You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Forest Fish

in #aer6 years ago

The Shape of Water has got nothing on this! It looks like The Asset's nerdy cousin. The Atlantic Urkel!

Kidding aside, the water-filled glasses seem functional. Does that extend to his gills as well? Also, are the clothes for aesthetic purposes only, or do they serve as armor of some kind? I like it when we get all technical with these.

Sort:  

Now I really have to see The Shape of Water! I hope that guy is a cool nerd though. I might wear glasses and be on Steemit, but I don't consider myself a nerd. I didn't know my glasses were filled with water, even though I often got watery eyes. Now I know why. And to answer the clothes question, I just wore them for this picture. I thought they looked cool.

Haha I haven't seen...much of anything lately so I had to look everything up XD

Nereids are the ones with gills, Selkies still breathe air (and like cetaceans can hold their breath for ages). The gilly bits are in his case more like cat whiskers, as he lives in a river it can occasionally get murky down in the depths so the whiskers help him navigate and identify what's around.

They may wear garments for "tradition" underwater, above water it's partly because everyone else still does and mostly to protect their skin as they're a bit more prone to dehydration and skin drying out. He really should be wearing longs but I figured there should be sufficient humidity where he is that short sleeves will be fine til he goes back in the water :)

I always thought getting technical with stuff like this was perfectly normal til I got told by a few people that I overthink things XD

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34