WE JUST FOUND OUR FIRST SNAPPING TURTLE OF THE YEAR!!!

in #adventure6 years ago

Getting stuck can be a lot a fun!


Yeah, we like to make the best of things. Today we showed up in town to switch some vehicle stuff. Unfortunately, the lady at the insurance place was switching the sign from "open" to "closed for lunch" just as we walked up to the door. This gave us an unexpected one hour wait in town. Since there is a creek running through the town, we headed off down there to explore.

As the @little-peppers recently leaked, we managed to find a nice sized snapping turtle almost immediately. I tried to video the event, but the creek bed was just giant slippery rocks, so after almost losing my new, expensive camera, I opted for a bit of editing. In the video below you see my try to cross the creek with the camera, then with the turtle in hand, and then you see the turtle swim away after we released it. It was in town next to a bridge and a little windy too, but you can make out most of what I say. Enjoy the video!

OUR FIRST SNAPPER OF THE YEAR VIDEO!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-first-snapper

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Look out for the claws.
interesting animal.
They tend to go places they should not go.
Maybe seeking for water?

Yeah, big ones almost have claws like a bear!

That is a really fierce critter there, sir. Does it bite humans when threatened?
I thought that most kinds of turtles are gentle.

play with this is very fun, where we are very much, every time we do fishing activities, he always got fishing eye.

I love turtle. We have them in Africa.

Me too! I always like to capture them and look at them. My favorite animal!

@papa-pepper - YOU ROCK !! AS ALWAYS!! Great quality video - love the "its..... Kinda.... Dangerous here" after almost taking a digger in the creek - then you are just chillin with that crazy add snapping turtle - he looked cool as hell and my daughter would love it but you won't see me holding one in my hands !!

What's the tempersture in your area right now?

@papa-pepper You just love nature and animals, you have guts to be holding that, i won't, i know i will he scared.

Nice video especially when you released it and how it swim away. Nature is really wonderful and you know whats beautiful?

How you make your everyday a memorable one. Thumbs up friend! 👍

holy moly look at the size of that beast! that would feed a whole family. Hey the large ones are very old aren't they? This was another great post papa-pepper, I'm glad the insurance company office was closed for lunch!

Yeah, we didn't let that hour wait go to waste, we had an adventure!

Love the "Holy Moly" - You Rock Dude

thank you sir! just checked and commented, upvoted on your blog
very cool username

Thanks so much brother - and yeah about my username it was otiginally supposed to be krypyonika - but got autocorrected when I first signed up for Steemit.com and never noticed but I actually like it just as much if not more :)

excellent! does it have a meaning or is it a name combination?

Well the original krypt - onika - the first part was meant to represent cryptocurrency

I see, very cool. thanks

Thanks so much brother - and yeah about my username it was otiginally supposed to be krypyonika - but got autocorrected when I first signed up for Steemit.com and never noticed but I actually like it just as much if not more :)

Woow ,, we rarely encounter such giant turtles.

They are our old friends of prehistory that still share with humans

I don't believe in "pre" history, but I sure do love these friends!

Great stuff man! Especially while out with the kids. These are the kind of experiences they'll think back on when they're older no doubt. "Remember when we used to catch snappers in the summer?"

yeah, some of my fondest memories!

No doubt. Hope all is well man, God Bless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49