How I Found Freedom Buying A One-Way Ticket To Medellin, Colombia - Dope Travel Club #1

Last year in September, I got rid of everything that couldn’t fit into two backpacks. After six consecutive years of traveling to a new country every year, in addition to one-month stints living in Guatemala and Spain, I realized that traveling was meant to be a way of life--not just a vacation from it.

19679687_10100527413967076_717199218_n.jpg

I know many people in the U.S. don't travel out of fear or believing they need a trust fund. Turns out it's more rewarding and cheaper than living in the sates.

Since packing up and buying a one-way ticket to Colombia, here are the eight lessons I’ve learned from being on the road.

1. The less you own the more freedom you have

This is counter intuitive to our “he who dies with the most tools wins” philosophy of the West. Everything is predicated on having more. Nomadic life doesn't afford you the ability to travel with multiple suitcases (the equivalent of having a walk-in closet).

You have to be light and nimble. The more you have, the more it takes up your physical and mental space. Both are finite.

2. You can enjoy life without stressing about money

If you're still feeling the squeeze from the Great Recession or bootstrapping an online business, it can be tough to get by these days. Before I headed South for Colombia, I was sleeping on a air mattress at my mom’s and only earning $1,000 a month.

At 31, that started to eat at my self-confidence. Moving abroad boosted my spirit and gave me more runway to focus on building my business. I also didn’t have to sacrifice going out for dinner and drinks with friends like I did back home.

19755993_10100527414326356_1213889648_n.jpg

3. Mobility is in, security is out

I’ve often dreamed what it would be like to live in Paris, Rio, Bali and Sydney all in the same year. That dream is slowly becoming a reality. With Airbnb’s in just about every locale around the world, mobility is becoming the new lifestyle standard.

Even multi-millionaires are ditching the hustle and grind for a more adventurous life. In a recent interview, James Altucher told Lewis Howes that he was giving up his NYC apartment and personal possessions to join the new rich.

Image4.JPG

4. Retirement is the worst case scenario

Waiting until you’re 65 to take risks is far riskier than doing it now. At best you'll have a fat stack of cash but will be stuck doing the boring touristy, fanny pack stuff.

I saw it last year at Machu Picchu. The retirees were bussed up and still out of breath. The most adventurous treks weren’t remotely close to being a possibility. What if you don’t even make it that long?

The reality is that the reaper is coming for all of us. In the words of Randy Pasche, “we don’t beat the reaper by living longer, we beat the reaper by living well”. Embracing my mortality has taught me how to truly live.

5. The world isn't as scary as mainstream media makes it out to be

Our idea of developing nations is unfairly skewed by mainstream media and Hollywood. We automatically assume the rest of the world is behind the curve and that we’re superior.

When I told my friends and family I was heading to Colombia and Mexico, they were terrified. “Be careful” and “please be safe” were the typical responses.

Colombia4.JPG

I knew from past travel experiences that there’s nothing that replaces having boots on the ground to give you an unbiased opinion of “safety.” The truth is that there are good people and bad people everywhere.

We can’t judge one person’s actions and deduce an entire country of people to be bad people. Low and behold, I was right.

6. You don’t have to be wealthy to live richly

My idea of wealth used to be stocking cash away in a vault. My love affair with money would always cloud my judgment. I’d chase it like a cat chasing its tail thinking it would solve all my problems.

Having traveled the world, my view of wealth has shifted to having a healthy balance of work that I love doing, deep relationships, and remarkable experiences.

IMG_1869.JPG

7. The right time is NOW

The universe has a funny way of making things work in your favor when you take action. People who you’d never imagine miraculously have connections to others you need to know to make things happen. Doors magically appear from out of nowhere.

But that never happens if you’re getting ready to get ready for the rest of your life. All the right contacts showed up in my life almost immediately after getting off the plane. Getting a local sim card, finding an apartment, and co-working space was effortless.

8. Nothing can fill the void

We’re slaves to our desires. We're ruled by our thirst for more. There's a belief that we can find happiness and fulfillment from the outside world.

But, all the things we seek in the physical realm will never quench our insatiable appetites. Lasting joy and contentment can only come from within. Taking in the most incredible views from around the world won't do it either.

Colombia 3.JPG

After 7 months of being “homeless”, I don't plan on stoping anytime soon. I'll be posted up in Denver making week long on month long jaunts while I focus on my business. Then, I be back on the road part-time until I'm reach my goal of living in another country every 3-6 months.

Remarkable experiences in life aren’t an attribute to those who sit and wait for the right moment.

And every day that you make an excuse about why you can’t live your dreams, just remember that we’re moving one step closer to the grave.

The clock is ticking.... don't wait.

P.S. If you haven't read my Steemit introduction you can check it out here: https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@vernonandfriends/how-i-quit-my-job-started-a-music-festival-travelled-the-world-failed-and-bounced-back-my-steemit-introduction

Next up: Dope Travel Club #2 - I Ran Out of Money In Mexico. Here's What Happened Next

Sort:  

Retirement doesn't even exist to me. I'm just going to keep going at my dreams until I'm dead!

Great blog post man!

Much appreciate my man!

Very True and inspiring, travelled for 4+ years, back home in Amsterdam right now and not happy! preparing to go again. good to see you happy

It's the only drug they'll never find a cure for! Happy travels my friend.

Wow! So inspiring!
It's true, that even a two-week trip gives us more experience, than a year of life in your hometown. Although I traveled a lot, I still can not decide on a one-way ticket and leave alone.
So I have to read your story to dare finally :)
Thanks

Hey hey. No problem. It took be 6 years to muster the courage to make a 20 second decision. Way too long in my opinion. Salidas! :)

Congratulations @vernonandfriends! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47