Have you ever heard of Tonsil stone?

in #air-clinic6 years ago

imageimagesource

The word Tonsil stone might probably be new to some persons.
The name it's a bit scary right?
Relax! it's not kidney related.

Tonsil stone in a lame man language are those unpleasant, little, white-ish ball that lodge at the back of the throat.
It smell so awful that they got my attention and makes me wonder if they are normal at all and It kind of affected my psychology for a while because I felt if my throat can habour this kind of smelly particles then there is a probability of me having bad breath, Don't mind me! I can really be sensitive and curious.
So I started asking close friends if I have a bad breath and they taught I was been paranoid and I got laughed at.

So like my slogan goes : ignorance is not an excuse

I decide to research about it and guess what I found out?
They are normal and people do have it as its not restricted to particular group of people and it cause little or no harm at all.

It was such a relief knowing I'm not alone!

Tonsilloliths or Tonsil Stones are lumps of calcified material in the tonsils, the fleshy pads at the back of the throat but it often get turn in into the mouth.
The awareness of Tonsil stones is very low as many prefer not to say anything about it because of its awful smell.ref

However, regardless of its smell, tonsil play a major role in the immune system and are mearnt to function like nets trapping incoming bacteria and virus particles that are passing through your throat.ref

why is something that is doing this amazing job smells so annoying right?

The unpleasant odor is caused by a build-up of sulfur-producing bacteria that feeds on the tonsil stones collected in the crypts of the tonsils.

Major side effect of tonsil stone includes: bad breath, sore throat ,ear pain and white debris.

Things to do to reduce the rate of tonsil stones.

They are self treated as they can be easily be treated at home with home remedies but Some persons surgically remove their tonsils which is not a very good idea because of the role of tonsils.

Some home remedies that is used to reduce tonsil stones includes:

1.fill a glass with water and salt and gargles it in your mouth this will help to push them out.

  1. Use non-alcohol mouthwash to wash your mouth.
  2. Use of Antibiotics.
  3. Practice good oral hygiene.

At times it can be deeply lodged that they cannot be removed at home, in cases like this it's advisable to see a professional to remove it.

After knowing all these I was on the airplane mood! Feeling bad for what? Tonsillitis have nothing on me again and I really want to share my happiness with you guys that have no idea how to treat it so you won't feel bad about tonsil stones but rather treat and reduce it's reoccurence with materials easily available.

I hope you were able to learn one or two things from this post, if so I'm glad you did and thank you for reading!

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Signs point to yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Hey This was a great helpful post. Anything that contributes to ones health is a good thing

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it is
I'm glad it was helpful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52