AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST : End of the World

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

I am generally healthy and I get fevers twice a year but I want to recall the last one.

image.png

From Unsplash

After a series of 14-hour shifts at work, I woke one morning with my throat parched and my joints aching. I opened my eyes and saw spots of lights and a high fever.

"Oh boy here we go again," I said to myself. I get sick twice a year and each time it feels like the end of the world. It is as if all the flu and fever viruses lie dormant and then explode to have a party at my expense.

My instincts tell me to stay in bed and bundle up as I start shivering. Yet conventional wisdom tells me to throw off the heavy covers and drink lots of liquids. I sit up and the world spins. I steady myself and pumped myself that I can do it.

I walked unsteadily towards the Fridge and a cool air washes over my body as I drank from one bottle, draining it.

I considered taking a cold shower but between the spots of lights and my weak knees, I thought I might meet an accident if I try it. I go back to bed and rub some Vick's vaporub on my feet just like mom used to do.

I just wanted to crawl back to bed and become a human burrito under the covers. "No!! Man up!" My brain said. "But we are cold" said the feet.

"So are we." said the hands

"I am itchy." said the back

"I am shivering" said the chest "So is heart but he is being a trooper not complaining"

"Suck it up! you sissies" said my gonads "I'm shivering here but you don't hear me and Junior complaining"

"Boys, boys calm down" said the heart then there was silence. "Uhmm I know its a bad time but I need to go number 1" Said my bladder. "Number 2 as well! since you are going" said the sphincter.

Great, I am hallucinating!" I said to myself.

Word count: 348


Discord Link https://discord.gg/rqded5m

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Centurion Mave.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income

Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

Lolx!
Thanks for the funny entry into the contest!
High fever can indeed cause hallucinations!
PicsArt_03-04-04.42.16.png

Hey thanks for seeing that my story was nice enough to win I really enjoyed it haha

This is definitely the best thing I read today. So funny. And you are absolutely right, when with fever every body part has something to complain about. Really creative to put in this dialogue form.

Lol true and ut is so hard to experience fever dreams/hallucinations like that hahaha. Thank you for liking my story.

hehehe that was great!!! Sums up the flu pretty well I reckon :D

Hahhaa thanks it was fun writing it

"Suck it up! you sissies" said my gonads "I'm shivering here but you don't hear me and Junior complaining"

Oh my Junior is pretty strong despite the colds!

ahahha yes he is a trooper always at attention and thinking of safety lol!

hahahha! He is the Commander General who never bows down? Ooops wait.. He does! lol Don't mind me really... >>>>>>>

I didn't expect the way the text ended! You brought fun to a rather serious subject - being ill. I think it's really interesting to picture the body parts talking to each other and complaining about the fever, haha. I hope you're feeling better! You should really rest and give some space to your body parts to be in peace :)

I go back to bed and rub some Vick's vaporub on my feet just like mom used to do.

I thought this part was really sweet too. AW! :))

haha the best stories are one of making it relatable, with some parts thrown in your childhood and some humor lol

I wanted to throw the body parts talking as part of a hallucinating dream.

Lol. Love it. The chills do not sound fun though. Were you watching some variant of inside out at the time :P

Yeah I hate it when I get sick so that is something real the body parts talking was something I just wanted to add haha.

Worse I was watching a video on why The Emoji movie was so bad. I saw High 5, one of the characters and made the connection. Funny how we get inspiration from the most terrible of things haha

I know I've been sick enough that I was hallucinating, but I've never had any body parts speak to me. From a story standpoint, though, hilarious and very entertaining.

I do have to say, though, I had a migraine headache a couple of times where, after the paralysis wore off, but the headache was still there, I thought my feet were just bones. Kind of freaky to think you're still alive but one of your feet is basically bare bones. Not even sure how I'd walk like that.

Thankfully, I'd generally fall asleep after that and wake up with my foot restored. :)

Coming from you that is such a compliment! I wanted to leave the reader with a WTF did I just read moment although hopefully in a good and funny way hahahaha.

Oh my maybe your Xray powers only manifests when you have a migraine headache and it only works on feet hahaha

Really awful time to have X-ray powers, but I can't argue with your assessment because that's the only time they've ever manifested. Thankfully. :)

I think you succeeded with your "What the what?!" moments. It's cool to have twists in a story, when they're appropriate, and I think you pulled it off.

good Published

Thanks for the compliment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61497.04
ETH 2478.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66