ONLINE WARDROUNDS Ep 8 featuring CASE REVIEW & SPECIAL INTERVIEW of @iamChiJamz

in #air-clinic6 years ago

Steem Medics,

#AIR-CLINIC ROCKS! It’s good to be back with another interesting episode of Online Ward rounds, a special programme for medics on the blockchain. It is a part of @Air-Clinic's sub-project,
SMSI (steem medics support initiative).
We are sure you had a great time during the Last episode. For those that missed the show, here is a link

Screenshot_2018-05-26-16-54-18.png


ATTENDANCE REGISTER (LAST WEEK).

These are the steem medics that graced our grand rounds last week:

You all made our sixth episode a success. We appreciate your contributions.

***@air-clinic specially appreciates @evarich **

Thank you for honoring our invite. It was great having you on the show. We also learned from you

Case 1 Highlight

The Diagnosis for this was Acute Cholecystitis

Case 2 Highlight

The Diagnosis for this was Osteogenesis Imperfecta

FOR THIS WEEK, HERE ARE THE CASES FOR YOU TO ATTEMPT.

Case 1

A child is brought to you with weakness, malaise, and bone pain. On physical examination, you find painfully enlarged lymph nodes and hard and enlarged testicles. He has a history of sore throat and chest infection.

  • What is your diagnosis? (And what is the basis for making your diagnosis?)
  • What are your DDx?
  • How would you work up this patient?
  • How would you manage this patient?

Case 2
A six-year-old boy complains of intermittent hip pain for several months. Hematological investigations are normal. X-Ray shows flattening of the femoral head

  • What is your diagnosis? And what is the basis for making the diagnosis?
  • What are your DDx?
  • How would you work up the patient?
  • What are your management modalities for this case?


Remember to approach these cases from your professional point of view.

BENEFITS OF SMSI

  • As the name implies this is strictly to assist steem medics on their steemit journey.
  • Support will be in the form of community of mutual interests.
  • Qualification verification to improve the quality of steem healthcare.
  • Upvotes and post -curation for verified members.
  • Get part of the rewards for participating in Online Ward rounds.
  • Engaging discussions will be held intermittently to listen to our individual journey on the path of health.
  • Problem-solving and family bonding.
    Screenshot_2018-05-19-11-22-53.png

TETE-A-TETE (INTERVIEW SEGMENT):

*For this week’s TETE-A-TETE segment, meet our guest... - @iamchijamz

Tell us about yourself

IamChijamz is and has been my screen name on all social media platforms, I am a Nigerian, a patriotic citizen, I am a nation builder and a follower of positive mindset and effective leadership, and I am a Microbiologist, studied Microbiology at Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike. Located in the South-Eastern part of Nigeria, Abia state precisely.
Am doing a volunteer work at Centre for Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (CMBB), also in MOUAU, where we run genetical analysis mostly and undergo projects requiring genetical isolation, purification and modification from microorganisms (mostly Esherichia coli) for different purposes.

when am not in school, am a compendium of many other things which are a sum up of skills I learnt before I gained admission into the tertiary institution, I am a professional graphic designer( specialized in typography and professional logo designs), I am both a web designer and web developer( honestly, some people do not still understand that there is a difference between both, we will talk about that later though), I also engage in social media marketing for some of my clients( Facebook and Instagram targeted adverts),also, i am a forex instructor(I have my online classes twice weekly), and finally I am a steemian, not forgetting the fact that I sing and rap whenever I get the time to do so. I guess that pretty much defines me.

Why you love @air-clinic

i love air-clinic for so many reasons, first off, air-clinic is my home on the blockchain, it’s a rendezvous for exquisite and dignified medical practitioners, it’s a place where you meet wonderful people in all fields of science and you get the opportunity to interact with not just like minds, but also great minds, in a way air-clinic is like a special convention of medical practitioners, with a little difference- they are always at your beck and call.
also, I love air-clinic because of the personality of the founder @nairadaddy, he is like a father to me on the steem blockchain, he is a motivation to me, my role model and mentor, I always like coming to @air-clinic so I can learn more from his wit and excellence in order to impact myself too and become a better person to myself and the world at large.
Another reason why I love air-clinic is because of the very important health issues being discussed all the time and the health expositions which have made me better enlightened about my health, environment and the health of others.

