A.I. And Existential Crisis

in #ai7 years ago (edited)

Will A.I. be driven to find it's purpose, or will it take Artificial consciousness?
Or is it something uniquely human?

Do chimpanzees experience existential dread? How about dogs?

Sentience, sapience, self awareness, self reflection, sagacity, survival instinct
requires little from these. Organisms of basic simplicity make an effort to not
get harmed or killed, but contemplation of negation, the extended, low grade
sympathetic response. What would humans do if we could completely shut
off the hormonal response created by fear? How do you even program self
preservation? How do you not program ennui, melancholy, or malice?

Could someone bring me a stick of butter?

I know it's a gorilla, but I couldn't find a suitable chimp to play the Dane.

Images: i.imgflip.com/1plpne.jpg
i.imgflip.com/1pls4x.jpg
i.imgflip.com/1pnndl.jpg
i.imgflip.com/1pnndl.jpg

Sort:  

lol the first image reminded me of this scene from Rick and Morty:

The reference is deliberate. That scene has to be one of the funniest things I've ever seen.

A. I . Might get better and better at mimicking conscious behavior, but to come up with a program that gives to create some independent desire or will on it's own seems impossible and or terrifying.

I think that if we invent something we might call artificial consciousness, it will probably happen by accident, and bear little or no resemblance to the tin man stuff that has gone on so far. The intelligent simulacra are the domain of the behaviorists, the slave makers. If humanity does ever give birth to a machine consciousness the levers of human survival should never be within it's reach.

We don't know what are will, and desire for ourselves.

You give me lots to think about. Always appreciate it!

Just doing my best. Thank you.

keep AI limited to specific tasks, limit their self-awareness OR program them to be content in their performance

Like a smart herd dog who is ecstatic just to make their person happy? One that follows their person around with rapt attention, as though the most exciting thing in the world is about to fall out of their person's pocket.

I don't know how to program one of those. I don't know how I feel about having an AI in my phone that keeps telling me that it wants to be my dog.


www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJIqnXTqg8I

LOL If I could program, the faithful dog with his nose in your crotch would be a trait I would avoid; but I know damn well that people loooove their pets...these kinds of AI's would be all over the place

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95