YOU HAVEN'T BEEN TO A PROPER AFRICAN FESTIVAL UNTIL YOU ATTEND SAUTI ZA BUSARA/ ZANZIBAR

in #africa7 years ago (edited)

a2.jpg *This was us preparing to check out the festival grounds before they started planning it. That is our guide Kombo.

Sauti za Busara brings people together to celebrate African music under African skies.#UnitedinMusic: 400 artists,46 shows, three stages: Old Fort & Forodhani Gardens.- http://www.busaramusic.org/

My Experience

I have this thing for African festivals. There is always an unexpected act or show. You never know what to expect. I decided to pop in the Sauti za Busara Festival in Zanzibar. The funny thing is that when Tess (my friend) and I planned the trip, we had no idea that our Airbnb would be situated a small distance away from the Festival grounds. The festival was a 3-day event and we popped in every day. However, the last day was the most anticipated because it would be the grand concert.

a4.jpg A candid phto of Tess & I. We were loving Zanzibar so far.

b1.jpg This was the amphitheater where some of the performances would happen.

b2.jpg This was the main field where vendors took adavantage to sell their goods to tourists and locals.

b3.jpg We had to take the obligatory banner photos.

Sights and Sounds

On the day before the launch, we happened to go to Stone Town completely oblivious of what was happening and we found half the town, if not everyone, gathered there. There were activities in every corner and we hopped from place to place. There were dancers who showed off their skills. There were modern, contemporary and traditional dancers. There were also traditional healers complete with their regalia and face masks. I managed to steal some shots while being shoved from side to side. This was such a remarkable view. I loved the work that had gone into this festival and how involved everyone was.

b1.jpg The crowd gathered for the launch of the festival.

b2.jpg Sometimes I capture photographers too. These were the traditional healers.

b3.jpg

b4.jpg Dancers dancing to Kazi Kazi- a known Tanzanian pop song

The Concert

On the last day, we dressed up for the concert. We got front row spots but thespeakers were too loud but we moved a bit back to protect our ear drums. We danced so hard we were sweating like crazy. The highlight was watching our very own Sarabi perform. This is a great band from Kenya. We also discovered bands from all over Africa. Another band that I loved was Bob Maghrib from Morocco and another band from Reunion Island (can't remember the name). Bob Maghrib electrified the crowd because they sang great reggae hits from Bob Markey with an African twist. The music sounded so good with all the African Instruments. We made so many friends and the crowd was full of people from all ages. I still have a vivid picture of an old woman dancing like she was 18. See the pictures to get a feel of how much fun we had.

a1.jpg This was how it looked like when people started trickling in the concert grounds.

a2.jpg It was full house in an hour and we were ready for the opening act.

a3.jpg
Tess and I stealing some selfies.
a4.jpg One is never enough. We were sober the whle show but we danced like all the drunk people around us.

a5.jpg Bob Maghrib. A band from Morocco. Here they were singing Turn your lights down low by Bob Marley. Everyone was screaming around us. *
a6.jpg Sarabi from Kenya starting off well
a7.jpg * Sarabi had such a nice performance. Did I mention that we found ourselves on the same flight with them when our trip was done?

Join Steemit Kenya on Discord. https://discord.gg/Cmq84aF

Steemit_In_Kenya.png

Support @boosterke

boosterke.png
@boosterke for SteemitKe

Steemit Bloggers Discord BANNER NEW.jpg

Sort:  

As usual, you've done a wonderful job of bringing Africa to us. A music event needs music though, so off to YouTube I went. Bob Maghrib is fantastic. I would say they are my best musical find since I discovered Derek Trucks last year.

But wait, you say Sarabi were there too? Double whammy!

[edit] Sarabi remind me a lot of early Talking Heads. See if you can get hold of the movie "Stop Making Sense" by Jonathan Demme. Or any concert footage for that matter.[end edit]

Thank you.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel.gif

Thankyou so much for the lovely comment.

I can see you had a great time....so lovely, I will share with you some of the festivals we celebrate in Ghana, I'm sure you will love it.

Yes kindly share. I'd love to attend.

You got a 0.35% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jeanwandimi!

Looks like you're having great fun!

We had so much fun that week. All I have are great memories.

planning to make this trip soon

You should visit. It's amazing.

"I said ooohh, it's been a long long time.
I got this message for you girl.
But it seems I was never on time.
Still I wanna get through to you girl.
On time.
On time.
I want to give you some love.
I want to give you some good good lovin.
Oh I, Oh I, Oh I.
I want to give...."

Bob Marley

From memory :)

Sounds like you had a great show. Keep on "jamming".

I love that song. Thanks for sharing.

Lovely smiles. Happy people. Incredible scenes from the festival. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading and stopping by. Following you. #steemitbloggers

I love Zanzibar and hope to experience the festival soon. Amazing pictures!

Thanks @wachera Can't wait for you to visit. :)

YOU HAVEN'T BEEN TO A PROPER AFRICAN FESTIVAL UNTIL YOU ATTEND SAUTI ZA BUSARA/ ZANZIBAR

haha I love your tittle.
whoaa beautiful scenaries
I wanna be part of this event some day. I hope you will show me around, @jeanwandimi?

I will take you around @richforever Let's plan for the 2018 one. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40