September ProgBlog #1

in #aer6 years ago

Small victory for having made all the progblogs last month!

We've had awesome fun times with everyone in the house except me (so far touch wood aargh) succumbing to this rather awful gastro over the course of the week, so in fairness not quite as much done as I would have liked to do (even though I whined about my glacial speed at the time), but slow progress is better than no progress!

Finished the sculpt of Zara and let it cool down. It's still looking okay (plus I can do shape modifications after it's been sent to Blender) so will be starting retopo on it soon.

For some odd reason I actually had to set a shader on the base model when I imported it (usually it does so by itself) and while I was there I checked out what was there as I've updated 3dC recently, and noticed some new to me shaders that could have been there for ages for all I know, I haven't looked in the shaders library for a while. There was a large array of skin shaders going from vampire white through to an almost dark brown (probably not quite dark enough for Dak's skin) so my next experiment after retopo will be to see if it will work with my style or if I should continue just hand painting. I'm currently using that as an excuse to pause the shape key work on Red's claws til I'm in the mood for it again even though realistically if the skin shader experiment works and I modify Red's paint job as well all that's going to need to be swapped out are the uv maps.

I've also had a songpic developing and it got developed and naggy enough to want to be done so I ended up staying up til midnight last night first sketching out the layout and then doing all the posing and sketches for it.

There's another three but you have to be a Patreon to see them.

This post also appears on my blog and Patreon.

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) It can be one of your characters (including ones you make up on the spot for this XD) or a self insert. There's a bunch of different human types to choose from, and pets/other animals are also welcome.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

If you want to natter I usually haunt both the #teamaustralia channels (yes there's two, the PAL one and one for Aus/NZ), Be Awesome, and hang with the @steemartists on the server with the same name on Discord with a bunch of awesome people :D

sig

-={ commission info | patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Hooray for small victories! Sorry to hear about the gastro problemo, I hope that get sorted out prontissimo. I do believe in the balance of all things, so whenever there's good, there's bad. From what I see, the positives outweigh the negative in your ledger, MATE-rmaid. So, I chalk that one up to the win column again!

They're all recovering thanks :) And I said to them that hey on the bright side, the're probably never going to get sick as adults XD I did get asked how I managed to avoid it, only thing I can think of is I must have had something similar enough in the past that my immune system was like NOT SO FAST MATEY when the gastro invaded the house. And apparently this one is not as bad as one that was going around in July so kinda glad we missed out on that one XD

Always gotta celebrate the small victories a little bit ;D And even the lose column is still win because you learned something (even if it's just that thing didn't work XD)

There always has to be a tribute to take care of everyone else. I guess you were just the designated caregiver haha!

It still looks really complicated to me >.> but you're doing a great job! I used to be vampire white until I went to California XD

The character's torso looks kinda short compared to the legs, was that intentional as part of the character design?

It's one of those things that's...okay I still end up over my head quite regularly, totally not anywhere near anything that could even accidentally be mistaken for an expert, still only kind of have some idea what I'm doing XD

So kind of like this then?


unapologetically snaffled from imgur

XD

Might be the boobs and hips doing something weird to the perspective as she's exactly the same proportions as Red (the blue male Dragonkin I did earlier). Or maybe it's just weird perspective on the app, I'm not sure now :S Although that does give me some hope that I can pull several different looking body types out of the same base model, as there are very few characters that I need to change the base model's proportions for :D

Aaaaa that looks great though I think making the shoulders and boobs lower could help???

Thanks maya :D I don't think they can go any lower? O_o

Thanks for your creativity

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome, I think? XD Thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47