Aurelius quick concept

in #aer7 years ago

Aurelius concept

@jedau took a bit of a shine to Aurelius in the Black Fingernails Red Wine piece due to name similarities, and these gems came up in the course of our conversation:

Haha! Definitely make him look like a Quokka :D

And

Oh right!! They're native to Australia haha! Man, I wish I had those things as pets haha! Maybe add in a scar across Aurelius left eye to give him that sort of intimidating presence. When people ask how he got it, he'll think of some awesome story, when really it was because he slipped while getting a midnight snack and hit his face on the corner wall.

Do you have any idea whatsoever how impossible it is to make a quokka look intimidating? Even when they're a therio? It's that nose. I can't work under these conditions! XD

Perhaps it's just me that can't do it because I know what they look like and I know how big they are and every time I try to imagine them being fierce I burst out laughing.

But I had to give it a go so super quickie concept sketchy with a sneery face. It's a front he puts on when doing his job. He's otherwise actually a stereotypical family man, loving husband, wonderful father, and nobody would ever guess that he's a pretty well paid bodyguard for a dubious little ferret that I might even get to draw before I have to model him.


This post also appears on my blog and Patreon.

Directly related:

AER-related:

Not sure if I should use the team/australia tags even though most of the story is set in Australia (MARY SUE). Maybe later. Speaking of which I should probably incorporate steemaroo into a footer image at some stage.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

sig

Patreon | ArtStation | deviantART | Weasyl | Wysp | Picarto

Sort:  

While I'm not entirely certain I would say he looks fierce, there is a quality of "Are you sure you want to F with me?" LOL. Nicely done my friend :) I know when @jedau has internet up and running again he'll love it.

Thanks! 😄 yeah quokkas and fierce doesn't really work, they're always smiling so cutely 🤣

Nice sketch and story/tangent to go with it. Look forward to whatever version comes next luv.

Thanks ^_^ This character is actually really minor, he appears in all of one scene and doesn't have any dialogue XD But it was still pretty cool to get a hint as to how he should look (apparently quokka is correct or close enough, wouldn't be able to do it if t wasn't XD) and some context :)

---> these things?

Yes those despicably cute things.

Hey do you Netflix? Have you seen that show Glow yet? Sooo good.

Nope. I am boring and don't watch anything XD

Well sometimes I do if it can catch and hold my attention for long enough (I watched Moana pretty much every time my kids put it on, the story was cute and enjoyable and all but I spent way too much time studying the water and hair physics and admiring the skin shaders and animation).

I'll look it up and then ask the partner if he's seen it, he watches lots of stuff.

It is a good one! I recommend it ha ha. It is a little cringy but I find it quite funny.

I LOVE IT!!! It's so awesome that this was born from a conversation we had in the comments section. What's more amazing is that conversation is fresh in my mind, and I remember it so vividly haha! I'm excited to see how this would look like colored, but this already deserves a solid resteem!

Thanks for this, mate! I'll catch up on your latest when my internet is fully restored :D I just had to comment and resteem this one (since I already autovote all of your posts 100%) :D

Well if you like this I hope you'll like what I'm going to post next even more...assuming I can ever get my rig to render the base out, it's being a pain atm DX

(though if it doesn't render well I can screencap the bastard so there but either way will still have to try to work out why it's overheating)

ps you autovote me? [heart explodes] I feel so special it hurts and makes me want to hide XD

Take your time with it. It's not like I'm back online full-time yet ;) Oh, you haven't noticed that yet? Haha! I think I've subscribed you to my list for several months now. I guess when we first started regularly interacting with each other is when. Several months, as in I don't even remember when, but it's surely way before you made the Viento fan art :)

I'll be streaming/recording it today so if you want it to be kind of a surprise (I wasn't planning on it being that much of a surprise obviously otherwise I wouldn't have told you about it XP) don't watch the stream or the video XD

And no because it kicks in a while after I post (don't ask me how long I don't always check the timestamps when eSteem knocks on my phone to tell me something happened XD) I just assumed you had seen it, I'm a bit slow XD

^_^

With my internet woes, I guess I will have to await patiently for whatever it is :D Let me know when you have it up, mate!

Editing sound now so video will be later tonight or tomorrow XP I wasn't able to finish so not sure when the final will be posted :)

Don't rush it :) Great things take time, and I fully trust your process when it comes to this, mate!

I am taking my time, but there is also only so much time I can take! XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71