MY ENTRY to @air-clinic writing contest12: Drug abuse; A youth Destiny killer

in #air-clinic7 years ago

Wrong Move Pretty Boy!!!

Graduation
image
Finally, the long awaited VS (valedictory service) is
here, no more Principal's cane to tear up my trousers every section, no more bells to dictate my next move. No more wearing of uniforms. Now i can do what i want, when i want, how i want (so i thought). Freedom as it's famously called.....

What would you like to be Tobi? asked a proud Father: Do you want to become a pilot like your late grandfather? Or take my footsteps and become a chartered accountant?

Dad, I'll become a lawyer i said boastfully looking in the skies with one hand on my beardless chin. I'll fight against every oppression in the country. No SARS will ever oppress or intimidate brother @ewuso ever again..

Innocent Fresher!

Hey Tobi, what's wrong? asked a concerned roommate. Never had he found me in such melancholic state.
image
"She broke my heart" I said, "i saw her in Tony's arms, she was so gay and comfortable there in his arms, she laughed at me walking by with such disappointment".
Tony was one of the biggest boys on campus, a top dawg. Nevertheless i was determined to take my revenge on both of them.
"I'm going to hurt Tony and Sarah so bad" i said to myself. I'll become a top dawg too.

"Wrong move pretty boy!!"
Those were the words i never got to hear from a guardian because i had none. In my verge of becoming a TOP DAWG, i ventured into moving with bad gangs, drinking, smoking, sniffing, injecting anything and everything. I did get my revenge on Tony and Sarah.
But i lost my future!! The so-called FREEDOM led to my bondage and imprisonment to drugs for a life time.

                     The End

NOTE:

Drug abuse and addiction is a prominent dream killer among our youths in Nigeria. I'll say it tops the list amongst all. It is disheartening to see the rate at which the youths engage in drug abuse. They consume all sorts of narcotics, expectorants, antidepressant drugs and illegally substances notably marijuana, codein, refnol, tramadol, tadalafil, panadol e.t.c.

Peer pressure is the major factor that leads to this epidemic. Youth trying to flow with the trend of the society in search of fun, exposure and freedom get exposed to these drugs.

Also, the Nigerian music industry encourages this act in their music. An example is a song titled Science student by Olamide.

Unfortunately, the government are not doing enough to curb this widespreading act among the youths of Nigeria.

                                     350 words

Here a poem i wrote inspired from this short story . Click here to read here

I'll like to thank @air-clinic for this wonderful contest. And also thank al the judges @ejemai @nairadaddy @thelovejunkie for taking time to read the entries despite their tight schedule..

Thank you for reading and don't forget. Say NO! To Drug Abuse

Join us on our discord channel: https://discord.gg/rqded5m
image

Sort:  

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37