Airclinic writing contest 12. Repeated mistake

in #airclinic7 years ago

images (5).jpg
source

The vehicle screeched to a painful stop. My eyes slid closed and I imagined staying there, glued to the cracked vinyl bench seat as the bus drove towards the horizon

And go where? I’m a college flunky with no job prospects, no home, and no money. The unwelcome reminder had the familiar flush of embarrassment burning my cheeks. There was nowhere else to go but back to the last place in the world I wanted to end up.

Three years ago, I had left without a backward glance. I had gotten accepted into the business program at the University of Chicago, and I couldn't wait to get out of this town. Away from these people. I had dreamed of graduating, starting my own business.

I figured am going to go and meet up with Lizzy my best friend But I already knew exactly how it would play out. I'd tell her what had happened.

That I had drank myself through my junior year of college, mixed with the wrong groups ,had flunked out of almost all my classes and then I'd been caught with weed in my room. The University had a zero-tolerance policy. They'd barely let me pack my stuff before kicking me out

images (3).jpg
source

I wonder what to tell Jonah my brother.
I remember him hugging me so tight when i was leaving I couldn’t breathe. He’d hugged me for so long but neither of us had let go.
It was just the two of us or so we like to pretend because our good for nothing parents had split ten years ago leaving their ten-year-old daughter and seventeen-year-old son with nothing but bills to pay and the rent already three days late.
They had preferred drugs to their own children.

We never heard from them again until the lawyer had showed up on your door saying
"There was a car accident. Your parents… Your mother was driving, they had taken a cocktail of drugs. She overdosed and crashed into a tree. Both of your parents were killed instantly. ”

"My dreams were destroyed ,all the trips from the drugs are now gone leaving a trail of regrets.

Word count-344

Moral of the story

am not going to blame my parents or the so called friend for my actions,there is only one person to blame and that's me. "

Stop drug abuse

Join the discord channel
https://discord.gg/rqded5m

DQmPzv8G9MXbajgFo8RniS3av1ag4EZg8ZPxHS3pwe7hmcy_1680x8400.png

Join me on sola
U5drPv6CcUzT13DfMkoCfDkGbgScoey_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Nice fiction.

Wow! Absolutely lovely with lessons embedded. We are always responsible for our choices.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63622.11
ETH 2505.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67