The Africa you won't see on TV - Post #4; Tafaria Castle

in #africa7 years ago

Every queen deserves a castle!

I have not been to many castles in my life. Matter of fact, I’ve only been to one. However, I really love seeing images of different castles from across the world. I find the architecture refreshing, especially the ancient ones. Well, I’m on a journey to see more and I’m convinced the universe will make that happen for me.

We recently did a random road trip with my friends. That’s something we do a lot btw. Wake up in the morning, exchange a couple of messages, and a few hours later we are on the road with no particular destination in mind. Routine can easily make me go crazy.

We were on our way back when one of us pointed out that she always heard there was a castle on the route we were using. Obviously, we had to check it out!

We had to drive for about 10 minutes off-road, but it was totally worth it. Have a look:

THE FRONT SIDE

THE BACK SIDE

Different angle

The Amphitheater

The castle appeared to the owner as a dream, hence the Once a Dream tagline. Talk of a person living their dream, literally!

Patriarchal Systems

One of my friends trying to be funny

Explanation of the art above

The views! One may stay overnight, and those are some of the rooms available.

You could ride the horses. I was excited at the prospects of doing this but that wasn’t going to happen because of the rains 😭😭 Apparently horses are very sensitive animals.

Where to rest after a swim

Some other friends making an attempt at modelling

Here’s a bonus mushroom 😁😁

Who else loves castles? Have you been to a castle before?

As always, here’s to hoping you stay tuned for a series on the Africa you will never see elsewhere. Find below the previous posts:

Introductory Post
Nairobi City
Fort Portal

Light and Love!

Sort:  

This post is amazing, I am loving it! Tafaria Castle? Book me a room! They look comfortable too!

I mean, it's like a piece of the castle was cut like a cake and given to guests. 😜

It's an out-of-this-world kind of place. I did get into one of the rooms for no reason, and they do look comfy.

Haha you said it so creatively, OMG you get it😌😌.

It does look otherworldly! I mean --the view! The vegetation! The care! Jesus! 🌲🌳

Haha ofc! It's the same architecture (or rather similar), a bit more simple, but woah! 😵😧😮

Maaaan I love road trips, wish I could tag along, looks so much fun. Mad props to the photographer

Road trips are always fun! As the photographer, I'll just yaaay 🤗 Thanks.

Beautiful. What camera was used to take these?

Thanks 🤗 . An 18-200mm lens on a Nikon D5300.

Congratulations @wachera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62996.86
ETH 3452.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49