How I wear my African Hair.

in #africanhair7 years ago

I grew up relaxing my hair for the better part of my childhood as well as transitioning into adulthood. Lately I have come to embrace my natural African hair. I like it because it has reduced the number of my visits to the salon. I no longer have to worry about my hair getting in touch with water or being rained on because the natural it is, the easier it is for me to maintain. I try as much as possibly to avoid excess heat to my scalp from the blow dry because my scalp is somewhat sensitive.

This is my usual regular wash and go style. I love this look because itIMG-20170912-WA0003.jpg brings out the kinky nature of my hair. The only thing I have to do to maintain this look is shampoo my hair, do some twist outs with a curling butter suited for my hair type, and then get some good night sleep. When I wake up, I undo the twist outs, run a comb through it to make it fluffy and wear a hair spray to maintain the curls. You can rock this style for two-three days.

When I need a break from having my hair open, I usually go for braiding. ![WIN_20171206_145809.JPG] (). This look gives me a neat look, I prefer it if I have a serious meeting to attend or when I'm not sure of how people will judge me suppose I have a meeting or an interview to attend. It also makes my hair grow. This look is also perfect when you need to protect your hair from harsh weather conditions, say excess heat. It also lets your hair and scalp breathe.

There are variety of styles you can do on your natural hair. Here's another one of my favorites.WIN_20180123_123412.JPG For this look, I had to visit the salon. Shampoo the hair from home, put in a leave in conditioner then have your hair plaited. With the curling butter, make some twist outs as shown on the frontal part of my hair and leave them for the night or get in the drier for 10minutes. I love this look because I can untwist the twist outs to give me a different look say for another day. I can rock this style for a week or two. It's economical and suits my head and style.

The fact of the matter is, I have saved lots of money by embracing my natural hair and I have limitless options to style it. People have also come of age to loving the natural and afro looks as compared to years back when permed hair was the ideal and only suitable office hair wear for most women. I am also not a fan of weaves or wigs, for that reason, I will keep rocking my natural hair for quite a long long time. Let me know what you think about African natural hair in the comment section below. Cheers!

Sort:  

African hairstyles are so beautiful...
i just upvoted and followed you. please ff back

done, thanks.

Amazing images dear. You look magnificent

African kinky and curly hair is beautiful and easy to style.

I enjoy styling my natural hair a lot; it's an art in itself. You are pretty.

aww, thank you.

Your hair is gorgeous exactly the way it grows out of your head. It's a shame you have to worry about being judged in society because your hair is not straight. I know the feeling all too well. 😟

You should check out my blog it’s called “ My Kinky Hair” you should read it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18