Online WardRounds Ep 22 featuring @isarmoewe!

in #air-clinic6 years ago

Hello!

AIR-CLINIC ROCKS! It’s good to be back with another interesting episode of Online Ward rounds, a special programme for everyone to talk about their health and share knowledge.

Screenshot_2018-05-26-16-54-18.png

We are sure you had a great time during the Last episode. For those that missed the show, here is a link.

Air-Clinic App

ATTENDANCE REGISTER (LAST WEEK).

These are the members that graced our grand rounds last week:

@hafiz34

@isarmoewe

@wanasoloben

@scarletmedia

@mamamyanmar

@Sheilabliss

@olivia08

@mosunomotunde (our special guest)

You all made our last episode a success. We appreciate your contributions.

@air-clinic specially appreciates @mosunomotunde

Thank you for honoring our invite. It was great having you on the show. We also learned from you.

Air-Clinic App

Case 1 Highlight

The Diagnosis of this was Pheochromocytoma

Air-Clinic App

Case 2 Highlight

The Diagnosis for this was Angina Pectoris

Air-Clinic App

FOR THIS WEEK, HERE ARE THE CASES FOR YOU TO ATTEMPT.

Case 1

Mary is a 30-year-old single mother who was unfortunate to get pregnant 4 years because of her strong aversion for condoms. She did not know she was pregnant until about 5 months later, so she decided to keep the baby.

After, childbirth, she opted for an intra-uterine device form of contraception when counseled by her doctor.

Yesterday, she noticed a brownish vaginal discharge when having her bath, she also seems to have abdominal pains, and she decides to go see her doctor to find out what is wrong with her.

  • What do you think is Mary's medical problem (diagnosis)?
  • If you were a doctor, how would you solve the problem?
  • What lessons have you learned from this story?

Case 2

John is a 31-year-old banker who has been working for the past 4 years in bank XYZ, during these years while working in the bank, John always misses breakfast at home, sometimes he gets so busy at work and forgets to have something to eat.

Despite having recurrent stomach/chest discomforts that get relived when he eats, John still believes that his pharmacist friend would always have the right meds for him when it gets serious.

This morning, while preparing for work, as usual, John has the chest pain which looks serious; he decides to go see a doctor to find out what is really wrong with him.

The doctor examines by passing an instrument through his mouth to visualize his stomach, he finally tells John he has ‘ulcers’ in his throat, stomach, and small intestine.

  • What do you think is John's medical problem (diagnosis)?
  • If you were a doctor, how would you handle his case?
  • What lessons have you learned from this story?

Air-Clinic App

Attempt the cases as much as you can...

Air-Clinic App

BENEFITS OF SMSI

  • As the name implies this is to assist everyone on their health journey.

  • Support will be in the form of community of mutual interests.

  • Qualification verification to improve the quality of healthcare.

  • Upvote, AIRCOIN and post-curation for verified members.

  • Get part of the rewards for participating in Online Ward rounds.

  • Engaging discussions will be held intermittently to listen to our individual journey on the path of health.

  • Problem-solving and family bonding.

Air-Clinic App

INTERVIEW SEGMENT

For this week’s TETE-A-TETE segment, meet our guest... - @isarmoewe.

Tell us about yourself

My name is Anne, I was born in Eastern Germany (former GDR) forty years ago. I live in the urban area around Munich in Bavaria, but since I moved several times in those forty years I feel at home at other places in Germany too. :) I consider myself rather an European citizen than a German one.

I'm an IT professional with some physics background, I have an amateur radio license and for a few years now I'm drawn to medical topics to a growing extent. I started to be trained voluntarily as an emergency medic in 2014 and after a break and 2.5 years of medical service at local events as a volunteer, I restarted the training this year, hoping to finish it next spring. After obtaining my master's degree my intention was to connect both fields – physics and medicine - for a professional career but as this hasn't worked out yet it probably never will.

I have been always quite eager to learn about other cultures and languages. The fact that I'm not a traveler might contrast to that but there are so many people from other countries living in Germany that one does not really need to travel to get in contact with other cultures. I feel like we're living to learn how to get along with each other well and with respect.

Thus I feel honored to introduce myself to a community which I would not have encountered if I was different. :)*


SECRET BEHIND YOUR USERNAME

When I registered at Steemit I intended to blog in German, my first language. As I'm introducing myself to an international community now I feel like explaining why I chose a German word for a Steemit username. I live not far from the river Isar and I like the sea also. So I put together both and now I'm virtually a seagull living in Upper Bavaria, the alpine forelands. :) You see, I love nature also.

WHY DO YOU LOVE AIR-CLINIC?

I love AirClinic for a variety of reasons. I like the exchange on medical topics, it's like a honeypot to me. But to a larger extent, I'm fascinated by the project itself. In my eyes, it's state-of-the-art and seminal. Options to chat a doctor remotely on health topics are needed in Germany too since there is a lack of doctors in the rural areas and (even bigger) lack of nurses all over the country. Less personnel, so to speak, is facing an increase of patients. And even though this issue is known to have worsened within the last years no general solution is being tried to implement – just local solutions. There can't be too much digitalization projects trying to overcome these issues.


HIGH AND LOW POINTS ON STEEMIT

I think I can answer both questions with two single words: the people. I have been a blogger prior to joining Steemit and I'm rather left-winged in a political sense. Steemit attracts people with some disagreeable opinions on religion, migration, the Federal Republic of Germany itself. To me, blogging is something very private. After a year on Steemit, I have grown familiar with sharing my virtual living-room with people I did not invite to it but I'm not entirely happy though.