High and low point on steemit

Anyways, I have always been on the low point on steemit, with some highs and higher highs, some higher than my prior high, while some are lower than their prior highs ( don't mind FOREX terms), my first highs was when, through steemit, I was able to rescue my friend from the financial hurdle of school fees payment, during our heated exam period, and that was made possible because of the support and advice of @nairadaddy, @sircork @surpassinggoogle, and some other steemians, I was so happy about it that I went around my school taking to everyone I could find about steemit. I literally became the proverbial Andrew who was telling every Nazarene to "come and see" what Jesus is doing.it was an experience I wouldn't forget in a hurry, I could vividly remember the joy on her face when we told her that we had received funds from @youarehope foundation.
another high point in my steemit journey was when we underwent the "@BACKTOSCHOOL EMPOWER A CHILD CAMPAIGN" I literarily cried when I saw the faces of those children being challenged in school, moreover, I was happy that I was part of those affecting a positive change in their lives.

How do you balance your steemit life and real life

the simple answer to this is time maximization, My father in the faith, Bishop David Oyedepo once said that he invests 16 hours of his 24hour day into the ministry, that is one of the reasons we are growing exp0onentially beyond human imagination and understanding, while I was in school, I took a cue from him and I invested my night-time well into my books, right now, I have gotten accustomed to being awake at night, and since I don't have many books to read, I dedicate that time to steemit and my other businesses.
.

Motivation to study your career.

uhm, i would say its circumstantial, because i had wanted to study medicine and surgery, it was my dream to become a neurosurgeon, just like Dr. Ben Carson (Ph.D.) (i sill have that dream though), but i found myself studying microbiology due to some unforeseen circumstance beyond my control, but i decided to make the best of what i had while i waited for the future, and here we are today. I so much believe in excellence, and i think that is one thing that has been my motivation for life.

Challenges/survival story in your specialty.

kay, i have had so many challenges in my area of specialization, right from my school days where i had to make a definite decision and choose between my academic and businesses versus relationships, to a point where I knew I couldn't do this on my own after falling sick with extemporaneous illness a day to starting off our semester exams, to now having to fulfil the dictates of my boss at work, which is as strenuous as whatever, but in all I always believe that excellence and determination always gets the job done.

Final words

My Simple advice to my fellow medic is to strive to be better than yourself. Your future self is begging you to do things that will make you better, get out of your comfort zone, explore opportunities, read books, and equip yourself to become a wonderful asset to your family, nation and the world at large.


SHOUTOUT SEGMENT (To Previous Interviewees)!

@Zoneboy, @Endopediatria, @Elvigia, @Oluwambe, @Bcrafts, @Evarich

Thank you for joining us on previous episodes of Online WARDROUNDS.

OTHER INITIATIVES THAT "Steem-Medics" WILL BENEFIT FROM.

  • #AIR-CURIE: is an initiative powered by @Air-Clinic aimed at finding and rewarding quality medical posts. We also submit to giant curators who may further reward posts.

  • #Leading-HEALTH-TALKS: every true health professional/student desires to share their knowledge of medicine and the human body with others. We engage #steem medics in the affairs of @Air-Clinic. You get the opportunity to share knowledge according to your interests and specialty*.

don’t forget to share your interesting case with us; it may be used for a review in our next episode.

We are here for your health!



This article was compiled by @antigenx for @air-clinic

KINDLY UPVOTE & RESTEEM TO REACH MORE MEDICS.

