"I have a boyfriend while my older sister is alone, and it makes her suffer; what can I do to help her?"

in #advice6 years ago

Excerpt: in many cases we help other people not because we are in true service but because we feel guilty! Ask yourself, how often do you agree to do things for other people because it's not nice to say no? How often do you feel a vague sense of obligation, whose source is unrelated, and you feel guilty for wanting to get rid of it? In families this guilt is stronger than ever exactly because you cannot pinpoint the source of that obligation. Ultimately, each person will need to face this issue of guilt and release it, with the shame that it carries.


Dear,

My sister is 26 years old. She has been looking for a boyfriend for many years but so far could not find someone who would not be a “compromise”. I am 22 years old and have had a boyfriend for eight months. Although we are not thinking about a wedding yet, it will happen soon because we come from a religious-conservative family and we can’t prolong the relationship at its current status.

My sister has been through a very difficult time since I began a relationship while she is without one. She found it painful to realize that I have found love so easily and by chance while she, who has met a lot of men, hasn't found anyone. She cried a lot and refused to come home when I was there. She has been seeing a guy for six weeks now but the relationship shows signs of collapse and I am terrified that the good mood she has been in lately might fall apart and I will have to be both comforting and barely seen in her presence.

Do you have any advice?

Sarah

guilt.jpg

Credit: pixabay

Sarah,

Your sister’s frustrations and jealousy come from a sense of a seemingly powerless self. She sees you and other young women and finds it difficult to accept that love is seemingly inaccessible to her. On the one hand she is determined not to compromise on the heart-attraction and for that, she should be commended, and on the other hand, she simply doesn’t know what to do.

You, as her sister, can help her. If you have advice or wise words that can guide her on her path, tell her. Explain to her that each human being is unique and precious in the eyes of God and “serves” as another facet of the conscious energy of life which desires to experience itself. Your life’s challenges and lessons are different than your sister’s and the mere recognition of that fact will ease her mind and heart.

Secondly, your sister may find it useful to be assisted by those who have found Love and can guide her. Allowing love is a process at any age. When your sister realizes that many people are battling the same issues she may be comforted and will definitely regain a sense of proportion.

Having said all that, it’s crucial for your own well-being and further personal growth to realize that you are not responsible for anyone’s life. They can ask for your help but once they leave your presence, they are responsible for their own reality. As compassionate and kind-hearted as you are, it would only weaken you to absorb people’s emotional issues and might eventually even sabotage your own successful relationship. Be careful about that.

Another extremely important issue that is obvious from your words is the guilt. For the sake of your own welfare and the health of your relationship, you must release the guilt feelings you have now. Those come from your thoughts as explained above, and have no place in your life. Actually, they would surely pull you and your future spouse, down.

You see, the guilt comes from the society you grew up in, and is an old dogma, appearing already in the bible. The thought that the young sister should not marry before the older one is false! It belongs to archaic times when families stayed together for survival purposes. You are not responsible for the life of other people. In fact, the greatest service you can do to your sister, your family, your community, is by taking care of yourself, shining out your light, so they can see it, feel it, be inspired by it, and then go, on their own path, to do the same. Any attempt from your end to save your sister, to inflict your own agenda ("I want you to find someone too"), will only ruin her life.

Have a look at the subject from a different perspective. When you carry the guilt, when you think "oh, I must be a good sister and help her", you are feeling good about your noble attitude and good heart, don't you? But you see, this feeling is false, not real. You are feeding yourself from a source that is empty. Your sister on her part thinks, "I am so glad to have her to help me and encourage me; If it wasn't for her I would not know what to do, how to live my life, I would be so miserable*". Do you identify a pattern here? She is a victim and you, albeit your good intentions, help her to perpetuate the victimhood! This way she will never be a sovereign, independent person. You are suffocating her growth.

Release the guilt, and you will see the immediate transformation!



Sort:  

Well it is not you who makes her suffer but it is your perfect life which does the same..
And what is the problem in being single ,enjoy life.
The life is destined,it is her fate which will turn her to her boyfriend... Until that keep calm and steem

And what is the problem in being single ,enjoy life.

Upvoting that sentence! ;-)

You could let your sister know about the internet, internet dating and online sausage fests. lol

The thought that the young sister should not marry before the older one is false!

I totally agree with you. It is old and archaic and should not be encouraged.

Sarah; It seems like your sister is both jealous and angry when looking at your "perfect" life.

Unfortunately, anger will only prolong these feelings of jealousy for her. It is best for her to try to let go of this anger.

If any emotions should be felt, it should be pity for herself, not anger, because she may never enjoy life as thoroughly as you may.

It will be good for your sister to develop goals for her own sake, not so she can match up with you or "beat" you.

