ALASKA - A day on a cruise to Alaska

in #alaska7 years ago (edited)

GOPR0486.JPG
Traveling on a cruise ship is an amazing way to see the world. While I know cruising isn't for everyone, I think it is worthwhile to try it once, you may just love it. The biggest benefit I think cruising has to offer is that you can see many places in a relatively short amount of time.

I want to share some of my experience from cruising Alaska in September 2017. I was glancing at photos today and thought it would be great to share here on Steemit... will you stay a while and read more?

On Day 2 of the cruise to Alaska, I woke up to this view from my room in Ketchikan Alaska.....

IMG_5926.JPG

I am usually not an early riser, but on days at port, I am always excited to wake up and look out my window because there is a new view everyday. Ketchikan Alaska is the rainiest city in the USA, but I got lucky and it was a clear day... almost 80 degrees by noon!

When it was time to get off the ship, I went to explore Ketchikan by foot. I headed to Creek Street which is a 30 min walk from the ship. It is a beautiful creek where I watched the salmon struggle to swim upstream. By September, only the stragglers are left behind and many of the salmon would not make it.

IMG_5973.JPG Creek Street

IMG_5980.JPGCreek Street

Many cruisers choose day excursions to explore Ketchikan by boat or sea plane, go view bears or rent kayaks to name a few. I preferred taking my time and walking around while enjoying the beautiful surrounding without any real agenda in mind.

IMG_6031.JPG

IMG_6001.JPG

When it was time to board the ship again, I took advantage of the warm day and got in the hot tub while taking in the scenery.

GOPR0500.JPG

The warm weather would not last into the night as we sailed away to our next destination. For the days and nights at sea, there are many ways to stay entertained and a lot of eating! Dining on a cruise can be a big deal where you get to try many different kinds of food and as much as you want. There are two formal nights where everyone dresses up and women can wear anything from ball gowns, a nice date night outfit or any other "formal" atire. And the men get to dress nice too of course lol. You may see some of them in a nice tux or suit.

For the first formal night, I chose to go all out and wear a nice dress I had been holding onto for a nice occasion.

IMG_5896.JPG

Thank you for reading and letting me share with you a bit of my trip. If you would like me to share more about Alaska and cruising, please let me know! Writing this has been a lot of fun. Have you been on a cruise before and where did you go?

You can find more of my adventures on the blog http://www.littlebirdietravel.com or on the YOUTUBE channel. In the past I have uploaded a video called "What It Is Like To Cruise Alaska" that you can view below or get to the channel here https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkAVjiwQyqPGHXW6YVJQugw
(

)

Sort:  

I have all ways wanted to take the Alaska cruise .. Maybe next year.. Looks like it was a blast ..

I hope you do next year. Unforgetable.

Thanks for sharing, mam. I love to watch travelling shows. Please also provide your youtube channel so that i can subscribe and watch. Stay blessed.

Thank you for reading. My pleasure to share.... Oops I should probably add the youtube link, right? My youtube channel is https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkAVjiwQyqPGHXW6YVJQugw. I updated the post to include it now too. I am open to feedback on what you think about the channel.

I want to start uploading more videos on Dtube also, but I need to do some research on how to best use it. Do you use dtube?

Definitely, will watch your videos and give feedback. It is very easy to upload your videos on Dtube by simpling click on upload sign. You can make your channels too.

I uploaded 2 videos but wasn't sure how to get it seen by anyone lol... I guess it just takes time to get noticed, just like the blogs. I will keep trying :)

awesome shots and scenery, looking great in that Blue Dress too ! Must have been a great cruise :)

thank you and thank you! :) It was a great experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65647.77
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60