He's lying to me

in #advice7 years ago

I use this account to read other's posts. I am not a bot.

I'm getting to a point where I am not sure if I have truly found happiness. There was a time where all I wanted was the affections of a particular guy. Well, now I have them it seems he is a very different person to who I originally thought.

He is very closed and 'private' which I respect but at the same time, I feel he doesn't trust me or respect me enough to share his life. I don't want a running report on everything but for gods sake I don't even know his family. He's met mine hundreds of times. I've known him for nearly 6 years, been together over 3 and I just feel like we're on different pages.

It would destroy me if things ended with us but I don't know how to be happy anymore. Right now, I know he's lying to me about when he's flying to another country because he didn't want to see me today. I don't care if he's busy, I'd rather him tell me he's got stuff to do. I've never had a problem with it in the past.

Things are way to complicated and everyone tells me I have a 'weird relationship' and I try and stand up for us but they're right. Is weird good though?

Sort:  

Usually, people who have nothing to hide, hide nothing. I think if your friends are seeing and telling you they see red flags, you should put aside your feelings and send your intellect in to evaluate the situation.

A good friend of mine once told me. I over E. Intellect over emotion. Intellect is rational, emotion is just that... emotion.

If you are sure something is a lie. (not having a hunch) then that is a red flag, if you choose to ignore it.. Well, that is risky behavior.

Best of luck.

I very often make decisions based on emotion. Thank you for your advice, that's helped a lot!
I mean, he prob got the dates mixed up! But he hasn't told me that.. maybe I'll find out in a couple of days!
Anyway, have a good evening!

It's easy for us to give you advice, but a lot harder to give you good advice because we're not living the details.

I will say this though. I was once in a similar situation (not with the lying) where I was with someone I cared about but just didn't feel the same connection anymore and wasn't happy. She felt the same way.

We dated for a little over 3 years and are still friends but I really wish I could have that time back. The problem, as I see it, in these situations is that if it doesn't work out you end up dwelling on what could have been.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65