Welcome to the Cape Cod Canal! The Power of the SP Minnow.

in #adventure7 years ago

Days Like These..

Today, a stranger overheard a conversation I was having with a buddy of mine about fishing. After listening for a while he looked over at me and said, "Son, why in the hell would you get up at 3:30 in the morning and drive an hour just to go fishing?" I looked back at him with a puzzled grin – unable to formulate an answer, and said, "Uhhh why wouldn't you?" To you sir, I am sorry for my inability to formulate a deeper answer. To be honest, I still really can't. Most would say it's to catch fish, but it's much more than that. So I hope this blog helps me explain... mind you all these photos were taken within an hour of each other.

IMG_0888-11.JPG

FullSizeRender.jpg-7.jpeg

21105531_1968223106729543_1940086402106405508_n.jpg

IMG_0882.JPG.jpeg

A quick lesson in "Matching the Hatch"

In the Cape Canal, striped bass have been gorging on mackerel. Most of the time it is tricky to key in on what a predatory fish is eating, but in the canal it has been easy. Mackerel caught in a frenzy have been pretty much jumping onto the banks to escape the stripers. ...you wanna catch big fish? It's easy – Match the Hatch.

021.jpg


As always, please upvote and comment what you think!

For last week's fishing update, click below!
https://steemit.com/adventure/@modernsuperior/hard-baits-live-baits-chunk-baits-and-flies-more-stripers-migrators-and-holdovers

And to see a blue lobster (one in two million) click here!
https://steemit.com/adventure/@modernsuperior/the-time-we-caught-a-blue-lobster-one-in-two-million-chance

Sort:  

There were never any stripers in South Jersey when I was a kid. We only ever caught bluefish and flounder. Now the stripers are back but I rarely get to go visit. I really need to try harder.

@originalworks should upvote this

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @professorbromide. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @modernsuperior to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

I'm enjoying your fishing adventures @modernsuperior!

Looks like a good time. Do you keep them, Striper is good eats.

I always like to put them back and help preserve the fishery for years to come, but sometimes I take one hope for the grill!

That size, you could feed a village.

Man, that's huge!!!!! Great shots!

Thanks! Followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77