You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance Of Age To The Africans

in #africa7 years ago

Hello@sbamsoneu. It's a good thing that you are making the distinction. Let me correct you based on where I am from originally (Edo State, South-South) and where I am married (Enugu State, South-East). The people of Edo state don't joke with respect much like where we are descent (from Yoruba). Our cultures are similar. However, I got culture shock in the East, especially when I was courting my husband. My brothers-in-law (those whom I am older than) would just call me by my name, Mary, as if they were the ones who gave birth to me. Hmm...it almost caused problems. My Igbo girl friends were the ones who calmed me down and told me that it is like that in Igbo land until the woman gives birth to a child/children. It is only then that they will start calling her mama Chidiebere, for instance. The Igbos behave true to this saying Igbo enweze meaning Igbo people do not have king. In my place, respect is automatically accorded elders, regardless of whether that person who is older than you has money or not.

Sort:  

Yes ma! Respect is everything in this part of the country. I can't remember my younger sister ever calling my gf name. Funny enough, she is always older than them😁

But because i am her brother, she always transfer the respect to them and they always reciprocate. I can't imagine one small boy calling me name because i am dating his sis/bro.

Respect is just everything to me because my culture frowns at any act of disrespect.

Thank you ma for your contribution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47