AIR-CLINIC's Writing Contest | A short story on the topic of Abortion: Marie

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

This post is in response to @air-clinic’s week 11 writing contest: “What I Think About Abortion”. If you want to join in this week’s contest, you can click on the link here. You can also check out the community account to see the amazing things the community does for the people of Steemit.

Introduction

The idea of abortion, from time immemorial, has always been a sensitive topic. It touches on the very appreciation or devaluation of human dignity and the essence of life itself. I am no good at creative writing but I will try the best way that I can.

Marie

fetus-1788082_960_720.jpg
image source

Marie always thought that the waters were all there ever was. Waking up in the morning, all she hears are throbbing sounds, rhythmically and repetitively echoing "lub dub lub dub", as it resounds maximally throughout the liquid around her. She always thought that this was an eccentric thing to hear. It goes on like this forever, "lub dub lub dub". Little did she know that these where echoes of heartbeats of a woman she has yet to see.

Days went by. Water was forming more and more, yet she was not drowning. In fact, she was immersed in it completely. It felt safe inside like, an invisible shield was keeping her from harm. This pool of liquid has always been her home and the waters were the air that she breathes. She turns and tumbles freely in it as the liquid around her adjusts to her brisk movements. Unexpectantly, she kicks the edge of the bubble and hears a groan from outside, "Ouch! The baby is kicking" it said. Please let me hear it one more time! And so she kicks once more, "Honey, but what about our baby?". The tone was hopeless and gloomy but it was comforting. It has a tone of love with it. "You know what to do, honey" Now that voice sounded strict and stern, with an evident firmness of tone. Was that the voice of God?

A day went by. "Is this really all that ever is?", she thinks to herself. She was nurtured and alive, that's for sure but she somehow wished there was more to the world around her. A bit of company would be nice. It would be great if there was a bit of excitement around. Unbeknownst to her, there is a world bigger than her own. Where the light touches her skin and is capable of drying her questions away. She continues to hope in wishful thinking that there is something beyond the waters.

"We can't have her honey and you know that", the voice of a man echoes around. The tone was aggressive and demanding, enough to make her curl herself in fright. God must be angry today. "Are you ready to do this?", it asks. What could possibly be the voice be ready for?

A sudden flush of liquid entered Marie. It felt rather distressing. In an instant, the waters turned murky. The walls started to collapse and she could feel asphyxiated. "Lub dub lub dub lub dub", the sounds grow more rapidly. "It has to be done. Say goodbye to our daughter". She felt fear inside of her. What could possibly be going on? Everything was changing around her. The walls contracted, forcibly pushing and pulling the tides of liquid around her. This cripples her movements and breeds fear into terror. Marie couldn't feel a thing anymore. She felt a feeling of dread. She could breathe no longer. What seemed to be dim turned out to be even dimmer until there was nothing left but complete and utter darkness.

And just when she thought that she no longer existed, the voice of the man in soft echoes says, "We are doing this for your own good, honey. God will understand." A kiss could be heard. Then there was blank.

My personal views on abortion

I personally see abortion as an immoral act and goes against my morals of advocating towards life. However in isolated maternal cases, being pro-life could mean death for the mother. There is this thing which we call as therapeutic abortion. It is an act where pregnancy is intentionally terminated for the benefit of the pregnant mother or if the infant is unviable.

Many women die as a complication of pregnancy which asserts why in some cases abortion is deemed necessary. In the Philippines, therapeutic abortion is legal but frowned upon due to the religious context of it (@isaganispeaks). This now poses the question of beneficence, "If medicine was made to be of service to patients, why then is abortion illegal when the purpose is to save a mother's life" If we are saving a life, then it is in line with the spirit of healthcare right? Or does utilitarianism, the idea of good for the greatest number, always have to be the case when at times it may be impossible? I leave you all with that question.

