CATCHING SOFTSHELL TURTLES IN McALLEN, TX

in #adventure6 years ago

More fun and animals around every corner!


Irrigation canals can be an excellent place to look for Softshell Turtles across Texas. While visiting my brother-in-law in McAllen, TX, we couldn't help but notice the ditch full of water across the street.

Not wanting to miss out on an adventure, I was soon exploring the area with my oldest son. Within one minute we had already located and captured a small Softshell Turtle, and before we were done, we had caught four of them and a Red-Eared Slider too.


Red-Eared Slider

While there were some Softshells that we much bigger in the deeper water, we were happy with what we were able to catch. I was totally amazed at how quickly we found and caught that first one!

CATCHING SOFTSHELL TURTLES VIDEO

DISCLAIMER- I forgot my mic on this one, so the wind causes some audio issues. My apologies, and I'll try not to let it happen again.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-catching-turtles

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

Sort:  

Nice Catch!...:)...

Awwwwwnnn @papa-pepper!!!

I cannot tell you how good it feels to see your post once again on my "feed" .

You lighten up all our days with the adventures of HOMESTEADING.

WELCOME BACK SIR

You sure are well seasoned in the art of catching turtles! Love the selfie at the end :D

One of my favorite pastimes, ever since my youth.

Interesting turtle, non up this way must like the warmer weather.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77