The Wombats Of Kangaroo Valley

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

If you want to see a Wombat in the wild head to this spot, you will not be disappointed.   

It's free

Bendeela Reserve is a free camp ground, nestled in the foothills of Kangaroo Valley, in Australia. It is home to a large colony of wild wombats. For those traveling on a budget, this place is a winner.  It is only a short drive to pick up supplies from the main Kangaroo Valley township. Tranquil and picturesque Bendeela Reserve is worlds away from the bustling city but only two hours drive south of Sydney. Camping here will cost you nothing and there is even flushing toilets and running water. 

This spot is popular with kayakers, bushwalkers and bird watches. Despite the name Kangaroo Valley, the real highlight is the resident wombats. Of course you are bound to see Kangaroos too! Wombats are one of Australia's iconic native animals. Driving up to the campgrounds at dusk, wombats can be seen casually wandering around the grassy flats.



When we first arrived, I was that excited to see one wombat.  I pulled over and took a hundred photographs. Before we made it to our camp site I had seen over thirty of them. By the end of our one week stay, I had seen enough wombats to last a lifetime! The whole reserve is home to a few hundred wombats. 


A Bump In The Night


Wombats are nocturnal animals. So if you really want to see them in their natural element, grab a torch and go for a night wander. 

A word of warning: once you are snuggled up in your camper van for the night, do not be alarmed if your van starts to violently shake. These cheeky animals love to get under you car and help themselves to a good old fashioned back scratch. Better you know this before hand, as the first time this happened to me, let's just say I was imagining Jurassic Park scenarios.  


 

A Magical Place For Hobbits Or Wombats


Kangaroo Valley is magical. Shrouded in mist, an early morning walk down by to the river looks like a scene out of Lord Of The Rings. Wombat burrows dot the landscape with some looking like tiny hobbit homes. This place is awesome to explore with beautiful large looming trees and well defined wombat tracks. Hold back that urge to look inside a burrow.  A wombats defense mechanism (used mostly against foxes) is to smash their rear end upwards breaking a neck with the force of their muscles pushed against the hard earthen burrow walls. Wombats look chubby and cuddly but they are strong muscular beasts, not to be messed with. To that end, be careful while driving through Kangaroo Valley, hitting a wombat could easily write off a car.  



Wombats have been living here in Bendeela Reserve sharing this space with campers for well over 30 years. The wombats for the most part are friendly, unconcerned by human activity. They are happy for you to wander around as they go about their business. Be respectful, this is their home and a true wildlife asset for Australia. 

With a bit of love and care this spot can stay this way for generations to come.   

Until next time

xx Isabella


 


 
 
 
 
 

Sort:  

Looks like an amazing place..thanks for sharing

It really is! Apparently my parents took me there when I was little (I don't remember) So it was lovely to go back and enjoy it as an adult. I showed my parents the photos I took and they said it looked pretty much the same. I love it when special places, stay special for future generations.

Ive never seen a wombat in the flesh so to speak, they look so cool.

wombat is in list of my favourite animals. i like the 2 things about wombat style of territory marking of a wombat or they are marsupials.

Ah that is a cute photo of a wombat.

"I didn't meet the koalafications and I'm totes okay with that!" :)

hi _) what about spiders in the car at night? :)

Our van was mostly sealed (save for a top air vent), so I never really worried about spiders IN the van. Although at night with a torch, spider eyes shine. Yup, there is plenty of them out there!

RUN FOREST RUN!!! :)

I've been in Australia 20 years ago and I loved to meet the Wombats I even touched one (it was behind a fence) and he enjoyed me rubbing his back ehhehe

Haha!!!.nFor the week we were here we became friends with one particular wombat, we named Stumpy as he only had three legs. I have lived in Australia my whole life and this is the first place outside of a zoo I have seen a wombat.

Another thing to add to the bucket list..... great Pics

Yes! Aside from the travel costs to get here it is FREE! A thousand times better than seeing a wombat in a zoo.

They are adorable critters, however they are less exciting to see when they walk out on the road.

Contact with one of those things will just about write off any car.

I can imagine! Apparently they can do more damage than a kangaroo. I hate seeing road kill and so far I am lucky enough to not come into contact with any wildlife on the road except a duck once up on the sunshine coast. rip

Its unavoidable sometimes. I've cleaned up a couple of wallabies, but a friend of mine hit an already dead wombat. Car infront was a 4wd so drove straight over it, my mates car was a lowered sports car, destroyed the front end and broke his exhaust. Did 6-7 grand worth of damage once it was all added up.

Very funny animals))

really nice place ... enjoy ur travelling

Someone tried to roast them? How they taste? Like a rabbit?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44