I have never been interested in financial investment or stock markets. Steemit has not changed that so far. However, after a year of wondering whether there'a place for me on Steemit at all I received two delegations without having asked for that – and a few weeks later another delegation. This has changed the game as I'm able to really reward others now. I'm happy to be accepted at least. :)

I love Steemit for the innovational character it has but HF20 has shone a light on some software and code management issues the platform has. However, the opportunity to exchange thoughts and ideas with people I wouldn't have met otherwise will most probably keep me on Steemit (or on a successor).

HOW DO YOU BALANCE STEEMIT WITH REAL LIFE

Steemit is still a hobby to me so I don't understand the question. ;) Currently, my volunteerships are more like real work to me than my days at home are. There is an interaction between both – of course, I write about some aspects of my Red Cross and disaster relief activities because these are topics nobody else writes about. :) Yes, I'm enrolled at the Red Cross and at the German Agency of Technical Relief at the same time and I love it! There's nothing wrong to me about getting up early and spending the day away from home. I need those breaks from being at home only.

On the other hand, my Steemit blog has been my secret so far. I'm not talking about it to people who are not on the platform. I will probably not be able to keep it a secret much longer now as life requires me to take some decisions.

MOTIVATION FOR YOUR COURSE OF STUDY

Motivation for my studies and apprenticeships has always come from an eagerness to learn something new. I'm quite a so-called sensation-seeker, I think. In my teenage years and early twenties, I was focused on computers. Now, about 20 years later, it's medicine again (it has been an interest of mine in my childhood already).

Best motivation is and has always been to use my knowledge in a professional setting and/or in order to help or explain things to others.


CHALLENGES/SURVIVAL

Live itself is challenging for me. :)

I was diagnosed with Asperger's syndrome in 2011. The diagnosis helped to explain developmental issues I had in my childhood. However, I'm happy to have been enrolled at a normal school and to have obtained my A-level certificate, allowing me to enroll at university at all. I'm happy for all the stuff I had a chance to learn and for the (short-timed) phases of being hired as an IT professional. I'm currently being unemployed due to issues with my night sleep and after seeing a lot of doctors on that I still feel helpless and unsure what to do for a living in the future. Thus, the real survival story is happening now …

But I want to share a story though. I already wrote about my issues with my diploma thesis here: https://steemit.com/myshittiestmethod/@isarmoewe/throwback-times-my-shittiest-lab-method

Obtaining my master's degree probably was the most difficult challenge I faced so far. I struggled with the final exams a lot and I might have profited from a break before turning to the thesis work. But I didn't take one because I thought it was inappropriate. Having had an advisor back then might have helped even though I'm not overly fond of the idea to accept my limitations.

I have some kind of survival feelings too when I think about the rare occasions where I could see or do some real medical work. I feel honored to have seen cardiac MRI once and I'm also thankful for all the practical medicine and nursing stuff I learned during my internships at the hospital and the ambulance this spring and summer. It has definitely given me a chance to grow. I'm less defensive now.


FINAL WORDS OF ENCOURAGEMENT TO THE AIR-CLINIC FAMILY

I have met quite a few paramedics and nurses who turned out to be (more or less) cynical and tired of aspects of their job. I would love to tell them not to let it be at that but I didn't say anything because I didn't feel like I was in a position to address this. In Germany, the basic medical jobs are badly paid for the responsibility that comes with them and their reputation in the society is as low as never before. It shows almost daily – people are being aggressive to firefighters blocking the street after an accident or impatient when they have to wait a long time at the ER because their triage value is green and they should have seen a GP instead. I would love to encourage everyone working in this field to check whether they still love the job – and to quit if they don't.

Additionally I would like to encourage other medics and nurses to join AirClinic if they can spare time for it. Their knowledge is valuable here and they need to adopt new technologies anyway.

Air-Clinic App

SHOUTOUT SEGMENT (To Previous Interviewees)!

@Zoneboy, @Endopediatria, @Elvigia, @Oluwambe, @Bcrafts, @Evarich, @iamchijamz, @donnest, @wordswithhoney, @desmoniac, @bookoons, @gee1, @muhammadalikatu, @mopelola, @ogochukwu, @adoore-eu, @thelovejunkie, @scarletmedia, @mosunomotunde.

Thank you for joining us on previous episodes of Online WARDROUNDS.

Air-Clinic App

This article was compiled by @antigenx for @air-clinic!

Air-Clinic App

Air-Clinic App has been successfully launched and you can earn AIRCOIN while you learn and share your ideas on health.

Visit our website https://myairclinic.com to download the app!

You could also join us on discord to interact well with others.

Sort:  

Beautiful segment with @isarmoewe.. Thumbs up ma'am, I love your indefatigable spirit.

The 1st case sounds like her baby might be in trouble, have no idea though.

Hey @isarmoewe,

We are happy to have you on this segment of Online Wardrounds!

Your insights on life are amazing! Keep it up!

🏥💙♨

First case:

It is kind of genital tract infection known as PID (pelvic inflammatory disease).
The risk of PID following IUDs insertion increases if she get STIs from her partner or partners. History should focus on that.

By the way, it took her 5 months to realise that she was pregnant? ? Does it happen in real life?

Second case:
A case of PUD (peptic ulcer disease)


Interesting cases this time: PID and PUD

Inspirational post! You know what they say.. "To handle yourself, use your head; to handle others, use your heart."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28