Why is style so important?

in #advice8 years ago (edited)

alt text

When I started taking the time in the morning to put in that little extra effort to look better, everyone started to notice me. I had this weird feeling...and I loved it.

Back then, I didn't know what it was, all I knew was it felt great (now I've realized it was the first time I felt confident). I had spent the majority of my life obese, lazy, and massively depressed. I never really cared about what I wore because at the end of the day I thought they were “just clothes,” and I was the fat kid with no friends.

I had spent my whole life feeling shitty, and who would've known getting a nice hair cut and addressing my acne would make me feel like a million bucks (I had just moved to Los Angeles, and where I was before, everything from Carrhart and “sh*t-kickers” was fashionable).

After receiving compliments on my efforts, I decided that I needed to up my game. I needed to understand how style worked, and why other people were so much better at it.

I went from working some shitty coffee job, to working at Kenneth Cole (for those of you who don't know, Kenneth Cole is a mid-level “designer” lifestyle brand). Then onto several different retail jobs until I ended up at Bloomingdale's.

This was where I went nuts with finding my “style.” I bought shoes, shirts, bags, socks, jackets, and anything else you could need (you can blame the awesome employee discount). I read all the fashion magazines and knew every time a favorite designer of mine came out with something new. I was in the Holy Mecca of fashion and it was all at my fingertips.

Here is a "transformation Thursday" post on Instagram from about a year ago. Right around the time I was exploring more of what style meant to me.

alt text
On the left, I am laying on the floor of Walmart (feel free to judge).

I went from selling designer bags to $10,000 watches. Next thing I know I'm in the Women's Shoe Department selling to Sofia Vergara and Kathy Bates.

By the end of my time at Bloomingdale's, I could style anyone from head to toe for any occasion.

Fast forward to today.

I take huge pride in what I look like every day. I choose clothes that make me feel good, and shoes that make me want to walk just to show them off (and comfortable too). I have found the person that's been hiding underneath all those baggy, ugly clothes and he is a social butterfly. Because I have found that confidence, I now have the drive to do better in all aspects of my life. In the last year I have devoted myself to ridding the poison from my life, and only doing what's best for me.

Now, I have been granted with this AWESOME opportunity to travel the world with a great friend of mine. And to think none of this would have been possible if I never found my style.

Here is another shot, from Christmas in Los Angeles last year.

alt text

I am writing a Menswear Style Blog because I believe that everyone should feel the utmost confidence in themselves. One of the best quotes I've heard in fashion: “When you look great, you feel great, and you do great things.” My goal is to help you break down the concept of what makes someone “look great” and find the key pieces to make your own personal style.

I have been searching for some “online advice” for Men's Style, and I can't seem to find anything that's going to help any man go shopping. I'm taking on the assumption you don't know how to buy what fits your body and personality best. I'm assuming you go to the store, and buy the same sizes each time, and have done so for too many years in a row. Style is for anyone, of any age.

So with all this talk about style, I figured now would be a time to shamelessly self-promote. If you have any interest in finding out what great classic style consists of, please check out my previous posts here.

If you are a man (or woman) please use my guide to help yourself (or your man) achieve great personal style. I promise you, the investment in yourself will make others invest in you.

Follow me on Instagram while I travel through Southeast Asia!

Sort:  

I used to think clothes were just clothes. When I saw the differences in how people would react to me when I was dressed well, I decided it was time to burn my old things and start new :p

I can't believe there was a time when I thought it was a good idea to wear purple corduroy jackets... Never again...

We all have those moments! Mine was a bright pink-mohawk freshman year of high school!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68