The young shall grow old and die

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

Right from his conception, he had been impatient for his inception. The boy would kick at his mother's womb all day. Till she lacked the strength to go further.
image
It was on a stormy night, he raged with storm in her womb. Mrs Blake grabbed her husband's neck, ''take me to the hospital, before the lion you kept in me tear me apart'' she shouted. He fumbled for his car keys, it was a dark rainy night. How the hell could his son decide to come on a night like this? He bent over to assist his wife but her well broke, they broke down. Within minutes, the impatient child crawled his way into life.
image
Like a roaring lion, his cries woke everyone. His shrilled voice silenced the night, the rain fled, the storm stopped. For a greater Strom had stormed his way into a stormy world. He would be called Blake Stormborn.
Decades had passed by, Blake Stormborn lay on the hospital bed. With blurry eyes he looked at the hospital ceiling. Life has drained him of his youth and strength, now he is old and grey. His face was expressionless and his body was motionless. A casual observer would think he was dead. No not yet.
He is not done reminiscing about how the young grew old and is now about to die. In the days of his youth, none was stronger nor swifter than the son of the storm. He chose to be a boxer, his opponent called him the boxer from hell. His last daughter called him King Kong, for he was the strongest boxer that ever graced the ring.
From the corner of his eyes, he saw a storm begin outside the hospital. He knew the gods have come to take him. Stormborn expressionless face broke into a smile as he watched his wife and daughters rush to his side. He noticed the tears in his daughter Jane's eyes. She is his last child, born of passion, his favourite and his angel. Stormborn slipped his feeble hands into hers and whispered weakly. ''in a storm was I born and in a storm I must die. Never weep when I go sweet child. For life is a journey, I have reached the end of mine. Dear child, when you are young strive to fulfill your destiny. Because one day the young shall grow old and die. We must learn to embrace death when the time comes".
There was a loud thunder, everyone trembled with fear. With a smile on his face, Blake Stormborn was gone.

This is my entry for the Air-clinic contest for this week. I hope you are entertained. My story is 350 words long.

Kindly upvote and comment, I really look forward to your responses.
Most importantly, thanks to Air-clinic for this wonderful contest. I hope I win and if I don't, I learn. Thanks once more.
Join Air-clinic on discord with this link
https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

Such is life... Anyone alive must someday die. That's why there's a saying that goes, live each day as if it where your last. This world we are in is truely a journey, a journey we don't know when it will end, a journey of no return, some1 would say. Nice 1 @obafems
NB the tag starch should be stach
#hug-challenge, #air-clinic

Thanks a lot for the comment, i would edit the tag, thanks once more.

Ur welcome

A wonderful write up you got there @obafems, great use of words. There are two constant thing in life which I would use to justify what you got up there - Whatever goes up must come down and the other one is - Whatever has a beginning must have an end. So no matter how swift and strong we can be, there's always an end to our life on earth because life itself is a circle with a beginning and an end. I hope you win.....goodluck

Thanks so much for taking your time to read my post. I hope I win too. And if I don't, your comment is encouraging.

Wow, this is more than interesting. It captivating.

Thanks so much, I take your compliment as a vote of confidence. Gracias.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98