I know that this is all very difficult and time-consuming at first, but eventually she will become a happier person, and she won't feel nearly as jealous about you.

Having said all that, it’s crucial for your own well-being and further personal growth to realize that you are not responsible for anyone’s life.

This is so true. You can only do your part and she’s left to make the change begin.

Thanks @nomad-magus for the advice truly she has to focus on making her life better the mere fact she is her sis but still she won't marry her so she has to flow with her own trends and those thoughts of guilt will lead to indecision where will not be able to decide which party to stay with so she might have to let go of one side and at the end of the day she needs both people in her life .I feel her sisters'pain may be there is pressure from her family society has brought us up telling us at 26 you must be seeing some one and more so the african culture has taught us by 25 you should be married and when you turn out with out marriage every one questions your abnormality anyway let her put the pressure behind her back like you said before matching is done in heaven let her be patience alittle her life partner will come ,he is just around the corner.

let her put the pressure behind her back

Indeed!

I have always known that everyone has their own timing. God has plans for us at different times. The bigger sister should not even feel bad or something. Her time is coming soon. And who said 26 is late? Let her keep calm and relaxed. She still has time. No need to worry. I happen to come from a family where our second born got married before the first born. Everyone looked at it as abnormal but so what, my bigger sister the first born was not moved and she didn't even feel like she was late. She just kept calm and waited for her time. Sadly, the second born's marriage didn't work out that much but later our first born too got married and her marriage is surely close to perfect. To me I feel like the first born's timing was much more perfect. So let the bigger sister keep calm and take her time. If she rushes she might crush. It is very okay for a younger sister to go before the older one.

Well said @nomad-magnus, i love your detailed explanation.

We all have our different paths, and we can't expect things to happen to us exactly the same way with our others.

Even if you are a twin, everyone's timing differs

Who never feel guilty in his life? It seems like, every human being most certainly never feel it. The guilt appears due to ever make a mistake or hurt other people. Sometimes, we do not intentionally offensive, later, or hurting others as well as those closest to us. Despite that, the guilt that grown, if ignored, will continue to haunt our lives and this is very haunt me for this. A sense of bersala that has been haunting, continues to give rise to consequences that are not fun for me.

I am the second child of two brothers, men of the ethnic background of the Bugis. The base of my problem is my skin is Black, while my eyes were not blue, but my sister her skin is yellow with blue eyes. The result he said was I was often mocked at as a foster child and guests visiting the House would immediately comment on the color of my skin are black. "kok, this black of her skin".

Apparently my sister utilize this skin color disorders to hit me. He is always making fun of me, reign, hitting, and buyling, with suddenly while the road he kicked my legs. I dare not fight, let alone his body larger than mine, happens to be my older school achievement the better so add a new term to me, like the moron, moron.
Big brother often threatening, if I were to complain of the treatment of my parents, I'll feel more severe corporal punishment. So I can't to the parents. After I entered JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL, I began to venture out of the House and play with peers, either or friends outside of school. My behavior so naughty, Miss, night, went home and my school any more and jeblok except that, I became a drug user.
See my change in behavior, both my parents more often angry, cussing, and later me, saying I was a wild child, do not know themselves, ungrateful and etc. Big brother seems to be an opportunity come along later and scolded. I hate all the same big brother, it feels like I want to hit him, but did not dare.
However, the initial class 2 high school, suddenly I realized my mistake, I was trying to escape from drugs with the help of a supervisor's religion, which is able to make hard drug taking off I intend, while continuing to deepen the religious studies and finally I was able to completed studies at the Faculty of medicine with pretty good results.

Thanks my teacher @nomad-magus

Indeed, we all carry within us the guilt.
And must release it!

Thanks you so much my teacher
hope you are always successful and lucky. Amin

Smile is a way to solve many problems, and silence is a way to avoid many problems. this is what I have been doing,my teacher @nomad-magus
My teacher
visit with a little voice for me. really lonely my post in these few days ,, i need your support

There is nothing wrong with being single, being with someone else is not a solve all for anyone's problems (it might solve some problems but it will also bring along a new set - nothing is perfect) and lots of relationships break down after time.
she should work on her own life first,love herself enough,then right person will arrive at right time

forsure its critical situation to Sarah since its afflicting to see her sister being in that state of getting a promising boyfriend.
My advise is Sarah is that she shouldn't be stressed over her sister not having a boyfriend, and since she is from a religious based family, she should just pray for her because its God who regulates time and gives.

  • For her sister, i advise her to pray and believe on God to get boyfriend.
    Secondly she should believe in her self, put on a girl power mentality, dress properly, and as well as have a good attitude towards men and not to be desperate for a man for that will make her rush in for a wrong guy. thanks for @nomad-magus

I've been doing this for 8 years!! NEVER AGAIN

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01