PicsArt_03-05-03.22.26.png

Sort:  

Hi. Very good interview a @iIamchijamz. Sorry about the loss of the account of @drqamranbashir
Case 1
It could be a leukemia, due to weakness, malaise and enlarged and hard glanglios, in addition to frequent throat infections. It can also be some type of cancer or lymphoma, by enlarging the testicles.
It would be necessary to practice blood tests and according to the results request imaging studies such as tomography or ultrasound and bone marrow biopsy.

Case II

Perthes disease, due to age and sex, pain in the hip, although lameness is usually described and the findings in the radiography, where there is flattening of the head of the femur. The treatment consists of anti-inflammatory analgesics and muscle relaxants, other times it requires surgery.
It can also be some inflammatory or rheumatic process or Meyer's dysplasia.

Sorry Dr @elvigia, i have been quite busy offline. I totally agree with your reasons and i think you are totally in order. Good to have your input on the cases.

Thank you so much Dr. @Antigenx ,i am deeply elated to be on the interview list of the prestigious @air-clinic.
landscape-1455018711-blushingcoveringface.jpg

@iamchijamz, thanks for making your interview session less stressful lol. You are a time bomb indeed from your dossier. Keep soaring bro !

Hey @iamChiJamz! Thank you for obliging us for an interview. Air-Clinic Loves you! 💝💝

Hello friends I am drqamranbashir. I lost access to drqamranbashir account , now I will continue from this acc

Case 2

My Dx is Legg-Calve-Perthes Disease.
Basis- Male with typical age of presentation and x-ray finding of flat femoral head.

Ddx- LCPD, Transient tenosynovitits of hip, juvenile idiopathic arthritis, multiple epiphyseal dysplasia, hip labral disorder , chondroblstoma.

Work up - MRI is diagonostic.

Managememt-
Treatment options include

  • Traction to separate the femur from the pelvis and reduce wear & tear.

  • Braces and physiotherapy to restore range of motion.

  • Surgical interventions ( osteotomy and external fixators etc) are usually not required at this age.

  • Refrain from contact sports or games which impact the hip. Some activities are adviced to perform like swimming and cycling.

Hey bro, welcome back to steemit, sorry about the loss of your erstwhile account @drqamranbashir, glad to see you back here already.! Who would have helped us to do justice to the 'Case 2'? (lol)

As usual, you are on track, i would try and keep in touch with this new account @drqbm.

Thank you...haha case 2.

Nice reading the interview with @iamchijamz..
I can't wait to be medical student so I can join the SMSI.

Lol, you dont have to be a medical student to get on the hot seat. But you would have to be a medical student to be able comprehend the basic terms in use. Glad to see you enjoyed the interview with@iamchijamz

Smiles..
That's interesting to know, thanks for the information.
I would love to look into the cases just as you guys are doing, soon. I pray am given the course I want to study..

@iamchijamz, I think I can relate to your story too..

Are you seeking admission into medicine? Which school?

Yeah I was at first. I applied for medicine and surgery at Uniabuja but due to some issues I have changed to Medical Laboratory Science at Unijos.

Medical laboratory science is also a beautiful profession to venture into @uche-nna. With your great strides already on the bloackchain, you may eventually set up a world class laboratory on the blockchain. Just remember what @iamchijamz said ...

Your future self is begging you to do things that will make you better, get out of your comfort zone, explore opportunities, read books, and equip yourself to become a wonderful asset to your family, nation and the world at large.

Smiles..
okay thanks alot. You in Abuja?

Yea... Where do u stay in abuja?

This is really cool! I enjoyed the interview segment with @iamChijamz. Didn't know you had all these skills in you friend. Even web development and social media marketing. Keep hustling strong.


I'll be back for the cases. wAIRdone to @Antigenx for a great show!

@nairaddady, so good to have you back.. You have been M.I.A. for quite a long time. take the stress easy bro. @iamchijamz always leaves everybody flabbergasted when every he makes an introduction lol. The young man is just too versatile.

Nice interview at @iamchijamz. I don't know you but i can say you are such a vibrant fellow.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94