Online Wardrounds Ep 10 featuring @Wordswithhoney!

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

AIR-CLINIC ROCKS! It’s good to be back with another interesting episode of Online Ward rounds, a special programme for everyone to talk about their health and share knowledge.

Screenshot_2018-05-26-16-54-18.png

We are sure you had a great time during the Last episode. For those that missed the show, here is a link.


ATTENDANCE REGISTER (LAST WEEK).

These are the members that graced our grand rounds last week:

@estherlove1

@aimeejay

@drigweeu

@olusolaemmanuel

@oluwambe

@micholhar

@steyn

@omaqiin

@teemike

@khallie

@adoore-eu

@mr-sakariyau

@donnest

You all made our ninth episode a success. We appreciate your contributions.

@air-clinic specially appreciates @donnest

Thank you for honoring our invite. It was great having you on the show. We also learned from you.


Case 1 Highlight

The Diagnosis for this was coarctation of aorta

Case 2 Highlight

The Diagnosis for this was Infective Endocarditis

Case 3 Highlight

The Diagnosis for this was *Myocardial Infarction

FOR THIS WEEK, HERE ARE THE CASES FOR YOU TO ATTEMPT.

Case 1

A young diabetic is admitted in a comatose state. His plasma glucose level is 17mmols and he is dehydrated

  • What is your diagnosis? (And what is the basis for making your diagnosis?)

  • What are your DDx?

  • How would you work up this patient?

  • How would you manage this patient?


Case 2
A 32-year-old woman complains of palpitations and is found to have a red oedematous swelling above both lateral malleoli, which she says are beginning to affect her feet. She is found to have digital clubbing and peri-orbital puffiness

  • What is your diagnosis? And what is the basis for making the diagnosis?

  • What are your DDx?

  • How would you work up the patient?

  • What are your management modalities for this case?

Attempt the cases as much as you can...


BONUS BIOLOGY QUESTIONS

  • Who was Charles Darwin?
  • Who was Robert Hooke?
  • Who was Gregor Mendel?

BENEFITS OF SMSI

  • As the name implies this is to assist everyone on their health journey.

  • Support will be in the form of community of mutual interests.

  • Qualification verification to improve the quality of healthcare.

  • Upvote, AIRCOIN and post-curation for verified members.

  • Get part of the rewards for participating in Online Ward rounds.

  • Engaging discussions will be held intermittently to listen to our individual journey on the path of health.

  • Problem-solving and family bonding.

<hr

![imo-owo-225x300.jpg]()

For this week’s TETE-A-TETE segment, meet our guest... - @wordswithhoney

Tell us about yourself

I'm Imo-owo Akpabio from Akwa-Ibom state in Nigeria. Here On steemit, I'm @wordswithhoney. A science-loving 500 level medic in The University of Uyo, Nigeria. Single young man and in my early twenties who enjoys learning, sharing knowledge and improving old knowledge.

I'm 20% cocky, sometimes shy but most times very bold. My Hobbies include table tennis, Piano playing, poetry, and meditation. I'm also well built( 6.1ft, 70kg,) and I enjoy keeping fit.

Why do you love @air-clinic?

Well, when I first came to steemit platform, I sort of floated for weeks looking for a community where I would fit in. I was browsing @stemng and I found a post from air-clinic and Suddenly I knew I had found it!
I love @airclinic because: Air-clinic educates, promotes health, creates space for interactions on a professional basis. Oh and I also love it because it's the place on the Steem blockchain where anyone would want to visit to learn more about life in its fullness.

High and low point on steemit

Umm, I'm kinda new to steemit but I've had challenges too. I Initially felt steemit was "post and earn instantly". Lol. It wasn't and so I was frustrated for the first few weeks. I wanted a higher reputation, More Steem Power, More dollars and all bonuses.

After a while, I learned that steemit is a "Facebook plus bitcoin" platform and that was when the bulbs came on! I'm currently learning more and I think I'm having a good time too.

How do you balance your steemit life and real life

Well, I set time for steemit which is late evening most times. I wouldn't want to be distracted as my day is usually busy. But weekends(Friday nights to Saturday nights)are for steemit and Air-clinic. That's how I roll.

Motivation to study your career.

Life itself is a Mystery, one that needs Mastery. I once saw a Man saved by chest compressions during a CPR session and I was fascinated. Since then, I've had something in my heart that yearns to save lives. I pray to remain this way.

Challenges/survival story in your specialty

In Nigeria where medical school is a place where you must know all(as with other medical schools ), every academic session presents new goals and challenges. My Part one MB exams were a walk over. But my Part Two MB exams created mixed feelings as I had a near-distinction in my best course. I'm currently in clinical year proper and It requires me to sacrifice a lot of things which I am ready to do.

Final words

The field is getting broader. Learn whatever you can because it could be needed someday. Think outside the books but never leave the books. Practice Practice and perfect your practice.

SHOUTOUT SEGMENT (To Previous Interviewees)!

@Zoneboy, @Endopediatria, @Elvigia, @Oluwambe, @Bcrafts, @Evarich, @iamchijamz, @donnest.

Thank you for joining us on previous episodes of Online WARDROUNDS.


This article was compiled by @antigenx for @air-clinic

KINDLY UPVOTE & RESTEEM TO REACH MORE MEDICS AND DON’T FORGET TO GRAB SOME AIRCOINS FOR YOURSELF AND FRIENDS.

Sort:  

For case 1
My diagnosis is DKA with differential of HSS.
Basis for diagnosis is the presenting symptoms, high blood sugar in a young patient.

Work up is serial RBS, CBC, MP, SEUCR,

Treatment include hydration, lowering of Blood sugar with insulin, correction of electrolyte imbalance and treatment of precipitating infections, counseling.

For case 2
My diagnosis is hyperthyroidism probably Graves disease.
Basis is the clinical presentation.
Work up : thyroid function test, thyroid antibodies, ECG

Treatment is hydration, antithyroid drugs, Beta blockers, +/- steroids.

Thank you for the quality response! Cheers!

@omaqiin you are very much on point, and i think your line of management for both cases are in order. Thanks for for your input

Nice interview @wordswithhoney. It's pleasure having you around today.

Hi. It looks like it's Endocrinology time.
Case 1. He has diabetic ketoacidosis. He is a young recognized diabetic person, with a high probability of type 1 diabetes because of his age. We must perform gasometry to corroborate the diagnosis.
He has to receive treatment in an intensive therapy unit. We have to supply hydration with saline solution 0.9% at first gradually for 24 hours. Insulin regular in infusion pump at rate 0.1 units per kg per hour. Remember always potassium infusion.
The adjust will do depend on the evolution during a strict supervision.
Besides we have to look for a trigger factor.
Case 2. It could be a Graves disease. We must perform thyroid hormones, thyroid stimulating antibodies, and thyroid ultrasound. Treatment is based on antithyroid drugs and beta-blockers. It is important an ophthalmologic evaluation for following orbitopathy.

So good to have you back @endopediatria, you were MIA. You served it hot for the endo part like a boss. You are very much in order.

Thanks for your great input in the cases.

Hi @air-clinic, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @khallie doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @khalis ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Congratulations @air-clinic! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15