Wintertime on the alaskan homestead

in #alaska7 years ago

1BF9BC77-F90C-49B5-BC13-73647D56787F.png This is what my front porch looks like at 50 below. Frost builds up on everything.Inside of the House frost/ice will start showing up at minus 50 . Door hinges start icing up, around edges of windows ( even double pane).at minus 60 frost starts building up around wall plugs door knobs.anything plastic outside will snap and break if you bend it much.an example is an extension cord it has to stay in the position it’s in, try bending it and it shatters. You have to bring it inside to warm up before trying to say roll it up.If you have a septic system, it has to be put in the correct place to prevent freezing. Permafrost Varys from place to place. Here it starts at 40 feet and is 100 feet thick. Frost level will go down 15 feet, so that leaves about 25 feet of earth that does not freeze and this is where you put your septic tank and leach field. Then cover it with styrofoam insulation.it will work good.1613FCE7-A56B-4230-8BAB-3901883FAE17.jpegThe picture of my yard it looks like fresh snow in the trees but it’s not. When it’s real cold we get what’s called ice fog , thick fog and ice and frost builds up on everything. The trees will be covered in frost. Don’t forget and leave your car window down. If you do the ice fog comes inside of your car .building up frost inside.5EE7E9D4-4765-4284-947D-FA6161194EF8.jpegI have places on my homestead that I cut firewood. I like to get as much wood as I can in the fall time. There’s a lot of good dry wood around thanks to the beavers.The beavers love aspen trees, they will cut down many for their winter food supply.they take the top branches and leave me the base of the tree.I hope everyone like this !! Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Fifty below, no thank you. Stay warm.

I have been in Alaska 37 years come March. And while I do like this lifestyle I gotta say it’s less fun the older I get

OMGosh! Now that is C-O-L-D!

I would be almost afraid to venture outside in such frigid, and maybe life threatening, conditions.

Hi,as long as you have the right gear your fine. I like wool and down. Layer your clothes. And bunny boots fot your feet. And good mittens. If your out on snowmachine then have to cover all skin or it will freeze

Beautiful pictures !

Hello, thank you

Wow! I never knew stuff like this happened- frost INSIDE the house! I'm from Texas- my husband is due to start a tug boat job up there in February. My word- he'll be in for a surprise at the weather. I will show him this post. Thank you for sharing this- amazing! Take care and stay warm! (I had to share this with my facebook friends and followed.)Look forward to seeing your posts.

Hi there, Alaska is a large state(more that twice the size of Texas) and the climate Varys a lot from one area to another. Tub boat job , he’s probably going to homer, Valdez somewhere that way which is a lot warmer than here

Valdez is where he'll be. Glad to hear it's a bit warmer there. (I'm a little nervous about him going so far away into the cold Alaskan waters.) The photos are very pretty- So gorgeous there. The little beavers manage it too. Stay warm. :)

Well, I don't think you'll ever land a job as an Alaskan travel brochure writer, but you did an awesome job writing this post. You have a special skill for describing the cold. Now I think I'll go drink some hot chocolate and put on some heavy socks. 😉

I used to watch Ice Road Truckers and they talked about your -50 degree winters. I'll pass......LOL.

The cold is easier to handle than the heat. Just layer your clothes.

That is true. And nothing is like sleeping under 3-4 quilts. It's like being swaddled.

The first photo is breathtaking. Literally I suppose if you're out on that porch, lol

I have to take a broom and sweep it away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61164.79
ETH 2416.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63