The Importance Of Age To The AfricanssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #africa7 years ago

The Africans are people with diverse cultures. Despite civilization and education, we still find it very difficult to distance ourselves from our cultures. For us, our cultures are our heritage and we cherish them with everything in us.

Credit

Our predecessors pass on these traditions to us and we in turn pass them to upcoming generations. As Africans, we respect elders so much that we don’t call them names. We believe so much in order of birth. That is, if I was born before you, then I am your elder and as such you cannot call me by name. This is evident in our day to day activities by way of saying:

Brother Tunde, Tayo and sister Tobi, Esther. This has been a tradition that has been passed from one generation to another. It is even funny to see us use uncle and aunt differently. These ‘prefixes’ are used as signs of respect rather than to suggest the person is a relative. So you hear ‘Aunty Tobi’ or Uncle Tunde. This is done because the person came to the world before you and you are expected to respect the person with such ‘prefix’.

In Yoruba (An ethnic group in Nigeria), we have signs to differentiate our age-mate from those older than us. So we have two letters basically which are ‘O’ and ‘E’. We use the ‘O’ to communicate with our age-mate. 

Examples: 

‘O’

Se o n gbo mi (Are you listening to me)?

Ibo l’o n lo (Where are you going)?

Se o ti jeun (Have you eaten)?


‘E’

Se e n gbo mi (Are you listening to me)

Ibo l’e n lo (Where are you going)?

Se e ti jeun (Have you eaten)?

If you notice, both have same translations but to the Yoruba people, they are different as the latter shows sign of respect.

Credit

This idea of respect permeate most of the things we do. To surprise you, when food is being shared, they are also shared according to age! Yeah! The eldest gets more followed by the elder! The eldest share meat for instance to his/her younger ones.

But the unique thing about this scenario is that an African parent always teach their children about morality and doing good. The eldest is always cautioned and kept in check by the parent. He is always told not to cheat his younger ones. But as the younger ones, what can we do? We take what we are given though grumble sometimes! 

Growing up, I always ask: why must my sister take a big fish while I take the small one? When I asked my mom, she surprises me with a funny answer and that is: She drank world water before you! And am like, really? She will just look at me and laugh. Her next response would be: why didn’t you come first? And am like, ehn ehn? This is really funny! I don’t know when a child decides when to come to the world by his or her own will.

But as we grow, we understand that the aim of all this is to teach us respect. They want us to start from home, from siblings, and then to the larger community because we must at all time respect the elders. No matter how old you are, the elders are always right! Even if they are wrong, they will tell you: Don’t you know she’s/he’s is an elder?

Respect is one thing Africans cherished and you can get things easily ones you are considered humble and respectful.

This is also evident in our greetings. We prostrate as guys to greet elders and the female kneel down to greet elders! These are also signs of respect. So don't be surprised if i prostrate in front of you! laughs!

Share with me those childhood experiences when you took big fish and gave your younger ones small or received small fish and your elder sister/brother took big one. How did you feel then? Do you agree that the age difference recognition is about respect alone or more?


This is a foundation for my next post


Thanks for reading. Its your boy @smyle the philosopher

Sort:  

Africans are respectful beings. This is who we are and it is what defines us. Proud to be an African.

Fortunately for me, I never experienced such being the first child of the family. But like you did mention, respecting elders (even with age difference of a day ) is a very important part of our culture. It is believed that for you to attain old age, you must show respect to people older than you otherwise the reverse will be the case.

Thanks ma!

In the western part of Nigeria, respect is actually taken more seriously compared to our side here in east and south.

Yes brother! We have greetings for everything!

Hello@sbamsoneu. It's a good thing that you are making the distinction. Let me correct you based on where I am from originally (Edo State, South-South) and where I am married (Enugu State, South-East). The people of Edo state don't joke with respect much like where we are descent (from Yoruba). Our cultures are similar. However, I got culture shock in the East, especially when I was courting my husband. My brothers-in-law (those whom I am older than) would just call me by my name, Mary, as if they were the ones who gave birth to me. Hmm...it almost caused problems. My Igbo girl friends were the ones who calmed me down and told me that it is like that in Igbo land until the woman gives birth to a child/children. It is only then that they will start calling her mama Chidiebere, for instance. The Igbos behave true to this saying Igbo enweze meaning Igbo people do not have king. In my place, respect is automatically accorded elders, regardless of whether that person who is older than you has money or not.

Yes ma! Respect is everything in this part of the country. I can't remember my younger sister ever calling my gf name. Funny enough, she is always older than them😁

But because i am her brother, she always transfer the respect to them and they always reciprocate. I can't imagine one small boy calling me name because i am dating his sis/bro.

Respect is just everything to me because my culture frowns at any act of disrespect.

Thank you ma for your contribution.

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @smyle! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

A well cultured and norture being will surely have respect for the elderly ones even his/her mate and junior ones. Mr Smyle thanks for this.

Yeah! Thanks too!

Old age is time and chance, it's not as a result of our carefulness and goodness even though that Africa believed that old age is as a consequence of uprightness, no doubt if there is truth in that. I feel happy staying with elderly ones, I am the last born in my family but yet my late dad died in my hands at his old age due to my availability, he blessed me according to Africa tradition which we believe is a good fortune to be blessed by a dying elderly person.

This post calls for reflections!

Nice one @smyle

Yeah! A blessing! Thanks for this. 👍

The culture is the people, you can't separate one from the other. Nice writeup

You have gone tradition today. You are correct.

😀
Thanks brother!

Africa in other words can be called home of respect.

Yeah! 💪👍

Africans are really respectful. You can notice some iota of respect in a chat conversation ao an African. That is how we are built and I love that in us.

Yeah! Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45