Why do we build emotional walls?

in #africa7 years ago (edited)

                                

Image source

From a young age, we are taught NOT to show our emotions. Babies cry and then soothed to stop crying. When we are toddlers and we hurt ourselves, we are taught to be strong, and not to cry because it is part of growing up. When we grow older it is a little bit easier to show our emotions, probably because we have earned that right. But because we were taught to behave ourselves in public most of us tend to bury our emotions in some deep dark place instead of lashing out. In social situations, most people try and hide their feelings and emotions, because they don't want to look pathetic in front of others.  We teach ourselves to handle our emotions in such a way that it doesn't affect our daily lives. 

I tend to do the same. I am a strong person, but I keep my emotions to myself. The only emotion that I am good at sharing is when I am angry. This is a bad characteristic, but if I am angry people tend to leave me alone.  It has become somewhat of a defense mechanism. I don't have many friends, but I am very committed to those people that are part of my life.  

I am extremely good at building emotional walls, and this has enabled me to live in my own little world where I feel safe. I am a very private person, and I tend to keep things to myself.  I taught myself to be strong, and not to let anything or anyone bother me.   

But with age, comes wisdom, and often we get to a point where we just can't stand something anymore, and we have to get it out of our system. Then it is time to break down that emotional walls and to start getting rid of all the negative cropped up feelings inside.    

Weird thing is that even if I am a broken person inside living in my own perfect world with my own little walls around me, people see me as a strong person and because I seem like a strong person I often attract the wrong type of people to make friends with.  It is as if they find shelter in me because I am so open minded and can help them through their struggles.   

Isn't it weird that I can help others through their struggles, but I have difficulty working through my own issues. I have now reached a point where my emotional bucket is full.  I have to start looking after myself, and no longer look after other people. It is time to break down these walls and to live my life the way I was intended to..

And if you find me at a party, sitting alone,  crying in the corner, then just leave me alone....

                                     

Image source

If you enjoy my content please follow me

Sort:  

I don't know if this will help but i found peace in the truth of this realization. All problems are illusions we create for ourselves, society and actual reality should be seperate. Life never gives you problems, the ego inside you which seeks protection from the outside world creates its own problems. It is a painful truth at first, but it is only because the hidden tension inside of you is being released. Peace follows after. Good luck giantbear!

@giantbear...I'm schocked to learn that you have feelings too. I was under the impression you didn't have a heart 😉😂


Yes, but I still keep my balance!

Lol. That's great! 😉

O I can relate to this - I just push te emotions aside and carry on, but sometimes we do have to break down and say enough is enough - good post - resteeming

It's not strange at all. Those that feel the most, even if it is behind the safety of their walls, know how pain feels, and this makes people gravitate towards them.

I am a magnet then...LOL!

I'm an HSP (or "Highly Sensitive Person") and I feel very deeply... but I have learned to hid much of it because "emoting" seems to make people feel uncomfortable. So I feel a LOT on the inside... don't express as much outwardly. Interestingly enough, I get a lot of people latching on to me wanting to share their random life stories or trials and tribulations.

Oh gosh, you sound like me...I have this one friend that never phones me or visit me except when she is literally on the verge of committing suicide. I try to avoid her because I get emotionally involved and in my little mind I take all her problems and it affects me badly, so to avoid that I avoid her. That must make me a bad friend, but I honestly can't handle it anymore. It feels as if she is taking advantage of me in some way because she knows that I will make her feel better....weird ...

She is, because you do (make her feel better). Because you listen and empathize... where her other friends probably say "Oh wow... that really sucks! Wanna go for tacos?"

When I am angry I take a pillow and beat it with the stick , this really helps me to get the anger out of me.

I will have feathers all over this place....lol

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.70 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

My husband and I are pretty good at sharing our feelings with one another. I think we both feel a freedom and relief being allowed to be emotional with one another. I am like you though. I've got lots of walls. It took me a long time to break them down and trust people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76