are not just getting involved as an author but also as a witness and that you vote. Voting is very important and something we must do to make people like this site when they use it.

Thanks @knircky, I am not only an owner of Steem Power, but I'm also Steem's biggest fan! So, I keep very involved on the site to help it grow massively.

A massive success it shall be. steemit rocks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83