THIS IS AN ISOLATED CASE. I am trying to say that abortion is justified in cases where the condition of the mother is at stake. Both parents have the autonomy to do so. Good to know that this is not legal in my country. The doctors will do their best to keep the lives of mother and child and if casualties are present, then that is where an action is necessary.

I am not pro-abortion. In fact, as a member of the healthcare team, it is necessary for us to value the nature of life itself. Saving lives come as a passion for me. I am writing this piece to simply urge you to question your morality and see abortion not as black or white, good or bad but as gray areas needing immense weighing of thought and moral standards to be able to reach an ethical resolution.

Thanks for reading, this has been @air-clinic's Nurse Aaron speaking.

DQmPzv8G9MXbajgFo8RniS3av1ag4EZg8ZPxHS3pwe7hmcy.png

Sort:  

When I had my first-born, I had placenta praevia totalis, and at 30 weeks I had severe bleeding that left me sleeping sitting up for weeks because if I lie down, blood will trickle out like I'm lying in a pool of blood. I was fearful that time then, because I might lose my baby or might cause further complications. Luckily, my OB, who is pro-life by the way, explained to me and my husband that they will exert all efforts to save mother and child and made my husband sign something to that effect which made me understand that in the most dire of circumstances, my life as the mother must be prioritized than the baby. God is so good that we were able to have a successful C-section operation at 36weeks.

Im so sorry to hear that. It must reallybe difficult for you at that time. I couldnt imagine the anxieties for your life and for your unborn child when that happened.

But I am very well thankful that the doctors did their best. Hallelujah indeed. Losing a life in your hands really takes a big deal of guilt for the part of the health care professionals. It's an experience I really dread and an event I wouldnt wish to happen anytime

Abortion is really a sad thing to do and im pretty sure you are pro life as well, being a mother who k ows what its like. No one should be given the power to play "God" and choose who lives or dies. But it does open a lot of questions when the life of a mother is under risk.

Not vying for abortion to be passed anytime soon but in cases as such when one life has to be saved, I believe a choice has to be made, and sometimes in the expense of another life. It's sad but true.

Thanks for sharing your story maam @raquelita. I wish the welfare of your child and your family.

We are doing well @josejirafa. When I see my grown daughter now with all her accomplishments, I can't help but think also of that dark past and thank the Heavens that we got through it well.

I haven't met an ob/gyne who isn't pro-life ma'am. Doctors will always strive to do their best to keep the pregnancy and deliver it as safely as possible. It definitely is because of our cultural and religious beliefs and I think it's a very good thing. I'm speaking from my young and limited experience so I might be wrong. :)

I'm very happy you have had a successful cs birth and now see the fruits of your sacrifices. God bless you! :)

Thank you @isaganispeaks! It's an honor to get a response from you. I was really trying to distinguish the OB's (my mom's, my mom-in-law's, our neighbors and the others of their time) before who, would let the husbands sign papers allowing ligation at the drop of a hat. God bless their souls. I'm not generalizing.
Followed you by the way. Your posts are great!

Decisions for termination of pregnancy differs with each patient. So you really held strong. No one benefits from abortion. All three parties concerned are at a loss. The expecting family disappointed, the fetus at high risk for death, and the doctor's name is sometimes destroyed because of factors no one can control. Plus, it's always a sad event for medical practitioners. It's even sadder because they don't get to mourn and contemplate 'coz if they do, they're potentially risking the lives of other patients who still hold a chance.

I guess what I'm trying to say is, 2 persons may have the same disease but they manifest and present differently. Management is geared and adjusted to the person's specific case. Treatment and outcomes will not be the same from person to person.

I hope this sheds light as to why other people with the same situation you had did not have the same favourable outcome as you did.

Edit: I'd like to add a neutralizer since I may be defending my future profession too hard. Lol

Doctors do sometimes make mistakes since we are all human beings. As much as I would like to deny it, this is true. This is unforgivable and should be avoided at all costs. Those caught making a fatal mistake are punished accordingly.

👍 I'm right with you on this @isaganispeaks. I consider myself very lucky indeed.

