I’m supposed to run 50 miles?! For the first time?! With 3 days notice?! North Face Endurance 50 Miler Race Report

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

In order to get to why my most recent races matter, I need to fill you in on the races in the past. Some of the big ones are the ones that really laid the foundation for everything happening today.

In my introduceyourself post, I mentioned at the end my dream race: Lavaredo Ultra Trail. In order to run this type of race you have to have qualifying points earned in other races, essentially so they know you can finish without dying.

I had planned on running The North Face Endurance Challenge 50k (around 31 miles) in Washington DC in April 2016. This race would be significantly more difficult than my first 50k with many more hills. So I trained and trained. The week leading up to the race a friend had told me that this would give me the four points I needed in order to run Lavaredo. I even checked on one of the websites that listed point and it was there in black and white. If I didn’t get the points here, I’d have to find some other race in order to get them so I was pretty excited.

Three days to go, I decided I would email the officials of Lavaredo to confirm that the 50k would give me the points I needed. It just seemed off to me that a race that “short” would be an acceptable qualifier. My feeling was right. A representative from the race wrote me back and said the 50 mile race is the one I needed for the four points.

At this point in my running career, I have only run one marathon and one 50k and just a handful of smaller races in the years prior to that. I was then faced with a huge dilemma: run the 50k as planned, finish and know that I could have possibly done more. Or go all in and run the 50 mile race that I was definitely not prepared to run.

I decided to go for the 50 miles. I couldn’t live with the possible regret of not trying.

6DB1A641-956E-45A1-B871-4CE977395985.jpeg
On the bus heading to the race

The alarm went off at 2:30am for the 5am start. I was pretty nervous and the time before the race flew by. It had been raining all night and it had started to snow. A good friend of mine had decided to pace me during the race and as we Stood at the starting line, he turns to me and says “I forgot my bib!” Naturally, I thought he was joking because who forgets their bib before a race? We decided to hope for the best and took off running. The trail was still pretty dark at this time and the snow/sleet was coming down. We were getting pretty cold and my jacket wasn’t as waterproof as I was expecting it to be but the only thing to do was to keep running. After a few hours and some very muddy down hills, we reach the first aid station where my friend was able to report his missing bib. Luckily they would be replacing it at the next aid station so everything was going to be fine.

1F4ACC69-A0C8-4A2D-88B1-F5A0095EBC4D.jpeg
Friends getting ready to run

5F29492D-99A2-46AA-8899-12E2F1EF07B1.jpeg
Almost time!

The miles ticked by and the snow finally stopped. The trails, however, were an absolute disaster. There was mud everywhere. This made every downhill almost like a slip and slide. You can see where the runners shoes before me were sliding down the mud, so we made sure to take extra care going down these sections so we wouldn’t fall.

51651CE2-2CAC-4ACA-B63C-F077F9D1A2E1.jpeg
Scenes from the trail

We finally reached mile 32 and at that point I had run further than I ever have before. I was starting to feel it as well. My legs were screaming at this point and we were slipping in every direction from all of the mud. It was so bad that in certain sections it felt as though your upper body was going one way and your lower body would go the other. Now there was only 10 miles left to go. I couldn’t run anymore so everything from that point on became as fast of a hike as I could possibly do. Since we originally ran this portion of the race in the dark, all of this area seemed brand new as we got closer and closer to the finish line.

0F8F2F3D-F822-4A15-8DA7-8362B4CDFF15.jpeg
Me and my pacer friend, Wes

BF1E54D3-2BD4-4977-AB9D-D41634CCAB55.jpeg
Pouring one out for all the miles I just killed

I tried to run and after a few steps had to start walking again. As my pacer encouraged me to keep running this process would just repeat itself. The finish line was getting closer and closer so he took off so that he would be able to record me coming in. Left right left right and then I eventually approached a little boy that was cheering on the race with his mom. He stuck out his hand and gave me a high-five and that’s exactly what I needed at that point to carry me into the finish line. I turned the corner and saw the big blowup arch that I had run under about 12 1/2 hours prior. I was finally about to finish my first 50 miler. The adrenaline kicked in and I ran as hard as I could until I cross that finish line. Without my friend and pacer I don’t know if this would’ve been possible. We did it and I got my four points to go to Lavaredo.

8A2EC2B6-2922-4142-974E-66AD02B3EE28.jpeg
Crossing the finish line

EFF59BEE-144D-40B4-AD4B-086214732F93.jpeg

17E1A614-27E0-481B-93AE-14E3196EA71F.jpeg
Relief and joy

Walking back to the bus to get to our car was probably some of the most painful steps I’ve ever taken. I was absolutely freezing and couldn’t get warm. Later that night I would be lying on the floor wrapped in as many blankets as possible. Every inch of my body hurt but it couldn’t have felt better to achieve something so important. This was what I needed in order to get to my dream race.

C290D7E9-7708-4C62-859D-75BF792E6C72.jpeg
Freezing ride home

16796177-DE30-4F94-9F52-A5EEAB3C41F9.jpeg
Just some of the mud from the day

80B32E90-EF76-4551-B337-690D97812F55.jpeg
Human burrito

E78DB7A3-6DCF-4E4D-BCCC-C7BA24470AF3.jpeg
Celebrating my 50 miles and 4 points!

Sort:  

That's awesome! Keep up the great work!! The trek back to the car after a race is the worst. My dream ultra is Tarawerea in New Zealand, which has distance options ranging from 62km up to the most recently added 100 mile route. I just began a training schedule for the Boston Marathon, so I've put longer pursuits on the back-burner in order to focus on speed and avoid injuries. I've barely done any blogging, but I'll be making some posts soon to share my background and experiences. I look forward to reading about your other adventures!

Two friends of mine actually did the 62k for their “runnymoon” haha. Daaaamn, Boston! That’s exciting!

Ahhh I may be slightly jealous! Yeah this will be my first time visiting the city as well. I'm just hoping that the weather will be great there because I've heard that it's very unpredictable during that time of the year.

For sure. Last year was pretty hot so who knows!

We are about over a year and a half late to say congratulations on completing your first 50 miler! Wow, what an achievement and what a story. An inspiration for us (travelling-two) to break that 10K 'wall' and head higher. First to running half-marathons then marathons and eventually ultra-running. At least, we have to do one in our lifetime.

The congratulations are still just as good! Can’t wait to hear about your journey also!

@raelynnbianca, we know your blog will be about ultrarunning and adventures, but we just partook in a nomination and now we nominate you. It will be something different. Have a look:

https://steemit.com/uglyduckling/@travelling-two/ugly-ducklings-or-cute-goslings-childhood-photos

I haven't forgotten!

Hahaha no worries! Don't let the pressure consume you. Take your time, no rush at all.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Cheers for the upvote! We will look into following you. Will you be doing any content in the future?

I remember when you did this race. I felt like it was the beginning of the rabbit hole you were starting to spiral down. lol

Hahah it definitely was

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70