The same sense of disconnection, expressed differently in each of us.

in #agorism7 years ago

My brother and I are both ill at ease with certain aspects of society.

For him, we're too far removed from our food.
We push down little plastic squares all day, and some ones and zeroes change in a computer.
We stop at a fast food place on the way home, and get some stuff that was probably recently an animal, and some more ones and zeroes change in the computer.
We don't enjoy our work, and we don't enjoy our food, because we've lost the connection between the two.


His daughter, and my son. Gorgeous little cousins

I feel, and I think I've always felt, that we're too far removed from our money.
We get these coloured rectangles, but they don't feel valuable. Put me in a plane to pretty much anywhere, and they won't be accepted as money. Send me back 1000 years in a time machine and they'll be enjoyed as an interesting oddity, but they won't be money.
They didn't cost anything to make, so why would they be worth anything?

Dan just posted his introduction this evening. He'll be telling the story of how he suddenly became completely deaf in his mid 20's, and how his bionic ears helped him continue in his role as a Search and Rescue crewman on the Rescue helicopter, here in South Australia.


My boy, Henry was just practicing being a patient, although I should have warned his mum before I sent this photo

His discomfort over our food situation has inspired a love of foraging, and a fondness for a plateful of native Australian fauna and flora over the European produce we've shoehorned into this environment.
My money concerns have inspired my love of crypto's and precious metals, and brought me here.

I'm really glad he's coming too.

We're starting to see more engagement from a broader range of contributors, which is something to really celebrate and embrace.

As always, have a fantastic day.


Sort:  

Hey Matt, nice insight into your family. You guys are clearly close.

Once my laptop is up and running again I will try and clear some of my Team Australia recruits backlog!

Thanks, @choogirl. We are.
Appreciate your comment and msp bump :)

It is really amazing to meet people who are so distant and with different lifestyles and cultures, but who have common concerns and thoughts. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. God bless you!

And you, Ana. Following you.

you needed someone to take a pic of your wife's face after you sent her that pic LOL

It was an honest mistake ;P
Funnily enough she was in hospital, having just delivered his little sister.

cute kids!

I agree, the human concept of money has destroyed society. The eternal quest to make more money sucks... a lot. I would love to just write all day, but I need to eat :(

Good morning Matt :)
Wtg recruiting your brother! Gonna go check him out after I comment here.

We share the same concerns.

Food Im hoping to be able to grow ourselves once we move. Were vegetarians.

Money.. Ive always had a weird relationship with my whole life so Ive found a way around it for the most part - I barter every chance I get.

A few years ago I thought what would happen if everything collapsed. No money no internet no nothing what will we need then?

Brains. Skills. Can do attitude.

So I learn skills. Since I dont have the money to stack lol

Have a great day Matt.

Ps. Gorgeous kids!

Thanks. We like 'em :)
He's going to come plant me an avocado tree, and he's helped with car stuff twice recently.
Top notch brothering right here.

Money stops being currency when folks lose confidence in those pieces of monopoly paper. Fiat currency is worthless without someone believing it has value. Tangible things like silver, gold and collectibles have value as they have stood the test of time and fiat paper money fails every time. Crypto must also be believed that it has value. As it it digital it is vulnerable too. Relationships with other people have true stored value and are invaluable with the right person. It sounds like Dan will become one of those invaluable commodities to appreciate. Thanks for the good read and personal quality to the post. Blessings.

Thanks Troy. It's certainly valuable to think about.
Fiat always returns to its intrinsic value, of zero.

This is the perfect bromance post. I love it very much.

Lucky you. My bro and I are like strangers.

Really sorry, mate. Was there a rift, or did you just drift?
Dan and I didn't see each other for a long time, but when our kids came along, we started seeing more of each other. Might be something to look forward to?

Both you know? Rift and drift. We're just too different.

Maybe one day you'll work out a way you're different, but the same, like we did.
If it's over, it's over, but if you miss him; there's an excellent chance he misses you.

I wouldn't know man.

Great to see you're so close and your kids playing together!

We're only five minutes apart, and he has a spa, so it writes itself ;)

You guys seem really close and it does feels good to watch
and the kids are indeed looking cute :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64