Nice post
Please vote me

This is deep, the story made me visualize it , which frightened me. Slightly against my personal view, but i respect ur perspective. I hope i can find time to write up my entry before the deadline.

I think that's one great thing about @air-clinic, it allows us to see two sides of the coin. I guess that's why they make these contests - to further discussions. Im not really pro as well but making this piece made me realize how I have so much more to say and learn in terms of the issues concerning the medical field. It also allows us to see an alternative side to it. Either way, this just boils down to the idea that responsible parenthood needs to be established in order not to compromise another person's life.

Hope you make it real soon. I would love to read your entry @purpletanzanite

Therapeutic abortion is legal in ph, it's just frowned upon by the catholic church which has a big influence in Philippine's "politically correct" community.

It is? Let me change my post then to avpid sending wrong information. I think its important to be impartial about these things. We need to weigh things before labelling abortion as only either bad or good. What do you thnk?

Abortion is being hugely misunderstood as the termination of a fetus' life. Abortion is actually the abortion of pregnancy which is mostly called termination to avoid the dreaded term. So when you "abort" a 36 week old fetus, it has a very high chance to survive with our current medical facilities.

The problem however is, the pregnant usually abort/terminate the pregnancy way before the age of viability resulting in the death of the fetus. This huge number largely overshadows the rare incidences where therapeutic abortion/termination is done since this intervention is the last resort a doctor would do and it is usually after consulting with the concerned family. Ultimately, medical doctors highly recommend the procedure when no other possible intervention is possible but the family has the last say.

As for the good and bad sides of abortion, I hugely believe in the preservation of life, so any other form of abortion aside from therapeutic abortion is something I am strongly against.

Oh, one more point, (I'm rumbling on now. 😂) Some countries allow abortion for fetuses that are found out to have huge genetic abnormalities. I am still divided on the matter, perhaps experience will teach me the answer in the coming years.

It's really great to hear your side about this a member of the medical field. It's very heartwarming to know that your morality will prove to be an excellent compass for you when you become a doctor soon.

I am aware of abortus referring to the term of a fetus before age 36/37 otherwise termed as age of viability but thanks for bringing that up. I guess people need to be informed more about terminologies and probably why health education plays an important role.

And I have the same sentiments with you with regards to genetic abnormalities. We already tackle genetic counselling and I have read sections of our discussion terminating the pregnancy with genetic disorders especially when metabolic conditions are found.

It's a really difficult when ethics comes around. But all this take made me reconsider my stand on abortion. No life should be compromised in an effprt to save another. Perhaps advancements in technology will prove to be effective in finding means to prevent morbidity, without the expense of lives.

Do rumble on haha. Im very glad that you shared your thoughts about the topic

grabeha bataa! ikaw na ang dakilang nurse-to-be gyud @josejirafa! Looking forward for more of these kinds of write-ups from you.

Hahaha ayaw sd kay sensitive topic kaayo. Ma bash ko ani haha. Pero it pays to speak your mind sometimes

Thanks for reading ate arman

No, it is actually a personal comment from me regarding your post. What i meant is the way you deliver it as a medical related student. It's not always that you post something like this (or is it me that haven't read your posts regarding this topics). That's why I was quite amazed.

A very powerful post. Even though it was a simple and short read, I felt all the emotions from the abortion. Being in the Philippines, I know exactly what you're talking about when it comes to abortion.

I don't think I'd ever consider doing this, but I understand why some people would do this.

I know. Its a really grim thing to do. I kinda shrugged myself while I was writing this one. I do hope it doesnt speak of my nature. Its a really sensitive topic to write about. I dont mean to justify it, but simply present the other side of it.

Thanks for stopping by @cruziana

Yes, I agree. Abortion is definitely such a sensitive topic, which makes it quite difficult to write about. Thanks for sharing, once again.

This is so powerful bai!!! Hurot jd ako bilib nmo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by josejirafa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32