HOW REAL LIFE TERMINATORS CAN COME INTO EXISTENCE

in #ai7 years ago

I've been reading about the Ethereum project and the idea of smart contracts being implemented into everyday society. I really believe it is amazing how this technology could improve the lives of many people. However, as I've been reading I cannot help but start to think of Skynet and wonder. What if these smart contracts start to be used for purposes against humans?

I saw the post below from Joe Rogan about a robot that looks like a human and can currently do push ups. This robot also sweats in order to cool itself off. He posted that in a year, we will see so much advancement that this robot could potentially "launch itself over a building". This post started a chain reaction in my mind about what this robot could eventually become.

I do not believe this will happen in 1 year. However, with artificial intelligence becoming more and more of a likelihood and crypto-currency becoming part of peoples everyday life, I cannot help but begin to think of the possible implications... What if artificial intelligence, advanced robotics and smart contracts were to be combined? Humanity can finally create a TERMINATOR.

Just to give an idea, Below I've broken down (into very simplistic terms the three items above)

ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE: Computers systems that can speak, see and make decisions very similar to humans. Eventually these computers will be capable to be more human than some humans. They will have advanced sight, smell, taste, hearing, and touch. However, they are still computers. This means the can be PROGRAMMED.

ADVANCED ROBOTICS: What if we continue down the path of creating robots that are so much more capable than humans? We already have drones that can remotely drop bombs from thousands of feet in the air. What if this robot technology grows exponentially? We see it all around us. Ideas that become reality and that reality becomeds exponentially advanced. IF YOU DOUBT THIS, THEN JUST LOOK AT THE INTERNET!

SMART CONTRACTS: Smart contracts are the ability to program computers to act upon a contract based on the parameters assigned to it. For example, If I create a smart contract with a friend to sell his home to me for $300,000.00, Then I can program a computer to wait for two triggers. One trigger would be for my money to go into a certain account which the computer can check, lets say every 10 seconds. The other trigger would be my friend to put the deed of his home in a certain account in which the computer also checks. Once both items have been matched, the computer unconsciously switches the two items and now I own the deed and my friend owns $300,000.00.

Now, for a moment let your imagination get away from you and think of what would happen if a robot already programmed with AI capabilities also had a smart contract programmed.

What I am suggesting is a"Hitman" token. A token of value that could be put to the task of killing people. Someone with these robots could rent out "Terminators" using smart contracts. The robot already is there, the AI can use its human like qualities to learn, adapt and make decisions all with the single "thought" of completing its task, and now people can put a bounty on someones head using smart contracts.

For example, I want to kill Jon Doe. I use the "Hitman" token to set up a smart contract. I put $10,000.00 into an account that works as a trigger. As soon as Jon Doe's name is put into the obituary, the computer will the transfer the money into the hitmans account and I will have what I paid for.

The implications of this can go much farther. We may even see a real life Skynet in the not so near future.

I really hope that none of this comes to pass... However, technology does not care about human life. Technology produces more technology. If we live in a time where we can program computers to kill, we open a floodgate of possibilities. Entire wars may be fought by robots. Computers may eventually take over....

It is also possible that none of this will happen and humans will continue to live in a similar fashion to how they do now. What I do know is there are some evil people in this world. Evil people, Money and Technology do not mix very well. I hope for everyone's sake that none of this comes to pass, but to put a blind eye to the possibilities is to invite trouble.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lifedesign! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64439.19
ETH 2775.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64