You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do we build emotional walls?

in #africa7 years ago

I'm an HSP (or "Highly Sensitive Person") and I feel very deeply... but I have learned to hid much of it because "emoting" seems to make people feel uncomfortable. So I feel a LOT on the inside... don't express as much outwardly. Interestingly enough, I get a lot of people latching on to me wanting to share their random life stories or trials and tribulations.

Sort:  

Oh gosh, you sound like me...I have this one friend that never phones me or visit me except when she is literally on the verge of committing suicide. I try to avoid her because I get emotionally involved and in my little mind I take all her problems and it affects me badly, so to avoid that I avoid her. That must make me a bad friend, but I honestly can't handle it anymore. It feels as if she is taking advantage of me in some way because she knows that I will make her feel better....weird ...

She is, because you do (make her feel better). Because you listen and empathize... where her other friends probably say "Oh wow... that really sucks! Wanna go for tacos?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64