May ProgBlog #2

in #aer6 years ago

After looking at how erratic my steem and Patreon feeds can be, I guess I really better put in the effort to make these weekly, perhaps showing off the pathetic amount of progress I didn't make will kick me into working more harder smarter.

So as I said last update I'm going back to what I know (which is keeping the polycount as low as possible) but experimenting in a slightly different direction (I have a probably unhealthy obsession with needing all the quads to be as square as possible so I tend to end up with slightly dense meshes).

Retopo continues at glacial speed. We're currently at 24 438 faces, should still (hopefully) be under 100k by the time I'm done with the rest of the fingers and the wings, and Blender should be able to cope with that. With luck I won't have to make it 100m tall for auto weight mapping to work.

I think I've been reasonably successful at keeping squarish in bits that are pretty flexible/deform/twist a lot and letting there be rectangles in places that either don't move at all or twist in 1-2 directions and not by much. Hopefully I've done enough that if anything requires that little bit more or if it just needs to look a little bit nicer the subd modifier will do the job.

Otherwise I started doing a lot of background work again as it suddenly occurred to me that I have managed to miss for literal years another scene in one of the scripts that came from a time where I was trying to make things happen instead of watching what the characters were doing, so I had to fix it. Which of course meant I had to fix the knock-on effects too. The original problem has been fixed and now I'm working on the first of two obvious knock-ons but will now have to go through carefully and make sure that a) I got all the knock-ons and b) there aren't any more problematic things like that in the scripts. And I thought I had it all settled too. Shows how much I know about my own work! This one is better! And somewhere in the background JJ is rolling his eyes XD

I've also been doing this thing for a thing but it won't come out for a while.

As for the rest of my request queue well I'm well and truly stuck on the @symphonyofechoes header (I have a partially formed idea but can't seem to get much past that) and on the calligraphy for @lordnigel's upgoats (but I usually get stuck sometimes for ages at that point so nothing unusual there :S). Will hopefully be sketching bananafish ideas soon and seeing if they look as ridiculous on screen as they do in my head XD

This post also appears on my blog.

Stuff to do

  • @symphonyofechoes header [well and truly stuck but it's okay I'll get there eventually]
  • bananafish mascot for @f3nix [potentially hazardous ideas brewing]
  • upgoats for @lordnigel [stuck on the name! It'll get there!]
  • upgoats for @bengy
  • upgoats for @superoo7

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) It can be one of your characters (including ones you make up on the spot for this XD) or a self insert. There's a bunch of different human types to choose from, and pets/other animals are also welcome.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

If you want to natter I usually haunt both the #teamaustralia channels (yes there's two, the PAL one and one for Aus/NZ), Be Awesome, and hang with the @steemartists on the server with the same name on Discord with a bunch of awesome people :D

sig

-={ commission info | patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

No matter how 'slow' your progress or how unsmart you're working, it's always a joy to read your posts. They are so you!

Please keep sharing what is going on in- and outside your mind,

Vincent

Ahhhh you're so nice XD Thanks, I guess I shall hope that it entertains in some fashion among other things :D

goatsig

What's in a name ;>)
You can call me nicevnt from now on, if you want to...

So I've seen a few of these posts now, and I'm still not clear what you are creating the dragon (?) for? Is it a personal project or a commission?

Which dragon? XD

The top one is for my animation project, which if I start talking about I may have trouble stopping, but am happy to answer any and all questions except "what is it about" as that's one of the things that leads to the nonstop talking.

goatsig

Heh, I didn't really know what to call it. Man dragon? Seems like a long ongoing project, have you gotten attached enough to name him yet?

These ones are called Dragonkin, they're still human, just odd genes got switched on/expressed interestingly (fyn took much liberties with evolutionary theories) and a lot of them ended up looking like this and other animals XD There's a perfectly safe link in my sig which describes the different types of humans in my little head-universe :)

Yeh pretty long running project, think I'm in the 14th or 15th year x_x though on the bright side probably a good thing. I doubled it up as a uni project (so I wouldn't have to squeeze it in around a third year project) but having to keep to deadlines, the script was terrible and so were my 3d skills at the time so probably a good thing I never finished it then, it's much better now XD

This guy is one of my major characters, his name is Za'haran though I usually refer to him by his callsign of Red partly because it's shorter and partly because he's more frequently referred to as that throughout the block I'm currently working on.

goatsig

Thanks! I followed it up, looks like there's a lot in there busting to get out!

Yep that's pretty much it, gives me headaches...quite regularly XD

goatsig

Thanks for inserting me in the to do list @ryvhnn! The idea is as much hazardous as drawing a trojan horse and being worried about Homer's copyright 😁 ( I'm a lawyer, I'm the first wanting to do things well). I'll DM you on discord as there's a change .. now I'm workin a lot in my contest brand.

I've gotten reasonable at working with and around copyright issues after spending ages in fandoms, so I'm not too worried about that XD But yay lawyer I may inadvertently learn more! More concerned about trying to come up with something you'll like :)

goatsig

More concerned about trying to come up with something you'll like :)

You're too cool. Will reach you on DM asap 👍

Keep it up :D
Also is that an adorable dragon sketch? It would make a nice companion to your character ^^

Thanks! This guy doesn't have any other animal companions, it might make an appearance in another family's house though :)

goatsig

Pathetic or not, you’ve done more progress than me. I’ve got nothing to show for the last month as far as my project. Glad to see another post from you! I’m still waiting for when it all comes together and makes complete sense to non-3d me. :)

It's slower going than usual now as we're house hunting, trying to at least pretend I'm keeping on top of things XD

Have you are least got notes or ideas? They count!

goatsig

Hmmmmm, reading your post methinks you may have been munching on tiny bits of fly-agaric {smile}...thanks for stopping by my big mushroom post. I am actually the SA ambassador on Team Australia...probably a poor one to be truthful... {blush} .. but just saying!!

What are you saying, that I'm hallucinating? That actually became startlingly regular for a while XD (hallucinating not mushrooms)

If it's any consolation I didn't even realise we had state ambassadors :O

goatsig

Errr, I is a COUNTRY ambassador from sunny South Africa...Cape Town to be exact . Not sure what that implies.... there is no statement of work with the position.
No, not hallucinating... but you appear to have a LOT on your mind XD

That makes much more sense, I knew we had country ambassadors XD I don't know what was supposed to happen there either but it's all fun :D

A lot on my mind is a fairly normal state of affairs too :)

goatsig

This guy is coming up nicely, ry. And he looks like he’s ready to fly anytime soon. Woooshhh! :D

-upvoted-

Thanks! I hope this time's the charm, I think this is the second or third time I've gone through this stage XD With luck next progblog I'll have more expresion test and less repeat! :S

goatsig

I am sure you can do it very soon, ryry!

Fly away my boy!!!

Wish I can use the graphical apps for design. Am definatetly going to put up a session when am done with my project.

Nice graphical works @ryivhnn

Thanks!

Sorry I'm not sure I fully understood the first two sentences. What do you design?

goatsig

What I meant was that I will put for training session concerning graphical designs. The least app I can use is Corel draw for graphical works.

Heck, I'm surprised that you're even able to post at all! What with everything going on with your life, I don't know if I would be able to sneak in any time for this if I were in your shoes. Awesome time management skills, mate!

What time management? I am really trying hard to be more organised but I'm so flying by the seat of my pants at the moment XD

goatsig

Excellent post!

Are you cognitive?

goatsig

Ha ha, the attitude and position of the goat fits the comment so well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65