If you had a different name, would you be a different person?

in #africa6 years ago

We give names to things to differentiate something A from B. We also give ourselves names for easy identification, reward and punishment. Without names, it would be hard to differentiate many things and even hard to relate freely.

Credit

The importance of name cannot be overemphasized. My intention here is to ask whether their is any connection between our names and our 'person'. That is, are we a result of what we are called or our personality is different from our names? I will use the Yoruba people of Nigeria to drive home my point.

A name is a word or a combination of words by which a person, place, or thing, a body or class, or any object of thought is designated, called, or known. Source

In the Yoruba culture, a child is named after 7th day of life. Names in Yoruba can be 'destiny' or acquired. Destiny names are those names surrounding the circumstances of the birth of the child. A child born on Sunday has a peculiar name. The popular destiny names are Taiwo and Kehinde. These are names given to twins by birth.

Acquired names are names given from discretions or likeness. These are names given to the child by parents, grandparents and relatives. 

Yoruba people believe that given names are so profound, meaningful and powerful that the names children bear can influence their entire life cycle, from sundry behavior, integrity, professions, success and so on. Source

This ideology of cause and effect behind name is not peculiar to the Yoruba people or Africans alone.

If you notice, you will see that people also give Biblical names to their children. Those who practice Islam also do the same. In Christianity, you hear names like Peter, John, Solomon, David, etc. The people logically believe these names (characters and fortunes of the original bearers) will have positive effects on their children.

Perhaps, this explains why people do not call their children Judas, Satan or any fallen angel name. 

My name is Juwon. This is coined from the Yoruba words Olorun ju eda lo - meaning God is mightier and greater than humans. So logically, my parent believe God's will in my life is greater and it will always overshadow that of evil. This is just one name among many names i have.

Now to the question, do you think there is a connection between yourself and your name? Would you act differently, talk differently, behave differently if you were given another name? Do you think you are noble because this is a result of your name? Or you have bad behaviour because it is what those who bear your name do? 

Picture yourself having another name and see if you would act differently. Do not forget also that our parent logically assume this as a fact, at least to those of us who are Africans.

I anticipate your responses. 

Thanks for your time. Your boy @smyle the philosopher

Sort:  

What a name gives:-

Identity

Heritage

What a name does not give

Character

Cheers, and cheers! Happy Easter.

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

As much as I love my name, I don't think the name is the reason why I am the type of person I am.
I have so many names because it is cultural, as the first child of my family ever member of the family wants to give you a name and the most annoying part of it is that no one calls me by those names as a matter of fact, the only time I knew that I had those names was when I found a card that contained my names which was shared on the naming ceremony day.

No. My name has no connection with who I am. Although i see many living up to their names but if i had a different name,, i doubt if it will influence my actions.Great work, bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47