My hand knitted Stop motion animated film

Hi Steemit!

Before I share some current work with you I thought I'd share my first animated film, The Little Red Plane. This film was created using hand knitted/ crocheted sets and environments and was initially aimed at pre school children.

This film follows our main characters (a little boy and his cat) as they fly from place to place, delivering parcels in their little red plane. There is no speech in it as I wanted to create a film with no language barriers.

Please take a look and if you have any young children they may be interested in seeing it also. It's around 3 minutes in length:

A little bit about how it was made.

Characters:

For the little boy I decided to build a steel ball and socket armature to maximise the amount of movement I could get from him. For his head I used a 3D printer to create 14 heads all with slightly different facial expressions. The heads were interchangeable and were replaced regularly throughout the film to give the character a large a range as possible. I decided to go for this as I had seen this method used on Coraline and loved the effect. Now using a 3D printer is commonplace in many of the larger stop motion studios. Because the budget was limited I went with an aluminium wire armature for the cat and crocheted around the frame. Both character's feet had small metal washers glued on to them so that we could fix them in place with strong magnets under the table.

Planes:

We made two planes for the film. The small plane (around 30cm long) was made for the far away shots. This plane had a smaller version of the boy and the cat made and fixed in place. They had limited movement and were only made from the waist up. For the close up shots we created a cockpit where our fully armatured characters sat and could interacted with what was happening around them. I designed the plane from a blueprint of a real plane that I felt suited the look and cut both the small and the large plane out using a laser cutter. I then covered both planes in red felt and stitched around the wooden frames making a kind of 'plane suit'.

Backgrounds:

All sets were pretty much hand knitted. We knitted large patchwork quilts for the ground, moon, sky etc. I was lucky enough to get me Grandma and my mum to help with some of the larger pieces as deadlines were tight.

Music:

The music was created by my friends Ryan Jackson, Mark Taylor, Stuart Brennan and Max Berg in the Christmas holidays when I came back home from university.

Filming techniques, issues and learning experiences:

The first big issue I found was that my sky was drooping when I hung it up. Naively that hadn't occurred to my at the time. We laid all of our sky backgrounds flat and took pictures of them all. We then filmed the rest of the background with with a green screen (red in this case as our backgrounds were largely green) then in post production removed the green screen and replaced it with the large pictures of the knitted sky. For the clouds I took photographs of cotton wool, cut around them in Aftereffects, turned the opacity down and animated them in post production. All shots of the plane with animated using a green screen and the background was placed in after as was anything you see flying or floating (goose, planets, stars etc.)

Aspect ratio:

This pieces was shot in 720 x 576 which is why ot looks square. In my later work I moved on to HD. The reason for this was that at the time the machine I was working on struggled with such large files. As both me and technology progressed I am now shooting everything on HD.

I really regret not documenting the “making of” through photographs and a blog. One of the main reasons I'm creating blogs now is that they are so helpful to look back on. Looking at it now there are some shots I would have filmed differently and some additional techniques I would have thrown in but overall I am very proud of this film as a student piece. This film gave me a way into the industry and worked well as a conversation starter to connect with more established animators. I also got to do a little travelling when it started to get accepted into film festivals.

Further information...

I hope the descriptions I've given are coherent enough to follow. If anyone has any questions about how certain parts were filmed or how anything was made please leave a comment and I'll get back to you with a more in depth answer.

Thanks for reading my ramblings and I'd love to know what you thought of the film.

Charlotte :)

Sort:  

@charlotteblacker
If you are madeofwool from youtube, can you post something on your youtube page so we can verify your identity?

I liked the video :)

No problem @gonzo. Here's a screen grab but if you go to youtube you should also be able to see it now :)

@charlotteblacker
@phoenixmaid

Thank You
The film is very good
I can't wait to see what you do next
Upvoted and Followed

Thanks for the upvote @gonzo and I totally understand why these things need to be checked out :)

I checked the production companies page out @gonzo they made a post about joining here's the link to their fb page https://www.facebook.com/search/str/Good+Cop+Bad+Cop+Productions/keywords_top

I absolutly adore this, I'd love to pick your brains sometime as this is something the children and I have started doing recently (obviously nowhere near as professional) here is our crocheted effort. https://steemit.com/steemit/@phoenixmaid/steemit-s-first-time-lapsed-crochet-mini-movie-video

Please do!! What a lovely film. It's nice to see people crafting and making things as a family. We actually made an underwater animation last year that I'm planning on putting it up soon. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me. Can I ask what software and camera you used?

Thank you. We used an app on my phone called stop motion studio and microsofts free editing software to speed up the crocheting part and put it together.

This is pretty bad ass I must admit!

How many still photos does it take to make 1 minute of video?

Good question. I should have covered that in the above post but I forogt. As standard it takes 24 frames per second of animation but companies like Aardman who film Wallace and Gromet shoot in doubles (two frames at a time) to get that traditional slightly jerky feel. For mine the character animation was on doubles and the propeller, wing flaps etc were shot on singles. For a minute it would be 1440 frames or pictures. Typically I got around 4 seconds a day. Some days were easier than others and you do tend to go a little stir crazy hehe :)

Oh wow. I knew of the 24fps needed to make fluid animations but didn't realize that could be applied to this!

Very labour intensive to get a large bit of animation done isn't it? I'm glad you've found your way here..!

Keep em coming!

Thanks for the support Kyle, i appreciate it :)

Delightful! I was so afraid for the plane when it looked as though the goose would run into it.

It's funny, some people are frightened for the plane and others are frightenend for the goose hehe :D

Hi @charlotteblacker, this is so soooo good. Congratulations on your work. I just loved the giant quid. :) J.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54