Pole fitness as injury rehab

in #aerialists7 years ago

@polebird and I are trying to build an aerial community here on Steemit so this is my first #aerialists post. Although pole dance is mostly portrayed on social media as something done by the young and gorgeous in tiny outfits and killer heels, there are a number of folk out there like me who are bent on growing old disgracefully. People still giggle at me when I tell them I do pole dancing because pole hasn't yet shed its stripper stereotype and I am the last person they could imagine shaking my butt in high heels. I don't shake my butt in heels - there's such a thing as pole fitness - but I have nothing against those who can rock the 8-inch heels thing.

I'm almost 49 years old and I started poling when I was 44. I have always been very strong and enjoy doing things that most people consider extreme. Whether it's biking, martial arts or pole, I enjoy the challenge of physical activity that demands 100% focus. Most of the time, my mind is off elsewhere and I am very accident-prone and so demanding activities keep me grounded. Being accident-prone has taken its toll on my body and I learned over time that keeping strong and active keeps me relatively pain-free. With my damaged joints, I can't comfortably be a couch-potato. Many years ago, I took up yoga to strengthen and loosen my shoulders. It helped with that but my hips didn't like the constant stretching and stress on the joints. Pole dancing turned out to be the answer to that and I became stronger and more flexible and got away from the chronic hip and lower-back pain that yoga caused. I met my first pole teacher when I was doing aerial yoga at her studio although it wasn't long before I learned that "if it doesn't hurt, it isn't aerial" and that any time you learn something new, you are likely to end up with huge bruises. Not from falling, but from the effort of staying on the pole.

2017 was a difficult year, I took a tumble badly in a martial arts class and landed on the point of the shoulder and separated the ligament which connects the collar-bone to the scapula. That particular injury is called shoulder separation and one little ligament caused so much pain and discomfort I couldn't sleep at night. I was unable to lift my arm and I experienced an ocular migraine for the first time in my life which was rather frightening. What the xrays showed was even more disturbing: the separation was not major but the stability of the right glenohumeral joint was severely compromised and I was going to need plenty of rehab.

shoulder  Xray.jpg

The arm was put in a sling, I wasn't allowed to drive and life became very difficult because wearing a sling becomes so uncomfortable that you barely notice the actual injury any more. There is also the time spent wondering whether anything will ever be the same again and the frustration of being stuck at home and reliant on others for every little thing.

I got through that and started rehab 2 months after the accident. My arm had become so weak and painful that I could barely lift it and I had to do lots of painful stretching and strengthening exercises using a theraband. Gradually, the pain subsided and function improved and after a month, I was given more complex exercises and told that I could go back to pole classes. It was painful in the beginning and I felt pretty useless but I continued with the rehab and over months, the pain has become less although it is still there and there are things which I still can't do but the ligaments are slowly being able to take more load because it is only stress that will get them stronger again. As any hand-balancer will tell you, separated shoulders don't like handstands.

The rehab has improved my shoulder function to the point where I can do things that I wasn't capable of previously and I'll be posting some progress pictures soon. The plan for this year is to be able to do Iron-X, the pole equivalent of flags

Sort:  

Ouch !
You can really see the laxity in the joint from that X-Ray.

I've been through something very similar, so I know how it feels. I also have a list of other joint injuries, so being a couch potato is not an option for me either. If I don't keep fit I can't walk after a few weeks.

I don't see any stigma about pole dancing, you girls do some really difficult stuff and it's a great way to stay in shape. I dare say you don't see too many 49 YO men trying to even climb a pole because it would just be too difficult for most of them.

I hope you can overcome your shoulder troubles. Physiotherapy only got me so far and I decided to take my recovery into my own hands. So I do a lot of strength training and also use Indian clubs regularly.

It's a bit like a yin yang approach, the strength training keeps the joints tight and the Indian clubs keep the joints mobile by gently putting them through their full ROM. They gently stretch the soft tissue & any scar tissue without making the joint loose.

Indian clubs have helped many people re-hab broken shoulders where all else had failed. I recommend them for all my clients, even those without shoulder problems as a pre-hab tool, as the Indians say they are gift from the Vedic gods.

Good luck with it, I hope it all goes well for you @nikv

Indian clubs look interesting, I'm definitely going to investigate those further. Thank you for the tip!

There are adventurous spirits that leave a dent in the bodies they inhabit.
You are splendid at the age you are. It is the best to enjoy.
Greetings darling @nikv.

Thank You!

I love that you looked for all these extreme activities! So glad to hear your shoulder healed past the point it was at previously and so looking forward to your progress posts!

Now I just need to take some pictures!

Yes, good post. Liking the idea of someone taking up pole dancing at 44! Thats actually my age and I know i'm getting older. Still stronger than ever though and my stamina is much better than when I was young. Just need quite a bit more sleep, thats all!!

More sleep! Yes indeed!

This is unreal! I am a beginner pole dancer, I got my husband to install it in our bedroom as its the biggest room of the house. I am pretty overweight like 60 lbs overweight and I feel discouraged at times as I am trying to do it all alone, no classes in my town. I would love to join an aerial Steemit community. Along with my reverse speech interest, pole fitness is my other great passion. Thanks for this post, I hope your shoulder and arm continue to strengthen and pain keeps reducing!

Thank you. I think it is hard to do pole without a teacher but good luck and keep contributing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57676.72
ETH 2356.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39