You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog asks: What Was THAT Moment When You Realized..........?

in #aging7 years ago

I enjoyed all of your creative posts Kus. This one is special to me as it reminded me Dec. 2005 when I was working as a heavy duty mechanic. While repairing the top part of a trailer door my ladder slipped and I fell on the floor on my butt, broke my L1 but lucky enough that my discs and spine survived. I fell from about 13 feet above the ground.
This was the incident which made to change my career once again from a heavy duty mechanic to an accountant!

Q: Have you had any significant moments when you realized something?
A: I can't run as fast as 6 years ago. I tried it recently; Oh God, the breathing? Couldn't do it. Also I think if I have realized that the ladder was not safe for the job and could have used scissors lift instead then may be still would have been working as a heavy duty mechanic.

Q: Have you reached any barriers in your life?
A: Yes, I can't run as far as I could 5 years ago with the same speed.

Q: Did you find a way around them?
A: I rather do jogging, instead running and slowly going faster instead all at once. I didn't run for about 5 years though.

Q: Do you think that a positive attitude is a key factor in overcoming barriers?
A: Positive attitude that's all what do we need.

Sort:  

Wow @mathworksheets sorry about your accident. You recovered well an started and new career path. Good for you!

I think destiny wanted me to be an accountant. It happened in Dec. 2005 and started my accounting studies from April 2006. Funny thing was I was Bachelor of Science back from India (didn't find a good line other than teaching to pursue it further, so I chose accounting), it has nothing to do with accounting as it is a new line. So I learned accounting from scratch sitting with kids who just had finished their grade 12 here in Canada (but many times I corrected the instructors, specially in math).

You also needed humility to go back to school with the kids but you persevered. Good for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71