The Power of Giving | VintagePrint

in #advice6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers, 

Source

There is this quote by James Keller that goes, "A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle." While I'm not a huge philanthropist mainly because of my young age, I value the power of giving. Giving is the gift of giving up something that you hold dear to you without regret. For most people, a gift of monetary value is considered dear but even a hug can mean more. It just has to hold sentimental value.

Let me ask you a question. Which is considered a bigger sacrifice: is it when you give a loved one $50 when you have $500 or when you give a loved one $50 when you only had $100?

Thus, it is not the monetary value that is proportional to the amount of love for a person, but the sentimental value. A card can mean more than an expensive ring, a simple, "thank you for being there for me" means more than the gift of a car.

Source

The purpose of this post is to show you the power of giving. Today, I met a homeless man by the roadside. He had torn clothes, looked tired and hungry. I felt compassion for the man and almost shed a tear. I could not comprehend the suffering he was going through and appreciated my life. Needless to say, I opened my wallet and noticed I had 500 Kenyan shillings. It was held up in one note and beside it were some 40 shilling coins in form of two 20 shilling coins.

'

Thoughts cycled through my mind. Do I give him the 500 shillings or just the coins? I already had the fare to get back home and relative to that man, I was quite comfortable. Without a second thought, I gave up my 500 shillings and gave him. The reaction on his face confirm to me the satisfying feeling of giving someone love. I urge all of you dear Steemers to light another candle and love will come back to you. Have a blessed day!

Yours truly,

@vintageprint

Check out my website at: https://markgacoka.com

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by markgacoka from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Congratulations @vintageprint! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79